Avant Browser

Avant Browser community forum
It is currently Wed Sep 03, 2014 4:34 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ICQ-Links
Poston: Wed Apr 16, 2003 8:11 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 8:03 pm
Posts: 1
Avant Version:
Hello I can't get the ICQ-Links to work after reading through whatever I could find on this forum. When I get an icq-message containing a http://www.xxx.com or http://www.xxx.com I can't get it to open in ANY browser, nothing happens when I open it.

Can anyone please tell me how to fix this?
(and yes, I have changed the http and htmlfile in the registry)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ICQ-Links
Post Reply #1 on: Thu Apr 17, 2003 12:44 am 
Offline
Fan
Fan
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 12:34 pm
Posts: 172
Location: Montreal, QC
Avant Version:
Agreed. Seems that the bug is actually in ICQ, which causes it to fail when AB is set as the default browser. There is currently no known fix.

I will add this to the FAQ.

Please comment further here

_________________
http://www.nangreaves.ca


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ICQ-Links
Post Reply #2 on: Thu Apr 17, 2003 9:52 pm 
Offline
Fan
Fan

Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 6:42 am
Posts: 107
Avant Version:
Gee, you're getting soft in your old age kj. This appears in 3 threads--Help with -Bugs- and the link you have suggested  :P  


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ICQ-Links
Post Reply #3 on: Thu Apr 17, 2003 11:56 pm 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantic Deluxe
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 3:42 am
Posts: 1434
Location: NYC
Avant Version:
the problem jay is that if he closes the post, then you will criticize him for doing so ;) it's hard to win...

_________________
"In a minute there is time for decisions and revisions which a minute will reverse." -The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ICQ-Links
Post Reply #4 on: Fri Apr 18, 2003 6:56 am 
Offline
Fan
Fan

Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 6:42 am
Posts: 107
Avant Version:
Gee, can't even joke with you guys  :(. Well, np I'll just stay the *** off the forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ICQ-Links
Post Reply #5 on: Tue Apr 29, 2003 7:19 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 7:09 pm
Posts: 2
Avant Version:
Hi there.

I used crazy browser and now i installed Avant who is amazing. The only problem i had was this ICQ problem. I saw that a few minutes after i used it.

So i checked it and i KNOW how to do so follow this : (sorry i'm french so i don't know exactly the translation of some thing in the option internet)

1 - Go to internet option with avant browser and  to the programs tab.

2 - click on the button the only one to put the default browser to internet explorer. Don't check the case to keep your start homepage.

3 - Now ICQ is ok with the link but now we all want avant to still be our browser to open html etc... ! so :

4 - Launch avant browser again and DON'T Click yes when he asked you to put the browser to default browser. ( so click no  :P )

5 - Go to the avant browser options and to "files and protocol"

6 - There is 6 little box to check : check ONLY the 1 - 3 -4 - 5   ( so no url and no checking for default browser )

Close it. and try to open links in email, links in icq, click on htm files on your hard disk etc... It will be ok.

All is ok !!

Thanx to me. I test this **** during an hour to find a solution.

Hope everybody understand my poor english grammar.

Reply here for any comments if it works or not but it will !  ;D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ICQ-Links
Post Reply #6 on: Tue Apr 29, 2003 9:56 pm 
Offline
Fan
Fan
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 12:34 pm
Posts: 172
Location: Montreal, QC
Avant Version:
Well done! That's been one of the most talked about bugs on the forum, and finally a solution. Thanks bocina! I'll add it to the FAQ

Do you or anyone else know if this solves the  bug of MSN/Outlook links opening in IE instead of AB? Or is the registry tweak mentioned in the FAQ still necessary?

_________________
http://www.nangreaves.ca


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ICQ-Links
Post Reply #7 on: Wed Apr 30, 2003 7:17 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 7:09 pm
Posts: 2
Avant Version:
Well links works fine for me too now :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ICQ-Links
Post Reply #8 on: Wed Apr 30, 2003 10:18 pm 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Semi-Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm
Posts: 2601
Location: Michigan U.S.A.
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Avant Version: 2012Ultimate V171
IE Version: IE9
Quote:
Well done! That's been one of the most talked about bugs on the forum, and finally a solution. Thanks bocina! I'll add it to the FAQ

Do you or anyone else know if this solves the  bug of MSN/Outlook links opening in IE instead of AB? Or is the registry tweak mentioned in the FAQ still necessary?

It appears to work great in Outlook Express, but unfortunately, I use Incredimail and there are still sites that persist in opening in IE.......guess I will just have to put up with it...........I even forwarded emails to myself from Incredimail that would only open in IE....opened them with Outlook Express and then opened them...lo and behold, they open in AB.........frustrating... ???

_________________
Image

Veni, Vidi, Velcro - I Came, I Saw, I Stuck Around


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ICQ-Links
Post Reply #9 on: Wed Apr 30, 2003 11:17 pm 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Posts: 6237
Location: Butler, PA
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
I have exactly the same problem Pippi.  I like Incredimail too.  At least the occasional exposure to IE reinforces how much I like AB!

Sara ;)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ICQ-Links
Post Reply #10 on: Thu May 01, 2003 12:56 am 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantic Deluxe
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 3:42 am
Posts: 1434
Location: NYC
Avant Version:
i'm sure you guys have tried the registry hack that was mentioned in the faq right? seems that there are multiple entries for IE throughout the registry and you have to change them all to Avant in order to open only avant.

_________________
"In a minute there is time for decisions and revisions which a minute will reverse." -The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group