Getting Avant to not use MS Java, and use Sun Java instead.

Important announcements and news regarding the Avant forums are posted here. Be sure to read the Rules before posting anywhere on the forums. Frequently Asked Avant Questions are also available here.

Re: Removing MS Java/Using Sun Java

Post Reply #20 by MysteryFCM » Tue Feb 15, 2005 10:10 am

aopran wrote:After using for some time the Sun Java, I sincerely think it is not worth doing. Why ? The start-up time becomes a century and the delay becomes a century.

Now, does anybody know whether it is possible to reverse the process? The solution with re-install everything is kown :)


To remove SJVM and re-install MSJVM?

Start > Settings (or Control Panel) > Control Panel > Add/Remove Programs

Highlight Java x Runtime Environment (Where x is the series you have (e.g. 2)), click on Remove.

Then download and install MSJVM

http://home.wanadoo.nl/jheroen/VM/#ms

Note: Make sure you read all of the info on the site before installing anything
MysteryFCM
User avatar
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 7127
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Windows Version: 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Top

Re: Removing MS Java/Using Sun Java

Post Reply #21 by JohnnyBravo » Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:37 am

Thanks FCM!
It actually worked well.
JohnnyBravo
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 10:37 am
Location: Europe
Avant Version:
Top

Post Reply #22 by lefo » Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:11 am

Just curious...Which is more secure? Sun Java or MSJVM?

TIA

Lefo
lefo
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 2:39 am
Avant Version:
Top

Post Reply #23 by MysteryFCM » Tue Feb 22, 2005 10:02 am

Neither. Sun is the best for performance though (alledgedly..... not in my experience)
MysteryFCM
User avatar
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 7127
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Windows Version: 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Top

Sun Java

Post Reply #24 by Thiri » Thu Apr 21, 2005 7:45 pm

I recently re-installed WinXP with SP2. And then reinstalled JSRE Runtime 1.5.0_02.

Have just now downloaded AB. Used AB, went to http://www.broadbandreports.com as mentioned by me75006, started the speedtest, which includes a Java applet which checks which Java is being used.
Answer - 1.5.0_02 by Sun Microsystems.

I don't know whether the MS VM is on my machine - I doubt it, unless it comes automatically with WinXP/SP2.

Have no trouble with any site because of Sun Java, but I do have a problem with AB (and with Maxthon, but not with FF) that many sites have a small image/picture with an instruction "Click to enlarge". There is a javascript applet whch fails to run in AB or Maxthon, but does run in FF. I have not been able to locate any "config" in AB or in Maxthon to allow or disallow javascript, although there is one in IE.
If there's going to be all sorts of configuration problems, I might as well simply stay with FireFox, which seems to me to perform just as well. A couple of years ago I was an AB fan, and was hoping for a happy return!
Thiri
Thiri
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2003 10:24 pm
Location: Kolkata
Avant Version:
Top

Post Reply #25 by Sara » Thu Apr 21, 2005 8:08 pm

Try changing avant.exe to Iexplore.exe. That will allow the IE image size thingy to work as well as SP2's security stuff if you want it. There is also a hack somewhere around here that does it with changing the executable's name--I can't find it at the moment.

Since MS Java was part of XP you probably do have it.

Take a look under Tools->Avant Browser Options->to see what's new since you've been here before.

Sara :D
Sara
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 6235
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Location: Butler, PA
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Top

Post Reply #26 by bigC » Thu Apr 21, 2005 9:09 pm

Javascript and Java are two entirely different things. You already have a thread about the enlarge image deal so I won't go into that here.

You don't have ms jvm or AB would be using it. So I think you're OK in terms of Java...
bigC
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 7239
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Location: New York
Windows Version: 8.1
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Top

Post Reply #27 by widman » Tue Jun 14, 2005 9:51 pm

I can't install SP2 on my Tecra 9100 because Yamaha hsan't come up with a patch for the video card as they did after SP1.
widman
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 2:15 pm
Avant Version:
Top

Post Reply #28 by bigC » Tue Jun 14, 2005 10:00 pm

widman wrote:I can't install SP2 on my Tecra 9100 because Yamaha hsan't come up with a patch for the video card as they did after SP1.
Thats ok, you can still remove the MS Java. Follow the instructions in the first post in this thread.
bigC
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 7239
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Location: New York
Windows Version: 8.1
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Top

Post Reply #29 by widman » Wed Jun 15, 2005 12:20 pm

I don't see any instructions there. I tried using a tool microsoft had posted, but ended up restoring my system because it locked things up.
But in any event, MY changing it on my machine is not the real root problem. avant needs to run both. The applet needs to be run by everyone who visits the site, not just me (who wrote it).
I see two possible solutions:
1. Avant fixes the browser so it can find Sun Java
2. I find a way to recompile the applet with an old version of java or something that will make it readable with ms.

I can't have all the people who visit my site write to me for instructions on how to remove ms.
widman
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 2:15 pm
Avant Version:
Top

Post Reply #30 by Sergei » Wed Jun 15, 2005 6:14 pm

I agree, Avant should be able to find Sun's VM, especially now that Microsoft aren't developing their engine anymore. (They'll probably try to push .Net apps as an alternative, but obviously they are no substitute.) Tinkering with your app to make it run in and outdated versions of Java is obviously very unsatisfactory.

I think it is in the Requests section, you could add your voice to the list there.
My Cartoons
:
IE7 ][ Windows XP Tablet PC Edition 2005 ][ Avast! Antivirus ][ Kerio Firewall ][ DSL
Sergei
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Semi-Guru
 
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 5:09 am
Location: Galway, Ireland
Avant Version:
Top

Post Reply #31 by bigC » Wed Jun 15, 2005 9:51 pm

widman wrote:I don't see any instructions there.

me75006 wrote:Unistall Microsoft Java VM Views: 21,660 | Avg. Rating: 3 out of 5 (66 Votes) | 8/12/2002 12:00:00 AM | Print


I had a MS Java version & a newer Sun version of Java on XP home system.
IE would use the Sun, Avant would use the old MS Java.
Soultion: (courtesy TweakXP.com)

"If you wish to use Sun Java and would like to remove microsoft's Java VM, here's how.

Click start --> run --> and type this in:

RunDll32 advpack.dll,LaunchINFSection java.inf,UnInstall

You will then get a prompt to uninstall, choose yes, and choose to reboot.

Then go and delete the java folder in \windows. After that go to \windows\inf\ and delete java.inf and java.pnf Next step is to search for javavm.dll and delete it. "

I then had to uninstall the Sun Java, rebooted, and then reinstalled the SunJava.
At this point both Avant & IE Browsers were reported as :
"Using 1.4.2_05 by Sun Microsystems Inc." :D

Note: Java version test used at broadbandreports.com, tools/ speed test/ step 1.
Hope this can help anyone else seeking to clean up their system.
bigC
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 7239
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Location: New York
Windows Version: 8.1
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Top

Post Reply #32 by widman » Sat Jun 25, 2005 12:54 pm

Somewhere we are missing the point. If we have web sites that require the use of Sun Java, it is not up to us, nor possible for us, to uninstall MS java on all visitors' computers.

When I want to run my own applets on my own site, I now know to open IE. But what about the 250 people a day who come to my site?

The defect needs to be fixed in Avant, not a few million computers all over the world.
widman
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 2:15 pm
Avant Version:
Top

Post Reply #33 by bigC » Sat Jun 25, 2005 7:02 pm

No, I understand & I agree. AB should use Sun even if MS java is installed. But theres nothing I or any of the other mods can do about it, we're just users like you. Anderson Che is the sole developer of Avant and he's the only one that can fix it. I can only help you make the applet work for you yourself.
bigC
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 7239
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Location: New York
Windows Version: 8.1
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Top

Previous

Return to Announcements & News



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

ABPro style designed by Statm1