Search term

Help issues and Bug Reports for the current version that have been corrected can be found here. Only staff members may move threads to this forum.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Search term

Post by creep » Sun Sep 14, 2014 5:55 pm

I've just noticed avant has stopped correcting a mis-spelt search term ....

For example, search for "smartphoe" (mis-spelt in the search box) > hit Search button (using Google in my case)

Results appear but at the top is "Showing results for [u]smartphone[/u]"

If I double-click on "smartphone" it should replace my mis-spelt word in the search box ... but it doesn't

Correcting the spelling is very handy because you can then hit Search again if required and it is correct

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Search term

Post by xiaobing » Mon Sep 15, 2014 2:06 am

It works if you left click the "Showing results for smartphone"?
No matter I left click or double click, they both work here.

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 480
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2017 build 3 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: Search term

Post by Nederpietos » Mon Sep 15, 2014 2:55 am

He posted this earlier about a year ago, see http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 7&p=191353

It works fine here, maybe he should uninstall/reinstall Avant. Or maybe some addon is to blame.

creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Re: Search term

Post by creep » Mon Sep 15, 2014 7:45 am

Correct - there was a time once before when it didn't work ... then it was fixed.

Now it doesn't work again.

Now it needs fixing again.

creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Re: Search term

Post by creep » Mon Sep 15, 2014 9:15 am

Below are some screenshots

1 is after making a search with incorrect spelling

2 is after left-clicking on the word Google has guessed at

You will notice that the search box spelling has not been corrected.

Please don't bother telling me that I need to uninstall / reinstall Avant, because I'm fed up with doing it !
It makes no difference.

And please don't keep blaming it on other software either ...
Attachments
1.jpg
2.jpg

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Search term

Post by xiaobing » Tue Sep 16, 2014 2:18 am

How it was fixed last time? We didn't do anything that time.

creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Re: Search term

Post by creep » Tue Sep 16, 2014 6:04 am

I don't know how it was fixed - perhaps it was fixed by some change without your knowing.

All I know is that it doesn't work now.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Search term

Post by xiaobing » Wed Sep 17, 2014 2:59 am

Does your IE browser have the same problem?

creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Re: Search term

Post by creep » Fri Sep 19, 2014 4:24 pm

No - it works correctly in Internet Explorer 11

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 480
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2017 build 3 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: Search term

Post by Nederpietos » Sat Sep 20, 2014 12:45 am

I think i know what's wrong.

At my computer it worked in Avant and not in IE8, so the opposite of Creep.

My search url in Avant was https://www.google.com/search?q= and in IE8 https://www.google.com/search?q=&hl=nl

So i opened regedit and looked for that https://www.google.com/search?q=&hl=nl and changed it to https://www.google.com/search?q= and now it works in both browsers.


Maybe Creep can post here the url of search engine in IE, í'm pretty sure it's different from the Avant search url. (his screenshots show google.co.uk in Avant)

I'm sure it would work if Creep would have the same url in Avant as that IE is using now.

The problem is of course that the google search engine in Avant is predefined, so Creep can't change that.

My guess is that if he would install an older version for a moment, where he can set the search engine with the same search url as in IE now, and then upgrade again to the latest version again it will work.

But maybe Xiaobing has a better solution.


Maybe it would also work if you would change your IE search url in your register to that of Avant, but i'm not sure about that.



1 solution is of course to uncheck the google engine and add a new google engine with the right search url (that one of IE) and make that your default search engine.

creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Re: Search term

Post by creep » Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:01 am

In Avant my default search URL is http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&gl=uk&tbm=&q=

creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Re: Search term

Post by creep » Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:02 pm

I just tried it when logged on with Admin rights ... it works there ...

But I don't usually log on with admin rights ...

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 480
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2017 build 3 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: Search term

Post by Nederpietos » Thu Sep 25, 2014 11:35 pm

And the search string is the same with that admin account?

creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Re: Search term

Post by creep » Fri Sep 26, 2014 6:27 am

Good point - I just checked and the default had somehow been set to the standard Google - which is Google .com

I use Google .co.uk as it gives more suitable results.

When I changed it to .co.uk ..... it didn't work
Attachments
Search.jpg

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 480
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2017 build 3 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: Search term

Post by Nederpietos » Fri Sep 26, 2014 12:17 pm

Change it to https://www.google.co.uk/search?q= and it will probably work.

Btw, Avant advises to put a % after q=
Last edited by Nederpietos on Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Re: Search term

Post by creep » Fri Sep 26, 2014 2:21 pm

Thank you Nederpietos. That works.

I didn't realise it was so fussy !

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users