More autocomplete

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

Post Reply
bdimaxim
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:56 pm
Avant Version:

More autocomplete

Post by bdimaxim » Fri Jan 02, 2009 5:02 pm

Howdy.

I read the FAQ, checked my settings, and autocomplete still does not work.

1. I just upgraded to AB 11.7.21. In my old version (quite old, I believe) autocomplete worked fine. Now it does not.

2. Autocomplete still works fine in IE7.

3. I checked the reg keys and Append Completion = Yes, AutoSuggest = Yes, Use AutoComplete= Yes. When I toggled those values IE7 handled the changes correctly; AB did not.

What reg keys does AB use for autocomplete?

Thanks much

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: More autocomplete

Post by bigC » Fri Jan 02, 2009 8:05 pm

Where isn't autocomplete working? The address bar or web pages? Are both related options selected under Tools > Avant Browser Options > Autocomplete?

bdimaxim
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:56 pm
Avant Version:

Re: More autocomplete

Post by bdimaxim » Mon Jan 05, 2009 3:59 pm

Hey BigC.

Yep, the top two options are checked under Tools>AB Options>Auto-complete.

The text boxes on a page auto-complete correctly, the address bar does not. And of course that's the one I use a lot :D

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: More autocomplete

Post by abfan123 » Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:10 pm

Hello,
I'm not completely sure what did you mean by auto-complete.
Should it just open the list of "similar" addresses? Or actually auto-complete the most similar address?
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

bdimaxim
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:56 pm
Avant Version:

Re: More autocomplete

Post by bdimaxim » Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:27 pm

If you type in "www.y" then AB fills in "ahoo.com" for you so you can hit Enter to go to the address.

That is very useful for long URLs and it functions like a fast version of bookmarks.

If I can't get it working I'll actually switch browsers because it is such a key feature for me.

bdimaxim
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:56 pm
Avant Version:

Re: More autocomplete

Post by bdimaxim » Fri Jan 09, 2009 8:27 pm

<bump>

Any ideas? Anyone know which reg keys to change?

thx

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: More autocomplete

Post by Jasmine » Mon Jan 12, 2009 2:06 am

You must refer to IE's autocomplete function. I don't remember from which version Avant doesn't support this feature any more. I am using IE8 now, seems in this version you can press shift + enter to open up the first matched address. This could be considered as a request. I'll suggest Anderson to add it.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

bdimaxim
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:56 pm
Avant Version:

Re: More autocomplete

Post by bdimaxim » Mon Jan 12, 2009 4:55 pm

Thanks, Jasmine.

Like I wrote before, it really is a significant use issue for me. If the autocomplete isn't working I'll definitely switch browsers.

Thanks for passing on the feedback!

Peace

bdimaxim
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:56 pm
Avant Version:

Re: More autocomplete

Post by bdimaxim » Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:18 pm

Howdy!

Well, I'm uninstalling AB now and switching to Firefox. It makes me sad because I really like the browser in general, but the lack of autocomplete is too frustrating for the way I browse.

If the feature is fixed (or re-added depending on your definition), let me know.

Peace

Post Reply