Acrobar Reader problems again

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Locked
User avatar
Moby
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1014
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2003 10:51 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The Dragon Isle
Contact:

Acrobar Reader problems again

Post by Moby » Tue Feb 24, 2004 5:04 pm

I know problems withAdobe Acrobat have been mentiones before but I can't see this problem exactly.
I have uninstalled Acrobat 6, because it has problems with Word and some other programmes, and have installed Acrobat 6 Reader for now. If I click on a pdf link in a webpage I get a blank window and a box that says "Cannot find Adobe Acrobat".
I assume it is because it's still looking for the full Acrobat.
Any ideas? Other than wiping out the ini file that is.
Stealer of Souls

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Tue Feb 24, 2004 6:51 pm

You've probably seen these in prior posts, but if not, I'd thought I'd mention it.

You've probably checked the association, I would guess.

Does setting them to open in the browser do anything? And if not, I've fixed a couple of problems myself, just by unchecking the box that allows it open in the browser, closing everything, and then checking it again. It seems as if it had to re-configure itself.

Hope this helps a little, at least

Sergei
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 5:09 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Galway, Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sergei » Tue Feb 24, 2004 6:58 pm

You're just saying that to make it harder, Moby!

But I don't think Acrobat Reader is mentioned in the .ini - can't spot it if it is.

Here's a thought, I've no idea if it'll work...: Right click on any PDF and select Open With... Then from the dialog select Acrobat Reader and tick the 'Always open these with this' box.
My Cartoons
:
IE7 ][ Windows XP Tablet PC Edition 2005 ][ Avast! Antivirus ][ Kerio Firewall ][ DSL

User avatar
Moby
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1014
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2003 10:51 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The Dragon Isle
Contact:

Post by Moby » Wed Feb 25, 2004 11:04 am

Hi folks.
Tried those Horn thanks
Sergei, I don't get an Open With option. The only way I can get a pdf link to work is to have Acrobat Reader already open. Then the link will open in a browser window no problem.
If I now go back to Reader, which is showing nothing, and close it, it tells me that I have a pdf open in a browser window that will close if I close Reader?????
Very odd I think.
Stealer of Souls

Sergei
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 5:09 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Galway, Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sergei » Wed Feb 25, 2004 5:11 pm

I was thinkuing if you did it with a PDF that's actually on your drive - surely you get an 'Open With' option with those?
My Cartoons
:
IE7 ][ Windows XP Tablet PC Edition 2005 ][ Avast! Antivirus ][ Kerio Firewall ][ DSL

User avatar
Moby
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1014
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2003 10:51 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The Dragon Isle
Contact:

Post by Moby » Wed Feb 25, 2004 6:01 pm

Sorry, I see what you mean Sergei.
The association is already with Acrobat in that situation.
Stealer of Souls

Locked