Avant Parallel Connections

Help issues and Bug Reports for the current version that have been corrected can be found here. Only staff members may move threads to this forum.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
ben480
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 10:24 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8

Avant Parallel Connections

Post by ben480 » Thu Dec 31, 2009 10:41 am

Oh so Slow is Avant Browser with only 2 parallel connections to the Net when using Windows 7 with IE8 and Avant. Shouldn't Avant have at least the same amount of connections as IE8, which I setup at 128 connections through the AJAX?

Nothing I tried worked, and I mean I tried all Kinds but by design, Avant refuses to be on par with IE8 as for the number of parallel connections per server.

Any suggestions before I tag Avant as an outdated browser? IE8 has been out for a while now and a whopping 2 connections per server for Avant which makes it the Slowest Browser on Earth Until this is fixed up...

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Parallel Connections

Post by kudos » Sun Jan 03, 2010 9:23 pm

Avant uses as many concurrent TCP connections as your system will allow. Maybe a firewall or similar utility is limiting avant.exe to two. How are you measuring how many it uses? Does it make any difference if you rename avant.exe to iexplore.exe?
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

ben480
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 10:24 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8

Re: Avant Parallel Connections

Post by ben480 » Sun Jan 03, 2010 11:32 pm

Renaming worked! thanks

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Parallel Connections

Post by kudos » Sun Apr 04, 2010 11:19 pm

I found that a registry change will help:

Code: Select all

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main\FeatureControl\FEATURE_MAXCONNECTIONSPERSERVER]
"avant.exe"=dword:00000020

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main\FeatureControl\FEATURE_MAXCONNECTIONSPER1_0SERVER]
"avant.exe"=dword:00000040
You can type this into a command prompt:

Code: Select all

REG.EXE ADD "HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main\FeatureControl\FEATURE_MAXCONNECTIONSPERSERVER" /v avant.exe /f /t REG_DWORD /d 32
REG.EXE ADD "HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main\FeatureControl\FEATURE_MAXCONNECTIONSPER1_0SERVER" /v avant.exe /f /t REG_DWORD /d 64
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: Avant Parallel Connections

Post by AXEMAN » Mon Apr 05, 2010 7:20 pm

Well kudos , kudos you buy the beer :thumbup: :wave:

Post Reply