Tabs messed up

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1412
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 5 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Tabs messed up

Post by Dreamer » Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:38 am

Last few builds have this issue, I have about 20-30 tabs opened and use option to auto-save and auto-open last closed tabs. When I re-open AB, some tabs change their position, the order of tab is wrong. It happened many times. There are not messed up totally, just some tabs change their position. This issue is not critical, but it's quite annoying.

AB 2013 build 23, Win Vista 32 bit.
Dreamer

PerryR98
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 11:12 am
Avant Version:

Re: Tabs messed up

Post by PerryR98 » Wed Apr 24, 2013 7:00 pm

Same issue.
After every re-opening of AB, I have to sort nearly all the tabs new.
I use the Chrome-engine, but I didnt try another, so I don't know if it is a Chrome specific problem, of if the problem is with every engine.
Please fix this problem.

PerryR98

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1412
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 5 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Tabs messed up

Post by Dreamer » Wed Apr 24, 2013 9:33 pm

Thanks for confirmation, I use the Firefox engine, so it looks it's not engine related.
Dreamer

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Tabs messed up

Post by xiaobing » Thu Apr 25, 2013 4:30 am

This problem had been improved for several times... :(

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1412
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 5 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Tabs messed up

Post by Dreamer » Mon May 06, 2013 10:23 pm

OK, it happened again, I started AB installation #1, close it, then started Inst. #2, closed, firefox.exe did not closed correctly in task manager (I didn't know that), then I started AB installation #1 again, result lilac pages, unable to refresh any page, closed AB, killed firefox.exe in task manager, started AB #1 again, tabs-pages loaded correctly, but the tab order is completely messed up.
Dreamer

ehamady
Fan
Fan
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 12:30 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 12
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: AthenX

Re: Tabs messed up

Post by ehamady » Wed May 08, 2013 12:27 am

xiaobing wrote:This problem had been improved for several times... :(
It happens to me using the IE engine. How has the problem been improved if it still happens? And the rendering problem when multiple tabs overlap is even worse now.

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1412
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 5 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Tabs messed up

Post by Dreamer » Wed May 08, 2013 11:41 am

I think they just tried to fix it, "improved" is just inappropriate word.

BTW I'm using FF engine only and it happened last time if another installation was running and firefox.exe process didn't finish correctly, perhaps it will help to fix this annoying issue.
Dreamer

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Tabs messed up

Post by xiaobing » Thu May 09, 2013 2:00 am

Dreamer wrote:I think they just tried to fix it, "improved" is just inappropriate word.

BTW I'm using FF engine only and it happened last time if another installation was running and firefox.exe process didn't finish correctly, perhaps it will help to fix this annoying issue.
It only happens under this situation? The firefox.exe can exit correctly everytime here,so i didn't see the problem.
Save the opened pages and reopen, the order of the tabs is correct too.

The only way I can reproduce it is that close all tabs and click undo button.

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1412
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 5 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Tabs messed up

Post by Dreamer » Thu May 09, 2013 11:02 am

It happens randomly, I didn't check task manager every time, but I'm using auto feature to save and reopen tabs, perhaps it's important, so no dialogs, just set Avant to automatically save tabs on exit and auto-re-open on start.
Dreamer

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Tabs messed up

Post by xiaobing » Fri May 10, 2013 2:40 am

Recorded

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1412
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 5 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Tabs messed up

Post by Dreamer » Tue May 21, 2013 8:23 pm

I think I know where is the problem. When the tabs are loading on start, first only one tab is displayed, when I touch it then, tab or page, click anywhere, the tabs are messed up completely!

It's not possible to test it every time, so to reproduce open as many tabs as possible, exit, and restart Avant, then quickly click the first tab and try to navigate on the page, if possible, just click any link.
Dreamer

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1412
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 5 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Tabs messed up

Post by Dreamer » Tue Aug 28, 2018 9:50 pm

Any chance of fixing this bug after 5 years?

It looks, that tabs are OK if CPU usage is low, it's broken if CPU usage is high.
Dreamer

Post Reply