"find in this page" doesn't work

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

Post Reply
GULLUWING
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 4:39 pm
Avant Version:

"find in this page" doesn't work

Post by GULLUWING » Mon Apr 06, 2009 6:58 pm

I use AB 11.7 build 23 and in this new version the "find in this page" tool doesn't work. I consider this a very useful tool. Can you help me?
thank you

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: "find in this page" doesn't work

Post by kudos » Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:39 pm

 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

GULLUWING
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 4:39 pm
Avant Version:

Re: "find in this page" doesn't work

Post by GULLUWING » Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:50 pm

I'm not using google toolbar
kudos wrote:Maybe this may help: Ctrl+F doesnt work with Google toolbar

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: "find in this page" doesn't work

Post by kudos » Mon Apr 06, 2009 8:07 pm

Do both the keyboard shortcut (CTRL+F) and the menu item (Edit >> Find on this page) not work?
What is your Windows and IE version?
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

GULLUWING
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 4:39 pm
Avant Version:

Re: "find in this page" doesn't work

Post by GULLUWING » Mon Apr 06, 2009 8:18 pm

no they don't work. Iuse IE 8
kudos wrote:Do both the keyboard shortcut (CTRL+F) and the menu item (Edit >> Find on this page) not work?
What is your Windows and IE version?

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: "find in this page" doesn't work

Post by addonsfan » Mon Apr 06, 2009 8:20 pm

Tools > Avant Browser options > Add-ons. Disable EVERYTHING, and try again.
If that works, you can enabled the previously enabled, one-by-one. After enabling one of them, go back and check if it is still working. When you enabled one of them and it stops working, please let us know what it was that was breaking it.

GULLUWING
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 4:39 pm
Avant Version:

Re: "find in this page" doesn't work

Post by GULLUWING » Mon Apr 06, 2009 10:07 pm

the only one enabled was roboform; I disabled it and after I enabled but nothing changes

addonsfan wrote:Tools > Avant Browser options > Add-ons. Disable EVERYTHING, and try again.
If that works, you can enabled the previously enabled, one-by-one. After enabling one of them, go back and check if it is still working. When you enabled one of them and it stops working, please let us know what it was that was breaking it.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: "find in this page" doesn't work

Post by kudos » Mon Apr 06, 2009 10:32 pm

GULLUWING wrote:
kudos wrote:What is your Windows and IE version?
Iuse IE 8
Windows version? Also is anything else running? (I once had a similar problem when I tried Kaspersky)
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

GULLUWING
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 4:39 pm
Avant Version:

Re: "find in this page" doesn't work

Post by GULLUWING » Mon Apr 06, 2009 10:58 pm

win xp and I have always used kaspersky internet security even in earlier versions
kudos wrote:Windows version? Also is anything else running? (I once had a similar problem when I tried Kaspersky)

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: "find in this page" doesn't work

Post by kudos » Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:20 pm

Can you try to disable KIS to see if it makes any difference.

If you go back to a previous version of Avant, does the find dialog work?
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

GULLUWING
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 4:39 pm
Avant Version:

Re: "find in this page" doesn't work

Post by GULLUWING » Tue Apr 07, 2009 6:39 am

now it works:I disabled and after enabled kaspersky
kudos wrote:Can you try to disable KIS to see if it makes any difference.

If you go back to a previous version of Avant, does the find dialog work?

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: "find in this page" doesn't work

Post by kudos » Tue Apr 07, 2009 9:24 am

Good, thanks for confirming. I don't know why KIS causes problems, but I have read that it does mess up the IE8 install on some systems. They recommended uninstalling KIS, then installing IE8, then reinstalling latest KIS. Anyway, glad that it's resolved.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

Post Reply