Problems launching links from outside Avant

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

drGonzo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 7:59 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Vancouver_BC

Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by drGonzo » Thu Oct 31, 2002 8:10 am

With the last couple of builds when I click on a link in an email or in an .nfo, Avant tags the link with an extra http:// like so:

http://%20http://avantbrowser.host-it.no/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi

instead of:

http://avantbrowser.host-it.no/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi


Other than that its getting better every build.

Thanks,
Rob
Windows XP Pro SP1a +hotfixes
IE 6.0.2800.1106 XPSP2

mariuz
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:10 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by mariuz » Thu Oct 31, 2002 8:26 am

What application do you use for email?

Im using Outlook Express, and it works prefectly.

BTW: I have experied that it happens on IRC for instance, if the link is in a topic, like Topic in #test 'Check out http://www.testing.com'

Then it will **** up the URL, yes.. Avant should remove invaild URL charathers, yes indeed.
"Be smart, don't act smart."

drGonzo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 7:59 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Vancouver_BC

Re: Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by drGonzo » Thu Oct 31, 2002 8:34 am

I use Outlook 2002  for mail & the DAMN NFO viewer 'damn.to/software/nfoviewer.html' for viewing NFOs.

IE version is 6.0.3663.0 SP1

For some reason the board is censoring the word D+A+M+N So the url is:

'd+a+m+n.to/software/nfoviewer.html'

minus the plus signs of course ;)
Windows XP Pro SP1a +hotfixes
IE 6.0.2800.1106 XPSP2

mariuz
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:10 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by mariuz » Thu Oct 31, 2002 8:37 am

heh, swearing rocks :)

Outlook 2002 issn't that one which comes with XP? Or Office?

For the NFO thingie.. Dunno.. But as I said, there should be a feature in avant such as "SMART URL" which clears out invalid characters..
"Be smart, don't act smart."

drGonzo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 7:59 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Vancouver_BC

Re: Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by drGonzo » Thu Oct 31, 2002 8:42 am

Hey mariuz,

Yeah I've had the same problem in IRC, the only solution seems to be to make IE the default browser again & then launch Avant manually. Outlook 2002 is from Office XP.

Cheers,
Rob
Windows XP Pro SP1a +hotfixes
IE 6.0.2800.1106 XPSP2

pol_123
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 10:38 am
Avant Version:

Re: Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by pol_123 » Thu Oct 31, 2002 10:43 am

I can help to fix this bug :) open registry and search there for all protocolls and files you want to open with AB

HKey_Classes_Root

htmlfile
http
https
ftp

and replase "PathToAB" %1 for "PathToAB"%1 , that's all, but problem of course in core of AB, and this fix must be fixed

drGonzo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 7:59 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Vancouver_BC

Re: Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by drGonzo » Thu Oct 31, 2002 11:08 am

Nice work pol_123 ;D

Cheers & thanks, that bug has been driving me crazy.
Windows XP Pro SP1a +hotfixes
IE 6.0.2800.1106 XPSP2

pol_123
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 10:38 am
Avant Version:

Re: Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by pol_123 » Thu Oct 31, 2002 4:30 pm

No problems :) this was very unpleasent also for me :))

erkki
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 8:35 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by erkki » Thu Oct 31, 2002 8:53 pm

how do you make IE the default browser again (from Avant)?
Thanks
Erkki

drGonzo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 7:59 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Vancouver_BC

Re: Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by drGonzo » Fri Nov 01, 2002 2:25 am

Hi Erkki,

There may be an easier way to do this but anyways...In IE Go to Tools /Internet Options/ Programs/ Check the ...should check...box & log off or reboot computer. Next time you launch IE it should prompt you...:)
Windows XP Pro SP1a +hotfixes
IE 6.0.2800.1106 XPSP2

mariuz
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:10 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by mariuz » Fri Nov 01, 2002 7:28 am

Here is a TEMP fix for links outside AvantBrowser for mIRC. (Version 6.02 or newer I think.)

Put those lines in your custom remote:

on ^*:hotlink:*http?//?*.?*:*:{ }
on *:hotlink:*http?//?*.?*:*:{ run $+(http://,$gettok($replace(* $1,http://,),2-,1)) }
on ^*:hotlink:*www.?*.?*:*:{ }
on *:hotlink:*www.?*.?*:*:{ run $+(http://www.,$gettok($replace(* $1,www.,),2-,1)) }
"Be smart, don't act smart."

User avatar
kmacleod
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 9:59 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Mission Viejo, CA

Re: Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by kmacleod » Fri Mar 14, 2003 7:07 pm

I read the link http://forum.avantbrowser.com/YaBB.cgi? ... display;nu m=1047581229 and edited the registry as indicated however I still consider this a temporary work around. When you click on a linl it will now open a new window with the "http://www.yahoo.com" then it opens an additional window with Http://www.yahoo.com without the quotes. The first window returna a 404 error and the second window opens fine. Now we need to close the first window. It is easier to close a second window than edit the original address however it is not a fix.  
"While Eeyore frets ...
... and Piglet hesitates
... and Rabbit calculates
... and Owl pontificates
...Pooh just is. (cover)"

User avatar
zeflash
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2003 8:39 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by zeflash » Thu Mar 20, 2003 8:59 pm

From what I see in the registry, AvantBrowser tries to replace the default handler of for example the http too "cleanly".

For the http example:
in the registry, AB adds an AvantBrowser subkey to the HKROOT/http/shell key, and sets the default value of HKROOT/http/shell to AvantBrowser.
This works most of the time (for example, running http://localhost from the run command launches AB).

But it seems some programs actually look up the HKROOT/http/shell/open/command key value, which is still IE => in Outlook, when I click on a http link IE spawns instead of AB.

Replacing the HKROOT/http/shell/open/command value by "ABpath" %1 works way better. I would recommend to do it this way for maximum compatibility. Can this be done in later releases?

batigolaso
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1434
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 3:42 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: NYC

Re: Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by batigolaso » Fri Mar 21, 2003 12:54 am

can you give the exact key?  eg: hkeylocalmachine, etc...or whatever it is. thanks.
"In a minute there is time for decisions and revisions which a minute will reverse." -The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock

User avatar
zeflash
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2003 8:39 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by zeflash » Fri Mar 21, 2003 1:17 am

it's HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT/_whatever protocol you support_/shell

_whatever protocol you support_ = http, https, ftp, html, etc

batigolaso
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1434
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 3:42 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: NYC

Re: Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by batigolaso » Fri Mar 21, 2003 2:53 am

oh you're good ;) That fixes the problem entirely on my system!!! Thanks a lot. We'll add it to the FAQ and make sure people know about it. You'll go down as a legend!!!...umm...well maybe not that last part :) hehe. thanks though!
"In a minute there is time for decisions and revisions which a minute will reverse." -The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock

Pip
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Avant Version: 2012Ultimate V171
IE Version: IE9
Location: Michigan U.S.A.

Re: Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by Pip » Thu Mar 27, 2003 12:08 am

it's HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT/_whatever protocol you support_/shell

_whatever protocol you support_ = http, https, ftp, html, etc
Can you give me a true example of the entry.....do I just replace the "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe" %1  with  "ABpath" %1 or do I need to delete only the iexplore.exe portion and replace it with the ABpath entry...????   I am always willing to try things, but sometimes only know enough to get myself in serious computer trouble.........Sigh!  Thanks....This forum has really helped me....I hope it continues with informative postings... :)
Image

Veni, Vidi, Velcro - I Came, I Saw, I Stuck Around

batigolaso
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1434
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 3:42 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: NYC

Re: Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by batigolaso » Thu Mar 27, 2003 12:18 am

the http\shell\open\command entry should be replaced with the exact command in the avant section which is the entry in http\shell\avantbrowser\command. Hope this helps. This works relatively well, though it's not 100% as far as I can tell.
"In a minute there is time for decisions and revisions which a minute will reverse." -The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock

batigolaso
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1434
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 3:42 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: NYC

Re: Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by batigolaso » Fri May 02, 2003 3:26 am

Thanks to zeflash :) I have posted a little tutorial on how to do this here in case anyone wants to do this and is having trouble.
"In a minute there is time for decisions and revisions which a minute will reverse." -The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock

User avatar
cborga1985
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:26 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Re: Problems launching links from outside Avant

Post by cborga1985 » Thu May 29, 2003 1:39 am

It would be easier if you exporte your tempfixes to a reg file then upload to a host on your site or something like alot of forums do.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]