Advant Browser has stopped working

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
pkchu520
Fan
Fan
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:38 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016 built latest
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal

Advant Browser has stopped working

Post by pkchu520 » Wed Aug 24, 2016 12:48 am

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (23.39 KiB) Viewed 812 times
Very often, I get a pop up window saying, "Advant Browser has stopped working" when I only have two tabs. I have the latest AB version with Windows 7. What do you make of it? Thanks for the help in advance.
Pablo
Avant Browser Ultimate 2016 build latest
Default rendering engine: IE11 standard
IE version: IE11
Windows version: Windoes 7 Home Premium

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 886
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Advant Browser has stopped working

Post by mathman » Fri Aug 26, 2016 12:27 am

I have experienced the same problem many times. I have Windows 10. Most of the time I ignore it and it has no effect on what I am doing. Within a few seconds I can proceed as if nothing happened.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11303
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Advant Browser has stopped working

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri Aug 26, 2016 11:08 am

Why do you think it's related to the number of opened tabs. As I posted here details of what's going on when this stuff happens goes a long way.

User avatar
pkchu520
Fan
Fan
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:38 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016 built latest
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal

Re: Advant Browser has stopped working

Post by pkchu520 » Sun Sep 25, 2016 10:24 am

When I hit "Close program" all my open tabs turn into BSD, and I have to refresh them one by one. It is annoying. Is it related to CPU resource?
Pablo
Avant Browser Ultimate 2016 build latest
Default rendering engine: IE11 standard
IE version: IE11
Windows version: Windoes 7 Home Premium

User avatar
pkchu520
Fan
Fan
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:38 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016 built latest
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal

Re: Advant Browser has stopped working

Post by pkchu520 » Sun Nov 13, 2016 8:08 am

It has been over a month and there is still no solution for this problem. Can someone please help? Thanks.
Pablo
Avant Browser Ultimate 2016 build latest
Default rendering engine: IE11 standard
IE version: IE11
Windows version: Windoes 7 Home Premium

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 886
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Advant Browser has stopped working

Post by mathman » Sun Nov 13, 2016 9:27 pm

You have my sympathy. It kept happening to me, but I can safely ignore it most of the time.

User avatar
pkchu520
Fan
Fan
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:38 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016 built latest
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal

Re: Advant Browser has stopped working

Post by pkchu520 » Mon Nov 14, 2016 11:20 pm

It happens more than 20 times a day for me and when it happens all my tabs turn to BSOD and I have to refresh them one by one. (Refresh all takes a long time and it doesn't recover all the tabs.)
Pablo
Avant Browser Ultimate 2016 build latest
Default rendering engine: IE11 standard
IE version: IE11
Windows version: Windoes 7 Home Premium

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 886
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Advant Browser has stopped working

Post by mathman » Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:58 am

I've never had more than around 5 tabs open, so I can't help you there. Could having so many tabs open contribute to the problem?

In my case it happens only once in a while - maybe days apart.

User avatar
pkchu520
Fan
Fan
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:38 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016 built latest
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal

Re: Advant Browser has stopped working

Post by pkchu520 » Sun Nov 20, 2016 1:45 pm

Does it have something to do with the numbers of tabs opened? Most tabs will lead to frequent crashes?
Pablo
Avant Browser Ultimate 2016 build latest
Default rendering engine: IE11 standard
IE version: IE11
Windows version: Windoes 7 Home Premium

User avatar
pkchu520
Fan
Fan
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:38 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016 built latest
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal

Re: Advant Browser has stopped working

Post by pkchu520 » Fri Jan 20, 2017 7:50 pm

What is the conclusion of this problem? Is there a fix or not?

Should I ignore it and move on?
Pablo
Avant Browser Ultimate 2016 build latest
Default rendering engine: IE11 standard
IE version: IE11
Windows version: Windoes 7 Home Premium

DUNSEL
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 11:44 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit.
Avant Version: Always the latest.
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers on blacksglass
Location: Manhattan , NY
Contact:

Re: Advant Browser has stopped working

Post by DUNSEL » Sat Jan 21, 2017 2:55 pm

It crashes on me several times a day every day. I find it's more prevalent when I use the chrome webkit engine, but unfortunately gecko in avant uses too much processor.
I don't do drugs. I get the same effect just standing up fast

DUNSEL
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 11:44 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit.
Avant Version: Always the latest.
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers on blacksglass
Location: Manhattan , NY
Contact:

Re: Advant Browser has stopped working

Post by DUNSEL » Sun Jan 22, 2017 5:02 pm

As soon as I ditch the webkit engine, the crashes seem to stop. Right now using only trident.
I don't do drugs. I get the same effect just standing up fast

User avatar
pkchu520
Fan
Fan
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:38 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016 built latest
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal

Re: Advant Browser has stopped working

Post by pkchu520 » Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:03 am

Hi Dunsel,

Can you please show me how to use only trident and make it work? I tried IE, FF, and Chrome and they all have the same issue (IE seems to have the most).

Thanks a lot.
Pablo
Avant Browser Ultimate 2016 build latest
Default rendering engine: IE11 standard
IE version: IE11
Windows version: Windoes 7 Home Premium

DUNSEL
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 11:44 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit.
Avant Version: Always the latest.
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers on blacksglass
Location: Manhattan , NY
Contact:

Re: Advant Browser has stopped working

Post by DUNSEL » Thu Feb 16, 2017 1:49 pm

Trident is IE, webkit is chrome, and gecko is Firefox. That's what they named their rendering engines. Right now I'm using one of each, I only have three tabs open. Still crashes but not as often. So far there's nothing that I've found to prevent it from crashing.
I don't do drugs. I get the same effect just standing up fast

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users