AvantBrowser does not terminate under Win 2003 Server

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Locked
User avatar
mpegjunkie
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 7:14 pm
Avant Version:

AvantBrowser does not terminate under Win 2003 Server

Post by mpegjunkie » Sat Jun 04, 2005 7:23 pm

AvantBrowser does not terminate in Win 2003 Server, whatever setting in Extras... is set.
If I start it five times and exit 5 times, there are five processes of Avant.exe active.

In XP it is no problem, there it terminates its processes.

Is there a fix for that behaviour?

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Sat Jun 04, 2005 8:56 pm

Are you exiting to the systray? Please check your settings at Tools->Avant Browser Options->Tray Icon.

Sara :)

User avatar
mpegjunkie
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 7:14 pm
Avant Version:

Post by mpegjunkie » Sat Jun 04, 2005 9:03 pm

Tray icon is off, but no matter what settings, it doesn't terminate.
BTW: I'm using German version of 2003 SBS, and AvantBrowser in German language.

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

...

Post by abfan123 » Sat Jun 04, 2005 9:06 pm

Try to rename the conf.ini file that located in c:\documents and settings\yourusername\application data\avant browser

If still won't help then it's probably a bug
I've never tested it on Windows 2003 Server but a quick search in forum brought up the following results
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?t=9007
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?t=8488
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
mpegjunkie
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 7:14 pm
Avant Version:

Post by mpegjunkie » Sat Jun 04, 2005 9:17 pm

Seems to be a bug in the Win2003 version of AB :oops: because I have the exact same configuration on XP Pro :lol: and there it works without problem.

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Sat Jun 04, 2005 9:36 pm

Try downloading Alpha One http://avant.it-mate.co.uk/dl/Alpha/abs ... lpha01.exe

It's the first of the builds that allows multiple instances and still has language support. The betas don't. I've stuck to it as I'm not sure about some of the newer additions (like the compact version).

What I've noticed with it is that it takes a few seconds for Avant to close now, but when it does, it's truly closed--not hanging around in the task manager.

Sara :D
Last edited by Sara on Sat Jun 04, 2005 10:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Alpha 1

Post by abfan123 » Sat Jun 04, 2005 10:00 pm

But on some computers Alpha 1 has 1 pretty annoying problem
It sometime takes up to 4 seconds to close a tab
Corrected in Beta 2 but Beta 2 is without skins (Still with languages though)
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

MacGuyver
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 3:16 pm
Avant Version:

Same Problem on Win2K3 SP1 and AB 168

Post by MacGuyver » Mon Jun 06, 2005 3:20 pm

I am having the same problem. I EXIT (not save to taskbar or systray) and the process fails to stop, leaving ~40MB associated with avant.exe.

New starts create new processes.

Win2K3 SP1
AB English version

Matt

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Tue Jun 07, 2005 3:40 am

What version of Avant? If it's a release try one of the new prerelease builds mentioned above.

Sara :)

MacGuyver
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 3:16 pm
Avant Version:

Post by MacGuyver » Tue Jun 07, 2005 12:22 pm

Release 168, I'll try a prerelease.

transwarp
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 2:39 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: South Germany, near Switzerland

Proccess won't shut down

Post by transwarp » Tue Jun 07, 2005 1:46 pm

Hello,
I've been having a similar problem ever since the 10.0 series started. I’m running Avant v10.0 build168 German on Win2k SP4 with IE6SP1.
Sometimes (but not always) when I close Avant Browser the avant.exe process stays visible in the task-manager and still uses up memory. If I try to terminate the process I get an "Access denied"-error message, even though I’m logged on as Administrator!

Bye,
transwarp

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Post by bigC » Mon Jul 25, 2005 6:34 pm

MacGuyver still has this problem in 10.1 build 17
MacGuyver wrote:I really want to keep this thread going, I could not find my previous post about this issue.

AB still does not terminate on File | Exit on Windows Server 2003 SP1.

M

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Tue Jul 26, 2005 12:32 am

I've added this to the bug poll.

Sara :)

MacGuyver
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 3:16 pm
Avant Version:

Let me know...

Post by MacGuyver » Tue Jul 26, 2005 12:02 pm

Let me know if you want to create a build that tracks the shutdown. It seams to be hanging on the unload of the avant.dll. (I get avant.dll failed to initialize.)

M

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Tue Jul 26, 2005 8:29 pm

None of us are able to do that, only the Developer, Anderson Che. You can email him at comments@avantbrowser.com .

Sara :D

User avatar
TimSkin
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 2:46 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by TimSkin » Wed Sep 14, 2005 12:38 pm

I am also experiencing this bug on Windows Server 2003...
when I click on Exit in the File menu, the Avant windows and tray icon dissappear but avant.exe has not been shutdown.
It's still visible and active under the Task Manager processes.
I tested with the latest version Avant Browser (10.1 build 26).
Windows XP Pro SP2 and Norton AntiVirus 2005 (Dutch)
ZoneAlarm Pro 6 (English)
Avant Browser version 10.1 latest final build

Image

User avatar
TimSkin
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 2:46 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by TimSkin » Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:46 pm

This bug is fixed since both Avant Browser 10.1 build 28 and Dr. Orca 1.0 Beta 1 :D
Thank you very much Anderson!
Windows XP Pro SP2 and Norton AntiVirus 2005 (Dutch)
ZoneAlarm Pro 6 (English)
Avant Browser version 10.1 latest final build

Image

Locked