Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by creep » Sat Jul 23, 2016 4:19 pm

... oh ... always been ticked ...
Unticking fixes it ??? But I want it to do what the text ways it should do ... ".. switch to it immediately"

creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by creep » Sat Jul 23, 2016 4:23 pm

UNticking definitely doesn't fix it for me ..

Not only does it NOT do what the tick is supposed to do (switch to it immediately)
but it also still doesn't open a new tab, or allow the Back to work

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by hornakapopolis » Sat Jul 23, 2016 4:43 pm

creep wrote:... oh ... always been ticked ...
Unticking fixes it ??? But I want it to do what the text ways it should do ... ".. switch to it immediately"
I'm getting a bit confused by your posts.

My post suggested unchecking an option. Your reply mentioned it's always been checked... the opposite of what I said. And your next two posts seem to be talking about the item below the option I'm talking about.

The window/tab options in the Firefox Options should not typically work in Avant because they're affecting the interface. I think, in this case, it's interfering with Avant's behavior because the option is changing how the code on the page works, which is done through the engine, but its effect is displayed through the interface.

I recommend unchecking all three of those setting there in Firefox Options.

I just tried it on another machine and it fixed it there, too. I was hoping it would work for others

creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by creep » Sat Jul 23, 2016 10:49 pm

Yes - it's always been ticked
Then I tried unticking it ... it's quite straight forward ... it doesn't work !

That's it .. it needs fixing ...

User avatar
Mr_Bass-Singer
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 5:59 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate [64-bit]
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016, build 8
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Dream
Location: Central Ohio; USA

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by Mr_Bass-Singer » Sat Jul 23, 2016 11:17 pm

I just did as you suggested hornakapopolis [unticked the box and then I closed and re-opened the browser as well]. It seems to work as it used to now. Is this a temporary workaround or will we have to make sure the box is unticked [even though like creep stated "ticking it should open a new tab"] in future releases? Thanks!
Last edited by Mr_Bass-Singer on Sun Jul 24, 2016 12:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by hornakapopolis » Sat Jul 23, 2016 11:57 pm

Well, thanks for the confirmation Mr.Bass-Singer. I don't think a restart is even necessary. I tabbed back and forth between tabs checking it and un-checking it when I first tried it. I still don't think creep is unchecking the right box, because in four posts, he hasn't managed to confirm which box he's unchecking.

But, I'd guess any type of extension affect Firefox's UI could cause the same problem.

As for having to do this with each install, I'm not sure. I haven't been paying much attention to what gets installed with each update in regards to the engines. I'd imagine Anderson would be able to make changes to the engines' options and keep this unchecked, but possibly not.

(I tried it on a third machine and it worked, too.)

User avatar
Mr_Bass-Singer
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 5:59 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate [64-bit]
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016, build 8
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Dream
Location: Central Ohio; USA

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by Mr_Bass-Singer » Sun Jul 24, 2016 12:15 am

You're welcome hornakapopolis! Feels good to click on a link again and have it open it a new tab as before! Got tired of having to either right-clink to "open in new tab" or drag to the tab bar [which also was a good work-around]. Have a good evening!

fochtmanv
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:01 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8.1 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2015 build 2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Aero Glass
Location: Italy

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by fochtmanv » Sun Jul 24, 2016 7:39 am

Thanks Hornakapopolis I tried your fix and build 8 is working just fine now.

creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by creep » Sun Jul 24, 2016 9:44 am

@Hornakapopolis
"Not only does it NOT do what the tick is supposed to do (switch to it immediately)" ... that is the box I've tried unticking ...

Now I've reinstalled an older version of Avant to avoid the issue

fochtmanv
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:01 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8.1 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2015 build 2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Aero Glass
Location: Italy

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by fochtmanv » Sun Jul 24, 2016 6:18 pm

deleted

paulscary
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 4:22 pm
Windows Version: windows 7 64 bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016 build 8
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: n/a
Skin: default

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by paulscary » Mon Jul 25, 2016 9:44 pm

Same problem here.
About half of the links I click don't open a new tab.It just replaces the old tab and greys out the back button.
The re-open last closed does not have the original page listed.
Using Ultimate with Firefox rendering.

User avatar
Mr_Bass-Singer
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 5:59 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate [64-bit]
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016, build 8
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Dream
Location: Central Ohio; USA

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by Mr_Bass-Singer » Mon Jul 25, 2016 10:17 pm

paulscary wrote:Same problem here. About half of the links I click don't open a new tab. It just replaces the old tab and greys out the back button.
The re-open last closed does not have the original page listed. Using Ultimate with Firefox rendering.
Did you try the solution posted by hornakapopolis » Sat Jul 23, 2016 10:33 am
"Try clicking Menu -> Rendering Engines -> Firefox -> Options (Taking you to Firefox's actual Options screen) and un-checking "Open new windows in a new tab instead" in the General section."

It made it work like it used to for me. Good Luck! :thumbup:

paulscary
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 4:22 pm
Windows Version: windows 7 64 bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016 build 8
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: n/a
Skin: default

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by paulscary » Mon Jul 25, 2016 10:38 pm

Did you try the solution posted by hornakapopolis » Sat Jul 23, 2016 10:33 am
"Try clicking Menu -> Rendering Engines -> Firefox -> Options (Taking you to Firefox's actual Options screen) and un-checking "Open new windows in a new tab instead" in the General section."

It made it work like it used to for me. Good Luck! :thumbup:[/quote]

Yes! It works.
Seems counter to what it's supposed to do but I'll go with it. =D> =D> =D>
Many thanks!

User avatar
Mr_Bass-Singer
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 5:59 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate [64-bit]
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016, build 8
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Dream
Location: Central Ohio; USA

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by Mr_Bass-Singer » Mon Jul 25, 2016 11:06 pm

You're welcome, but the "Thanks" should really go to hornakapopolis! :clap:

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2018 build 7 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by Nederpietos » Mon Jul 25, 2016 11:11 pm

Those options in Firefox (tabs) have never worked (enabled or not enabled). So it's best to have them always unchecked. For some reason they conflict with the Avant options in build 8.

agenthack
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 7:28 am
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: ultimate 2016 build 8
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: crystal

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by agenthack » Tue Jul 26, 2016 3:18 am

unchecking this option > Open new windows in a new tab instead >>> fixed it... thanks :clap: :clap: :clap:

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 940
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by mathman » Wed Jul 27, 2016 3:31 am

Further comment - I tried the unticking and things just stopped working. I needed a Windows restart just to get things going and I restored it to the ticked.

Separate note. Using Firefox itself (not in Avant) there is no problem.

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2018 build 7 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by Nederpietos » Wed Jul 27, 2016 5:40 am

And if you untick it again? You restored it to the ticked, but maybe it was working normally after the reboot. Just curious.

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 940
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by mathman » Fri Jul 29, 2016 12:33 am

Nederpietos wrote:And if you untick it again? You restored it to the ticked, but maybe it was working normally after the reboot. Just curious.
The response after the reboot was extremely slow, before I restored the tick. The only web site where the original problem was a concern was my home page (gmail.com). My solution - leave Firefox as default rendering, with IE11 for the home page.

rememberme
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 7:22 am
Windows Version: WIN 7
Avant Version: ULTIMATE 2014 BUILD 3
Default engine: IE 11 Standards
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Dream

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Post by rememberme » Fri Jul 29, 2016 6:39 am

hornakapopolis wrote:Try clicking Menu -> Rendering Engines -> Firefox -> Options (Taking you to Firefox's actual Options screen) and un-checking Open new windows in a new tab instead in the General section.

It fixes it for me.

Hey, This has worked!!! Un-checking / un-ticking option "Open new windows in a new tab instead"
Thanks a ton fella!
MAY GOD BLESS UR SOUL [-o< [-o< , I am feelin short of words here!
HEARTIEST THANKS!!!!

Post Reply