Additional address line

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
wazib
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 314
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:23 pm
Windows Version: Win 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2017 Ultimate b.7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.0
Skin: crystal
Location: Bydgoszcz, Poland

Additional address line

Post by wazib » Wed Oct 16, 2013 10:36 am

After install new version of Avast Free Antivirus 9.0.2006 in Avant Browser (only in Firefox engine, Chrome engine and IE is OK) appear additional address line (also search field) similar to Firefox. In real Firefox not appear, also not in Google Chrome and in Internet Explorer.
Here is screen capture with additional line
AB 2013 b118 Avast 9.0.jpg
I mean area in red rectangle in picture.
I don`t know, if the reason is in Avast Antivir or in Avant Browser?

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Additional address line

Post by xiaobing » Thu Oct 17, 2013 2:17 am

Tools>mozilla firefox>check add-on bar.
Right click the firefox add-on bar. is the navigation toolbar checked?
1.jpg
1.jpg (10.01 KiB) Viewed 4159 times

wazib
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 314
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:23 pm
Windows Version: Win 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2017 Ultimate b.7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.0
Skin: crystal
Location: Bydgoszcz, Poland

R: Additional address line

Post by wazib » Thu Oct 17, 2013 7:00 am

I cant view that window. When I click Tools>Firefox> right click add-on bar nothing happened.
AB 2013 b118  FF add-on bar.jpg

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Additional address line

Post by xiaobing » Thu Oct 17, 2013 7:37 am

Tools>mozilla firefox>check add-on bar.
Then the firefox add-on bar will appear on the button(above status bar).
Right click the firefox add-on bar on the bottom, then you'll see the window

wazib
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 314
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:23 pm
Windows Version: Win 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2017 Ultimate b.7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.0
Skin: crystal
Location: Bydgoszcz, Poland

Re: Additional address line

Post by wazib » Thu Oct 17, 2013 10:31 am

Thanks xiaobing for help. When I did follow your advice, navigation bar (address line) disappear but as long as Avant Browser run. After close Avant then start it again, navigation bar already appear.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Additional address line

Post by xiaobing » Fri Oct 18, 2013 1:49 am

The navigation bar of firefox is unchecked by default and the option is unable to check under normal circumstances. Don't know why it's checked in your computer.
If you use online storage, please log off and see whether there is the same problem in local.
Have you tried reinstalling Avant?

wazib
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 314
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:23 pm
Windows Version: Win 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2017 Ultimate b.7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.0
Skin: crystal
Location: Bydgoszcz, Poland

Re: Additional address line

Post by wazib » Fri Oct 18, 2013 11:32 am

I log off from online account and switch to local and close Avant. Launch Avant again and then recreated my old account and log in. Navigation toolbar (address line) disappear but although I restored data from my profiles (Tools>Backup/Restore Profiles - Restore) I lost Add-ons for Firefox (installed earlier). My bookmarks, autofill and Avant options restored correctly, only add-ons not restored.

wazib
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 314
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:23 pm
Windows Version: Win 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2017 Ultimate b.7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.0
Skin: crystal
Location: Bydgoszcz, Poland

Re: Additional address line

Post by wazib » Sat Oct 19, 2013 7:19 am

Is any way to make backup and restore add-ons for Firefox in Avant Browser (Firefox engine)?

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Additional address line

Post by xiaobing » Mon Oct 21, 2013 3:31 am

You can backup this folder: C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Avant Profiles\.default\gecko\Mozilla\Avant\Profiles\xxxxxx.default\extensions

wazib
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 314
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:23 pm
Windows Version: Win 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2017 Ultimate b.7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.0
Skin: crystal
Location: Bydgoszcz, Poland

Re: Additional address line

Post by wazib » Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:47 am

I have no folder "C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Avant Profiles\.default\gecko\Mozilla\Avant\Profiles\xxxxxx.default\extensions". I found folder: "c:\Documents and Settings\username\Dane aplikacji\Avant Profiles\useraccount@xxx.com\gecko\Mozilla\Avant\Profiles\xxxxxx.default\extensions\" and restore it from my backup data. After start Avant all extensions was disabled. Then after enable all extensions navigation bar (address line) was appeared. I found extension which case appear navigation bar - "avast! Online Security 9.0.2006.53" and I disable it. Hereafter disable extension "avast..", navigation bar not appear againd
Restoring folder "...\extensions" not restore all data. For instance for Adblock Plus I lost my "Filter Preferences" and I must added my filter subscription again.

lefreak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:52 pm
Windows Version: 7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 Build 2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 9
Skin: Windows Traditional

Re: Additional address line

Post by lefreak » Mon Oct 21, 2013 7:00 pm

Same problem here!
Avast Plugin.jpg
When I use the original Firefox instead of Avant Browser, there is only one address line.
It seems that Avant loads the address line from the Firefox engine in addition to the Avant address line?

Avast says it is an Avant Problem...

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Additional address line

Post by xiaobing » Tue Oct 22, 2013 2:01 am

Confirmed. The problem has been recorded.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Additional address line

Post by xiaobing » Thu Nov 07, 2013 1:53 am

Anderson said that it's Avast who embeds some scripts. We have no way to fix it.

Crazy_John
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 398
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:13 pm
Windows Version: W10 x64 / W7 x64
Avant Version: Avant Browser 2019 build 2
Default engine: 1ºFirefox \ 2ºChrome
IE Version: 7 and 10 but i never use it
Skin: Xito - old skins

Re: Additional address line

Post by Crazy_John » Thu Nov 07, 2013 3:06 pm

lefreak wrote:Same problem here!
The attachment Avast Plugin.jpg is no longer available
When I use the original Firefox instead of Avant Browser, there is only one address line.
It seems that Avant loads the address line from the Firefox engine in addition to the Avant address line?

Avast says it is an Avant Problem...

Try this ,
1• right-click on the add-on bar at the bottom , then customize (now you see the customize box) .
2• click in that small gray "world" that is at the left-side of the address bar (see pic below) and drag-and-drop it to the customize box (to a white place) .
3• click in the Done button .
Close and reopen avant and see if works or not .

This works with firefox original , may work with avant also...
1.jpg

wazib
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 314
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:23 pm
Windows Version: Win 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2017 Ultimate b.7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.0
Skin: crystal
Location: Bydgoszcz, Poland

Re: Additional address line

Post by wazib » Sun Nov 10, 2013 12:11 am

I did like Crazy_John advice, but unfortunately address line not disappear - it change like long search field.
AB 2013 b119 another Firefox search line.jpg
I`m not sure, but this error appear only in Avant Browser (Firefox mode), Avant (Chrome mode) works correct. Also Mozilla Firefox and Google Chrome are OK.

Crazy_John
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 398
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:13 pm
Windows Version: W10 x64 / W7 x64
Avant Version: Avant Browser 2019 build 2
Default engine: 1ºFirefox \ 2ºChrome
IE Version: 7 and 10 but i never use it
Skin: Xito - old skins

Re: Additional address line

Post by Crazy_John » Sun Nov 10, 2013 12:55 am

By what i see in your pic , the address bar its not there , what is there now is the search bar and all the other buttons .

Try drag-and-drop the search bar to the customize box (drag that small blue google icon) ,
and then drag-and-drop all the buttons also to the customize box , one by one .

Worked with the address bar , "should" work with the buttons also , try it .

wazib
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 314
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:23 pm
Windows Version: Win 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2017 Ultimate b.7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.0
Skin: crystal
Location: Bydgoszcz, Poland

Re: Additional address line

Post by wazib » Sun Nov 10, 2013 8:23 am

First I drag-and-drop the address bar to the customize box and it change in search bar.
Second I drag-and-drop search bar to customize box and it disappear but stay additional line with navigation buttons. I try to drag-and-drop this line to customize box but I can`t.
Hi is screenshot with additional line (in red rectangle).
AB 2013 b119 another line.jpg

lefreak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:52 pm
Windows Version: 7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 Build 2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 9
Skin: Windows Traditional

Re: Additional address line

Post by lefreak » Wed Jun 04, 2014 8:43 pm

I found a way of making the address line disappear by right clicking on it, but now I want to make it re-appear - how?

I tried via making appear the "addon bar" and then right click (and left click) on the address bar, but it doesn't come back.

I use Disconnect.me addon and want to see what it blocks...
address bar.jpg
address bar.jpg (6.9 KiB) Viewed 3849 times

Post Reply