10.2 hidden avant.exe won't exit, here

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Locked
Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

10.2 hidden avant.exe won't exit, here

Post by Anderson » Sun Mar 26, 2006 1:52 pm

We have a user, rebia, have the following issue:

After opening several groups, there will be a silent avant.exe left in the task manager. This process won't exit.

If you have this issue please confirm it here.

P.S. Rebia has the option that clear all records when exit Avant Browser. It may make the problem much easier to occur.

User avatar
reiba
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2003 9:26 pm
Windows Version: WinXp Prof. SP3 all upd.
Avant Version: AB 11.6. b16
IE Version: IE 7.0 all updates
Location: Muttenz BL, Switzerland

Post by reiba » Sun Mar 26, 2006 2:06 pm

Hello,
to make it clear: It has nothing to do with opening "groups"!!!!
It occurs during opening a lot of websites (can be "groups", "favorite-groups" or 1 Website)

User avatar
KY Dave
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 1:53 pm
Windows Version: XP Home, Pro, Vista, Win 7
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46SR
IE Version: 8.0.7600.3865
Location: Burkesville, KY
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Sun Mar 26, 2006 2:35 pm

reiba,
Do you have any other programs that would stop files from being deleted?

Such as a backup utility?
Some programs won't allow files to be deleted until they are finished with them.(Second Copy is one of those programs)

Or a program that is monitoring your internet activity or surfing habits?
Last edited by KY Dave on Sun Mar 26, 2006 2:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
KY Dave

Family Blog

User avatar
reiba
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2003 9:26 pm
Windows Version: WinXp Prof. SP3 all upd.
Avant Version: AB 11.6. b16
IE Version: IE 7.0 all updates
Location: Muttenz BL, Switzerland

Post by reiba » Sun Mar 26, 2006 2:38 pm

No runnig backup-program.
In Fact since the (for me) successful AB 10.1.40 I have no other programs installed.

For 5 hours "normal surfing" now the bug did not occur

User avatar
reiba
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2003 9:26 pm
Windows Version: WinXp Prof. SP3 all upd.
Avant Version: AB 11.6. b16
IE Version: IE 7.0 all updates
Location: Muttenz BL, Switzerland

Post by reiba » Sun Mar 26, 2006 3:13 pm

NOW it happened again......

User avatar
Gregg
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 6:46 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Cali

Post by Gregg » Sun Mar 26, 2006 7:30 pm

Reiba, when that second icon appears move your cursor over it and see if it just disappears. I've had that happen in the past. I see two Avant icons in the system tray but when I run my cursor over them...one of them will just disappear.

edit: I got that wrong. I thought reiba saw two avants displayed down in the system tray. Sometimes that has happened to me. I'm currently using 10.1.40 It has locked up on occasion while just surfing with several tabs open and I will see two Avants in the task manager that I close out. When I restart Avant there will be two Avant icons displayed in the system tray. I noticed one will disappear If I just run my cursor over it.

If I recall correctly...it has happened when I open a group of 10 or more tabs? I can't recreate the error at the moment.
I'm using:
Windows XP -media center edition, version 2002 sp2
IE 6.02.2900.2180.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519
ADSL connection
Pent 4 2.8 Ghz
504MB ram
Trend Micro PC-cillin Internet Security 2006

User avatar
reiba
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2003 9:26 pm
Windows Version: WinXp Prof. SP3 all upd.
Avant Version: AB 11.6. b16
IE Version: IE 7.0 all updates
Location: Muttenz BL, Switzerland

Post by reiba » Sun Mar 26, 2006 8:13 pm

Correct, 2 Icons in the systray is NOT my problem.
I must admit, that I have never looked wether in AB 10.1.40 I have a lost instance in the taskmanager.

djsolidsnake86
Fan
Fan
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:24 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Italy

Post by djsolidsnake86 » Sun Mar 26, 2006 9:51 pm

some problem here
sometimes i have 2 avant process when i close avant

User avatar
bmh67wa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 4:19 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by bmh67wa » Sun Mar 26, 2006 10:38 pm

Confirmed. I have been unable to determine a common action that causes it though. It just seems to happen randomly.

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Post by bigC » Mon Mar 27, 2006 12:05 am

Thats odd, build 37 cured this for me. Build 38 also seems fine.

Edit: Forget it. :twisted: I confirm, it just happened to me in bld 38 :cry:

Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by Anderson » Mon Mar 27, 2006 4:17 am

do u remember what you did before got the problem. are you using proxy? how long did u wait?

pcs800
Fan
Fan
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 1:32 pm
Windows Version: XP, Vista, 7, 8, 2003
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: 9
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Post by pcs800 » Mon Mar 27, 2006 4:25 am

MS Outlook does this all the time. I don't think it is Avant's problem but more of a MS problem.
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 2003 via 10+ pc's & Servers
Avast + Sygate, Avast ISS where Sygate doesn't apply.
Long walks on the virtual beach and Micro-brewed beer.

User avatar
Gregg
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 6:46 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Cali

Post by Gregg » Mon Mar 27, 2006 7:40 am

I'm using 10.1.40 and after a couple of hours of surfing and 35 tabs open Avant froze after hitting the red X to exit. There were 2 Avants in the applications tab of the Task Manager. Both said: Status - not responding. Performance said 52% cpu & 360MB. I have only 4 items checked in my Clear List. Avant was the only program I had open at the time.

Most of the 35 tabs open were opened by using several of my groups. I'm not sure what a proxy server is but I'm not using it (that tab of Avant Browser options is empty).

It's getting late. I'm going to bed. Good Luck!
Last edited by Gregg on Mon Mar 27, 2006 8:13 am, edited 2 times in total.
I'm using:
Windows XP -media center edition, version 2002 sp2
IE 6.02.2900.2180.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519
ADSL connection
Pent 4 2.8 Ghz
504MB ram
Trend Micro PC-cillin Internet Security 2006

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Post by jis » Mon Mar 27, 2006 7:51 am

I never have this issue, but I see that many others have. Anderson have a hard time to find out the reason for this problem. I think that we must help him as much as we can.

What about not only shortly describe symptoms, but even post here own running processes and conf.ini?

So again, I never have this problem. I usually have around 32 tabs. When I need I even start another AB instance. Sometimes I run one AB instance continually for one week without exiting. But not in the the last two weeks, when we have in 11 days 17 builds :).

I am willing to even change some of my loved settings for testing purposes, if it can help to Anderson.

My running processes (edited export from Sysinternals Process Explorer):

Code: Select all

Process;Company Name;Description
explorer.exe;Microsoft Corporation;Windows Explorer
rundll32.exe;Microsoft Corporation;Run a DLL as an App ("C:\WINDOWS\system32\rundll32.exe" bthprops.cpl,,BluetoothAuthenticationAgent)
LAUNCH~1.EXE;Nokia;PC Suite
avgcc.exe;GRISOFT, s.r.o.;AVG Control Center
PSHotLaunchVVL.exe;PS Soft Lab (www.pssoftlab.com);
avant.exe;;Avant Browser
tray_365.exe;;
OUTLOOK.EXE;Microsoft Corporation;Microsoft Office Outlook
SALAMAND.exe;ALTAP, Ltd.;Servant Salamander, File Manager.
SALAMAND.exe;ALTAP, Ltd.;Servant Salamander, File Manager.
procexp.exe;Sysinternals;Sysinternals Process Explorer
I8kfanGUI.exe;Christian Diefer;Dell Inspiron 8000/8100/8200 fan control
LClock.exe;;LClock Application
wweb32.exe;Antony Lewis;WordWeb thesaurus/dictionary
SERVIC~1.EXE;Nokia.;ServiceLayer Module
WINWORD.EXE;Microsoft Corporation;Microsoft Office Word
My conf.ini:

Code: Select all

[Avant Browser Settings]
ShowInTaskBar=yes
LangFile=eng.lng
CheckDefault=yes
ShowSplash=no
SideWidth=454
Left=22
Top=33
Height=690
Width=1180
EnableGoogleBar=no
ButtonsToolBar=yes
AddressToolBar=yes
LinksToolBar=yes
FeedsToolBar=no
SimilarToolBar=no
SearchToolBar=yes
TabsToolBar=yes
StatusToolBar=yes
RoboFormToolBar=no
BtnsVersion=10.1
MenuIdx0=yes
MenuIdx1=yes
MenuIdx2=yes
MenuIdx3=yes
MenuIdx4=yes
MenuIdx5=yes
MenuIdx6=yes
MenuIdx7=yes
MenuIdx8=yes
MenuIdx9=yes
OBtnsVersion=8.0
OBtnText=0
OtherButton1=yes
OtherButton2=yes
OtherButton3=yes
OtherButton4=yes
OtherButton5=yes
OtherButton6=yes
OtherButton7=yes
OtherButton8=yes
OtherButton9=yes
OtherButton10=yes
OtherButton11=yes
OtherButton12=yes
OtherButton13=yes
OtherButton14=yes
OtherButton15=yes
OtherButton16=yes
SkinID=Nexos3
ConfirmReopen=yes
ConfirmCloseAll=no
ConfirmCloseExcept=no
ShowADTip=no
ShowPopupTip=no
TabToActive=2
CtrlFloatBar=no
HideSplitter=no
AutoHideTop=yes
AutoHideBottom=yes
AutoHideLeft=yes
UseErrorPage=no
EnableOpenIdvGroup=yes
EnableOpenAllGroup=yes
EnableOpenAllFavo=yes
EnableOpenAllFeed=yes
EnableOpenAllRecent=yes
EnableClearRecent=yes
EnableOpenAllHome=yes
NewTabNextToCurrent=yes
ShowTextBar=yes
ShowPicBar=yes
ShowFlashBar=no
AutoCheckNew=yes
AutoUpgrade=yes
GID1=1
GID2=2
GID3=3
GID4=4
GID5=5
GID6=6
GID7=7
GID8=8
GID9=9
GID10=10
GID11=11
GID12=12
GID13=13
GID14=14
GID15=15
GID16=16
MBClick=1
RBMBClick=1
DBClick=2
ScrollTabs=yes
RBScrollTabs=yes
HistoryView=0
EnableADBlocker=yes
EnableMouseGestures=yes
EnableMOpen=yes
sMOpenBackG=yes
StartsWithHomePage=no
StartsWithExtraHomePage=no
StartupMode=0
StopAutoPopup=yes
DefaultNewPage=1
TaskWhenExit=2
Zoom=100
NewFavorite=yes
NewFeed=yes
NewHistory=yes
NewAddress=yes
NewSearch=yes
PopupForeground=yes
EnableRecentPages=yes
WebPageAutoComplete=yes
DisablePictures=no
DisableFlash=yes
DisableVideos=no
DisableSounds=no
DisableActiveX=no
DisableScripts=no
DisableJavaApplets=no
EnableTrayIcon=yes
MinimizeToTray=yes
CloseToTray=yes
EMailClient=msimn.exe
ProgramEMailClient=yes
AlwaysClearRecordWhenExit=yes
ClearAddress=no
ClearRecent=no
ClearPasswords=no
ClearForms=no
ClearCoockies=no
ClearHistory=no
ClearTemp=no
ClearSearchKeywords=no
ClearBlockedPopup=yes
ClearBlockedAD=yes
OpenMax=yes
KPSound=C:\Program Files\Avant Browser\kpp.wav
CompactView=no
KPPlaySound=yes
SearchIDN=www.google.com
OpenNewforSearch=yes
Proxy=
BandVersion=10.01
TTBTAG0=0
TTBROW0=0
TTBPOS0=0
TTBTAG1=3
TTBROW1=0
TTBPOS1=472
TTBTAG2=1
TTBROW2=0
TTBPOS2=1168
TTBTAG3=2
TTBROW3=1
TTBPOS3=0
TTBTAG4=4
TTBROW4=1
TTBPOS4=634
TTBTAG5=5
TTBROW5=2
TTBPOS5=0
TTBTAG6=7
TTBROW6=3
TTBPOS6=0
TTBTAG7=-1
TTBROW7=-1
TTBPOS7=-1
TTBTAG8=-1
TTBROW8=-1
TTBPOS8=-1
BTBTAG0=8
BTBROW0=0
BTBPOS0=0
BTBTAG1=-1
BTBROW1=-1
BTBPOS1=-1
BTBTAG2=-1
BTBROW2=-1
BTBPOS2=-1
BTBTAG3=-1
BTBROW3=-1
BTBPOS3=-1
BTBTAG4=-1
BTBROW4=-1
BTBPOS4=-1
BTBTAG5=-1
BTBROW5=-1
BTBPOS5=-1
BTBTAG6=-1
BTBROW6=-1
BTBPOS6=-1
BTBTAG7=-1
BTBROW7=-1
BTBPOS7=-1
BTBTAG8=-1
BTBROW8=-1
BTBPOS8=-1
Maximized=yes
RCMenuAddToADBlackList=no
RCMenuAddAllToADBlackList=no
RCMenuMenuSearch=yes
RCMenuHighlight=yes
RCMenuOpenAllLinks=yes
RCMenuLinkNewBrowser=yes
LockToolbars=yes
FullScreen=no
FullDesktop=no
StartLaunched=2.0
ActiveHandle=66336
ActiveAPPHandle=590618
ShowTips=no
TipVersion=2.0
LastTip=0
DonateVerion=900201031
DNFlag=1
ShowDonations=no
VersionInfo=10.2 build 38
SearchPage=dxtsSearchNormal
BlockListPage=dxtsPopups
SideBar=no
ProperlyClosed=no
LastCheckNew=24.03.06
LastDLLUpdate=26.03.06
BtnText=2
BtnIcon=1
Button0=0
ButtonV0=yes
Button1=1
ButtonV1=yes
Button2=2
ButtonV2=yes
Button3=3
ButtonV3=yes
Button4=4
ButtonV4=yes
Button5=5
ButtonV5=yes
Button6=6
ButtonV6=yes
Button7=7
ButtonV7=yes
Button8=8
ButtonV8=yes
Button9=9
ButtonV9=no
Button10=10
ButtonV10=yes
Button11=11
ButtonV11=yes
Button12=12
ButtonV12=yes
Button13=13
ButtonV13=yes
Button14=14
ButtonV14=yes
Button15=15
ButtonV15=no
Button16=16
ButtonV16=no
Button17=17
ButtonV17=no
Button18=18
ButtonV18=no
Button19=19
ButtonV19=yes
Button20=20
ButtonV20=yes
Button21=21
ButtonV21=no
Button22=22
ButtonV22=yes
Button23=23
ButtonV23=yes
Button24=24
ButtonV24=yes
Button25=25
ButtonV25=yes
Button26=26
ButtonV26=yes
Button27=27
ButtonV27=yes
Button28=28
ButtonV28=yes
Button29=29
ButtonV29=no
Button30=30
ButtonV30=yes
Button31=31
ButtonV31=yes
Button32=32
ButtonV32=no
Button33=33
ButtonV33=yes
Button34=34
ButtonV34=yes
OtherButton17=yes
OtherButton18=yes
OtherButton19=yes
OtherButton20=yes
GroupVersion=10.0.110
FavoritesBand=yes
FeedsBand=no
HistoryBand=no
SearchBand=no
BlockedBand=no
WebSearch=http://www.google.com/search?ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=
ImageSearch=http://www.google.com/images?ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=
GroupSearch=http://www.google.com/groups?ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=
DirSearch=http://www.google.com/search?&cat=gwd%2FTop&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=
NewsSearch=http://www.google.com/news?ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=
Avant user since the year 2003.

Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by Anderson » Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:46 am

greggreg wrote:I'm using 10.1.40 and after a couple of hours of surfing and 35 tabs open Avant froze after hitting the red X to exit. There were 2 Avants in the applications tab of the Task Manager. Both said: Status - not responding. Performance said 52% cpu & 360MB. I have only 4 items checked in my Clear List. Avant was the only program I had open at the time.

Most of the 35 tabs open were opened by using several of my groups. I'm not sure what a proxy server is but I'm not using it (that tab of Avant Browser options is empty).

It's getting late. I'm going to bed. Good Luck!
Do you mean have the problem with 10.1 build 40 too? BTW, are there any file download dialog?

User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Post by ElimGarak » Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:38 am

Hello!
Well... I think my problem is related to this one, so I'll post here.

Since build 38, I'm not able to open news pages of darkhorizons anymore (ie. http://www.darkhorizons.com/news06/060327c.php)

Everytime there's a system error message that says it's impossible.

When this happens, avant (iexplore.exe) goes to 98-99% in the task bar.

If I close it, for about a second or two I have TWO iexplore.exe: one about 45% and the other about 35%. Then it closes.

When I open Avant again, I have no problem until I try to load a page from darkhorizons.

I tried disabling ZoneAlarm and Norton Internet Worm protection, but it didn't work.

Bye bye and thank you!

pcs800
Fan
Fan
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 1:32 pm
Windows Version: XP, Vista, 7, 8, 2003
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: 9
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

re

Post by pcs800 » Mon Mar 27, 2006 1:18 pm

I hate to ask the obvious, but why are you not at v10.2 b25? Isn't that the latest?
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 2003 via 10+ pc's & Servers
Avast + Sygate, Avast ISS where Sygate doesn't apply.
Long walks on the virtual beach and Micro-brewed beer.

User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Post by ElimGarak » Mon Mar 27, 2006 1:22 pm

Good question. ;-)

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: re

Post by abfan123 » Mon Mar 27, 2006 2:00 pm

pcs800 wrote:I hate to ask the obvious, but why are you not at v10.2 b25? Isn't that the latest?
Hmmm
Go to the changelog forum & you'll understand. ;)
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by Anderson » Mon Mar 27, 2006 2:25 pm

greggreg wrote:I'm using 10.1.40 and after a couple of hours of surfing and 35 tabs open Avant froze after hitting the red X to exit. There were 2 Avants in the applications tab of the Task Manager. Both said: Status - not responding. Performance said 52% cpu & 360MB. I have only 4 items checked in my Clear List. Avant was the only program I had open at the time.

Most of the 35 tabs open were opened by using several of my groups. I'm not sure what a proxy server is but I'm not using it (that tab of Avant Browser options is empty).

It's getting late. I'm going to bed. Good Luck!
Do you mean have the problem with 10.1 build 40 too? BTW, are there any file download dialog running?

Locked