Avant Browser

Avant Browser community forum
It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 2:11 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
Poston: Fri Feb 17, 2012 8:44 pm 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Posts: 7239
Location: New York
Windows Version: 8.1
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Specifying the rendering mode for certain sites does not work in 2012 b23. I have *.microsoft.com set to open in IE standards but when I go to microsoft update it stays in FF mode. It worked in build 21.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #1 on: Fri Feb 17, 2012 9:27 pm 
Offline
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 11:14 pm
Posts: 237
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Windows Version: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bits
Avant Version: See my signature
Default engine: See my signature
IE Version: 10.0.9200.16580
Skin: Xito
How do you know it stays in FF mode?

I set *.itau.com.br/ to open in IE mode. AB doesn't show me that I'm using IE rendering engine. However, I know that IE mode is being used because (a) the virtual keyboard at itau.com doesn't work in FF and (b) RoboForm2Go tool bar appears in front of AB's status bar. In Mozilla mode it would appear below the URL bar.

_________________
I use the latest Ultimate version with Mozilla rendering engine by default.
RoboForm2Go 7.9.5.5
WIN 8.1 Pro 64-bit, Asus P8Z68 Deluxe, Intel Core i7 2600, 3.40GHz, Cooler Master V10, PSU Zalman ZM600-HP, 16GB DDR3-1600, AMD Radeon HD 6870 1GB, SyncMaster P2270HN.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #2 on: Fri Feb 17, 2012 10:03 pm 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Posts: 7239
Location: New York
Windows Version: 8.1
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Because it tells me my browser is not supported by microsoft update. It requires IE. Also the watermark indicator in the address bar shows FF logo.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #3 on: Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:46 am 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantic Elite
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Posts: 1965
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3 x86 + all updates
Avant Version: 2013 Ultimate Build 23 & Build 115 (USB)
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: IE8 + all patches and updates
Skin: Monai XP
I don't know if this will help or not since I'm using pre-alpha 119, but I found out (by experimentation) a couple of versions back that *microsoft (no dot) works just as well as *.microsoft. Maybe it will help to use *microsoft. Both *.microsoft and *microsoft work correctly in pre-alpha 119 (Microsoft Update opens with the IE engine).


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #4 on: Mon Feb 20, 2012 2:50 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Posts: 3749
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas
"specifying the rendering mode for certain sites" doesn't work here in pre-alpha 119 and build 23.

Confirmed.

Quote:
Both *.microsoft and *microsoft work correctly in pre-alpha 119 (Microsoft Update opens with the IE engine).

Are you sure it works for you, Mike?


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #5 on: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:02 am 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Posts: 10997
Location: Ohio, USA
Windows Version: Windows 7 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2014
Default engine: Firefox / Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
It does for me, but it that list at Tools _> Avant Browser Options -> Rendering Engine seems extremely finicky. I haven't had time to play around with it, but is it possible it's not properly registering strings with the * before text? All of mine are strings that end with it.

I think I read somewhere else that it doesn't work for Aliases (and something else) so I expected that, but I also can't get it to work when opening more than one bookmark at a time, which I do frequently. (edit: Of course, now that I've said that, it just worked. Not only has it not been working for me all day when I open all of the bookmarks in a folder, it would then also not want to switch engines if I reloaded or hit Enter in the address bar in the same tab. I've been opening a new tab and doing it.) It only seems to be catchin it when I open a single bookmark or when I type the URL in the address bar and press Enter.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #6 on: Mon Feb 20, 2012 5:26 am 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantic Elite
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Posts: 1965
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3 x86 + all updates
Avant Version: 2013 Ultimate Build 23 & Build 115 (USB)
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: IE8 + all patches and updates
Skin: Monai XP
xiaobing wrote:
Are you sure it works for you, Mike?


I just tested it again, and both *.microsoft and *microsoft cause the MS Update site to open with the IE engine (I've got it set to open with IE8 Standards).


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #7 on: Tue Feb 21, 2012 2:43 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Posts: 3749
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas
It turns out to be the problem of rules.

To make it work, it's better to add * to both beginning and ending.

Recorded


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #8 on: Tue Feb 21, 2012 3:51 am 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantic Elite
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Posts: 1965
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3 x86 + all updates
Avant Version: 2013 Ultimate Build 23 & Build 115 (USB)
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: IE8 + all patches and updates
Skin: Monai XP
xiaobing wrote:
It turns out to be the problem of rules.

To make it work, it's better to add * to both beginning and ending.

Recorded


I just tried the Microsoft Update site with several variations of the rendering-engine rule for microsoft sites:

These work:
*microsoft.
*.microsoft.
*microsoft

These don't work:
*microsoft.*
*.microsoft.*
*microsoft*


Is there any full documentation anywhere on how the rules are implemented and on all of the available syntax?


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #9 on: Tue Feb 21, 2012 4:27 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Posts: 3749
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas
I got just the opposite result with you.

These don't work:
*microsoft.
*.microsoft.
*microsoft

These work:
*microsoft.*
*.microsoft.*
*microsoft*

:( Tried both build 23 and pre-alpha 119


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #10 on: Tue Feb 21, 2012 4:28 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3118
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
mbrazil wrote:
I just tried the Microsoft Update site with several variations of the rendering-engine rule for microsoft sites:

These work:
*microsoft.
*.microsoft.
*microsoft

These don't work:
*microsoft.*
*.microsoft.*
*microsoft*

Are they reversed?
[*microsoft. ] can't match something like "www.microsoft.com"

The rule should work this way.
[*] match 0 or multiple characters.

For visiting the url including the characters like [microsoft], you can use *microsoft*,
for visiting the url including the characters like [.microsoft.], you can use *.microsoft.*
for visiting the url including the characters like [.yahoo.com], you can use *.yahoo.com, which match the urls like http://www.yahoo.com, mail.yahoo.com, answer.yahoo.com

But there exists still a problem, if you visit http://www.microsoft.com/, [*microsoft.com/*] can't match the url. Seems avant takes http://www.microsoft.com/ as http://www.microsoft.com and ignores "/" so that the url opens with default rendering engine.

_________________
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #11 on: Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:01 am 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantic Elite
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Posts: 1965
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3 x86 + all updates
Avant Version: 2013 Ultimate Build 23 & Build 115 (USB)
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: IE8 + all patches and updates
Skin: Monai XP
Well, this one's going to be fun to figure out! :) I repeated my tests and got the same results I got the first time, and the results are not reversed in my post. I tested only on build 119.

My default rendering engine is firefox. The rule I'm currently using for microsoft sites is *.microsoft. The dot at the end is part of the rule, not the end of the sentence. It works fine without the dot also.

I just manually entered http://www.microsoft.com in the address bar, and it opened with IE. http://www.microsoft.com/ also opens fine with the IE engine.

I don't know what to tell you, but it appears as though, on my computer anyway, the rules aren't being parsed the way you described. *.microsoft. works for all the Microsoft sites I've tried, but *.microsoft.* doesn't work for any Microsoft sites I've tried. *.microsoft* doesn't work either.

Well, we are on opposite sides of the planet, so maybe the asterisks are working the opposite in America from the the way they are working in China. :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #12 on: Wed Feb 22, 2012 5:20 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3118
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
The difference should come from the tests on different versions.We tested on avant browser 2012 beta 121. There is a fix for this problem in beta 121.

_________________
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #13 on: Wed Feb 22, 2012 5:53 am 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantic Elite
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Posts: 1965
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3 x86 + all updates
Avant Version: 2013 Ultimate Build 23 & Build 115 (USB)
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: IE8 + all patches and updates
Skin: Monai XP
Jasmine wrote:
The difference should come from the tests on different versions.We tested on avant browser 2012 beta 121. There is a fix for this problem in beta 121.


Confirmed. I had to add the asterisk at the end for it to work in 121.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group