Avant Browser 10.0 Beta 013

Contains all announcements of Avant Browser releases.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Avant Browser 10.0 Beta 013

Post by Anderson » Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:19 am

http://dl.filekicker.com/send/file/1422 ... abbeta.exe

Improvements:

1. Fixed "Send Page" Bug on some computers.
2. Tried to fix not-loading bug (cannot locate it), re-wrote some codes, please confirm it's fixed or not.

Skins will be ready together with language files in 48 hours.

Anderson

JohnDeere
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:09 pm
Avant Version:

Post by JohnDeere » Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:21 am

Hi,

sorry, but my loading bug AB 10 Beta 6-->13:enabled AD Blocker does not load page complete is not solved... :(

The Progressbar on the bottom right shows 100%, but did not dissappear, sometimes the progressbar dissappears, but the box on the bottom left shows:
- Opening page...
or
- (2 Elements left) Opening http://...


P.S. the AD blocker also sometimes ignores my added servers... ???!

batagy
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 11:52 pm
Windows Version: WinXP SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: IE8.0
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Post by batagy » Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:23 am

Great Anderson!

The "Send Page" now works for me.

Wait for new language file...

User avatar
rejected
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 9:07 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: College Park, MD
Contact:

Post by rejected » Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:56 am

After installing 013, McAfee pops up with a virus warning, for cbthook.dll. Don't know what that is all about.

crom
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 688
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 4:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Post by crom » Mon Oct 04, 2004 12:10 pm

bugs

"the number of blocked popup pages" shows twice
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 7496#57496

status bar messing up...
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 7512#57512
If I die I have to go before Crom and he will ask me:
"What is the rule of Steel?"
And if I don't know it, he will cast me out of Valhalla and laugh at me!
That's Crom, strong on his mountain..

Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by Anderson » Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:36 pm

rejected wrote:After installing 013, McAfee pops up with a virus warning, for cbthook.dll. Don't know what that is all about.
Hook is kind of technology to get messages sending by windows. Because some virus used simliar codes to spy the system, so McAfee detect cbthook.dll as a part of virus program. McAfee is not very accurate.

I rewrited the dll, could you please try it to see if McAfee still recognize it as virus?

New cbthook.dll:
http://www.avantbrowser.com/download/cbthook.dll

Thanks,

Anderson

nevermore
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 10:46 am
Avant Version:

Post by nevermore » Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:58 pm

Hey, I mailed you about this but I figure you get tons of mails daily so perhaps it's better to post it here, with my current mouse and my previous one I have a "back" button which works fine in explorer and internet explorer but it doesn't seem to work in avant, is there any chance that this will be supported? It's only something minor and the mouse gestures are great but I'd still love it if it worked, thanks :)

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Mon Oct 04, 2004 3:16 pm

Anderson wrote:
rejected wrote:After installing 013, McAfee pops up with a virus warning, for cbthook.dll. Don't know what that is all about.
Hook is kind of technology to get messages sending by windows. Because some virus used simliar codes to spy the system, so McAfee detect cbthook.dll as a part of virus program. McAfee is not very accurate.

I rewrited the dll, could you please try it to see if McAfee still recognize it as virus?

New cbthook.dll:
http://www.avantbrowser.com/download/cbthook.dll

Thanks,

Anderson
Can't stand McAfee myself but anyway, just checked it with F-Prot and NOD32 and both said it was clean :) (just thought you'd like to know).
Last edited by MysteryFCM on Mon Oct 04, 2004 3:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

duke duke
Fan
Fan
Posts: 187
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 5:23 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The ATX

Post by duke duke » Mon Oct 04, 2004 3:18 pm

It's ok with NIS 2005 also.

duke duke

User avatar
SweetLou
Avant Guru
Avant Guru
Posts: 3897
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Lakewood, Ohio USA

Post by SweetLou » Mon Oct 04, 2004 3:28 pm

nevermore wrote:Hey, I mailed you about this but I figure you get tons of mails daily so perhaps it's better to post it here, with my current mouse and my previous one I have a "back" button which works fine in explorer and internet explorer but it doesn't seem to work in avant, is there any chance that this will be supported? It's only something minor and the mouse gestures are great but I'd still love it if it worked, thanks :)
These should work, what type of Mouse and OS are you using? If you are using the manufacturer's drivers, try using the drivers that Windows supplies. Or if you are using the Windows drivers, try the manufacturer's.
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to prosper. -Benjamin Franklin
Where's the dancing and singing monkey?

black_byte
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 12:30 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by black_byte » Mon Oct 04, 2004 3:32 pm

Avant hangs after clicking a link on this Site: http://www.gamestar.de :?
On other Browsers this site Works fine.
German User - So please excuse me my probably bad English

nevermore
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 10:46 am
Avant Version:

Post by nevermore » Mon Oct 04, 2004 3:44 pm

SweetLou wrote:
nevermore wrote:Hey, I mailed you about this but I figure you get tons of mails daily so perhaps it's better to post it here, with my current mouse and my previous one I have a "back" button which works fine in explorer and internet explorer but it doesn't seem to work in avant, is there any chance that this will be supported? It's only something minor and the mouse gestures are great but I'd still love it if it worked, thanks :)
These should work, what type of Mouse and OS are you using? If you are using the manufacturer's drivers, try using the drivers that Windows supplies. Or if you are using the Windows drivers, try the manufacturer's.
Well I got a logitech mx1000, I used to have a microsoft explorer but it broke so I'm not sure if it'd have worked but with this one it doesn't

Pip
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Avant Version: 2012Ultimate V171
IE Version: IE9
Location: Michigan U.S.A.

Post by Pip » Mon Oct 04, 2004 3:57 pm

I am using a Microsoft Intellimouse with the 4 buttons, the left being the thumb and it works fine as "Back", which is what it is programmed to do.


Lke SweetLou said, I would try the drivers options to see if it makes a difference between the manufacturer's driver and the Microsoft driver.
Image

Veni, Vidi, Velcro - I Came, I Saw, I Stuck Around

duke duke
Fan
Fan
Posts: 187
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 5:23 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The ATX

Post by duke duke » Mon Oct 04, 2004 3:58 pm

black_byte, links on that site work just find for me (at least the 3 I clicked).

duke duke

User avatar
writerguy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 6:29 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Springfield, Missouri

Post by writerguy » Mon Oct 04, 2004 4:37 pm

Only been using build 13 a little while this morning, but everything seems to be working well.

1. No evidence so far of that red-X non-loading of gif files like I was experiencing with 11 and 12.

2. Don't know if this is a bug, because I don't remember how version 9 was working it: If I minimize to the tray icon, I can't restore with a single click. The single click restore only works if I have BOTH the "minimize to system tray" choice AND the "show Avant in task bar" choice selected.

But maybe it's always been that way and I've just forgotten?

Gary Speer

User avatar
SweetLou
Avant Guru
Avant Guru
Posts: 3897
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Lakewood, Ohio USA

Post by SweetLou » Mon Oct 04, 2004 5:33 pm

Pip wrote:I am using a Microsoft Intellimouse with the 4 buttons, the left being the thumb and it works fine as "Back", which is what it is programmed to do.


Lke SweetLou said, I would try the drivers options to see if it makes a difference between the manufacturer's driver and the Microsoft driver.
Also, if you have a program that came with the mouse to change the functions of the buttons, you might want to check them. Sometimes, the logical thing to have is not the correct one http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?t=4405 As you can see from this post, instead of "New Window" opening a new tab, having the wheel set to "Auto Scroll" allowed a new tab.
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to prosper. -Benjamin Franklin
Where's the dancing and singing monkey?

xtra
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2004 6:40 pm
Avant Version:

Post by xtra » Mon Oct 04, 2004 6:42 pm

THere is probably a way, but a can't find it. Is it possible that when History is sorted by Date, sites are sorted inside each of the folders (Last Week, Today, etc..) by name? IE does that by default. I find very dificult to search for a specific site, when the list is long and they are not sorted.

schlendrian2111
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:44 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Münster, Germany
Contact:

Post by schlendrian2111 » Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:39 pm

Just installed it and it was "beta15"...

Wilson
Fan
Fan
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 9:32 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Contact:

Post by Wilson » Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:56 pm

schlendrian2111 wrote:Just installed it and it was "beta15"...
Same here. Now with Interface Language! :P
- Wilson

JohnDeere
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:09 pm
Avant Version:

Post by JohnDeere » Mon Oct 04, 2004 8:45 pm

Wilson wrote:
schlendrian2111 wrote:Just installed it and it was "beta15"...
Same here. Now with Interface Language! :P
...and I just found clipped text in Avant Options menu :wink:

Image

yes... german is a very "long" language...

also the tab problem exits... :roll: look here

Locked