[fixed]hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

[fixed]hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Postby brucebinder » Fri Jun 10, 2011 3:35 pm

AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others. I cannot figure out why they show sometimes and not others. By hot keys, i mean the underlined letter one types to get the menu option. Like g or Page Setup in File menu.

Also, AB says this is Build 16 but I downloaded and installed build 18.
Last edited by Jasmine on Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:45 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: v2011 build 22;fixed v2011 build 23
brucebinder
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
Top

Re: AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Post Reply #1 by xiaobing » Mon Jun 13, 2011 2:07 am

Do you mean the hotkeys for main menu(File View Bookmarks AutoFill ...)?
The hotkey are Alt+F(File) ,alt+V(view), alt+B(Bookmarks) ,alt+A(AutoFill),alt+T(Tools),alt+H(Help)
xiaobing
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3466
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas
Top

Re: AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Post Reply #2 by brucebinder » Mon Jun 13, 2011 2:33 am

No, hot keys for the submenus. They come and go. The main menu Alt+hot key always work. So, for instance, Page Setup under the file menu. SOmetimes the g is underlined and works. Other times it is not underlined and does not work. I cannot find a pattern.
brucebinder
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
Top

Re: AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Post Reply #3 by xiaobing » Mon Jun 13, 2011 2:52 am

There isn't hotkey for the option:Page setup....
We have marked all the hotkeys if the option has one,for example, ctrl+P for Print
111.JPG
111.JPG (9.11 KiB) Viewed 2309 times
xiaobing
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3466
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas
Top

Re: AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Post Reply #4 by brucebinder » Mon Jun 13, 2011 3:36 am

Sorry we are misunderstanding each other.I mean the underlined letter that one types to execute the function. Page setup sometimes has the g underlined so I can type g after I type alt-f and page setup opens.
brucebinder
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
Top

Re: AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Post Reply #5 by Jasmine » Tue Jun 14, 2011 9:26 am

brucebinder wrote:Sorry we are misunderstanding each other.I mean the underlined letter that one types to execute the function. Page setup sometimes has the g underlined so I can type g after I type alt-f and page setup opens.

Do you rembember in which version g underlinded for page setup?
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder
Jasmine
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Top

Re: AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Post Reply #6 by brucebinder » Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:25 pm

The current version. The underlines come and go and I cannot figure out what causes the change.
brucebinder
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
Top

Re: AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Post Reply #7 by xiaobing » Wed Jun 15, 2011 6:00 am

what interface language do you use?
xiaobing
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3466
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas
Top

Re: AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Post Reply #8 by brucebinder » Wed Jun 15, 2011 9:08 am

English (United States)
brucebinder
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
Top

Re: AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Post Reply #9 by brucebinder » Wed Jun 15, 2011 11:04 am

If i make another browser the default and then make AB the default, the underlined letters come back in the sub-menus (Page Setupt) for instance.
brucebinder
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
Top

Re: AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Post Reply #10 by Jasmine » Thu Jun 16, 2011 3:15 am

It's really weird. Make a screeshot?

And please search inside eng.lng(C:\Program Files\Avant Browser\Lang) whether there exists the following script?

actPageSetup_C=Page Setup...
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder
Jasmine
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Top

Re: AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Post Reply #11 by brucebinder » Thu Jun 16, 2011 2:23 pm

The script is there.
brucebinder
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
Top

Re: AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Post Reply #12 by Jasmine » Fri Jun 17, 2011 2:35 am

Interesting, I can't totally confirm the problem but I find another problem. Anyway they could be the same one.

If you hope to use the short, please try modify this line:
actPageSetup_C=Page Setup...
to
actPageSetup_C=Pa&ge Setup...

You'll see many other shortcuts appear too.

It's weird but they all can work.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder
Jasmine
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Top

Re: AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Post Reply #13 by Jasmine » Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:03 am

Hello,

Again the possible reason I can think of is you have to press alt before clicking the File menu for making those underlines in the submenu appear. Pleases try.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder
Jasmine
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Top

Re: AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Post Reply #14 by brucebinder » Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:12 am

I added the & before the g as you suggested. That did not work.

I changed the file to a .txt and then edited it in notepad and then back to .lng to do this. Is there a better way?
brucebinder
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
Top

Re: AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Post Reply #15 by Jasmine » Fri Jun 17, 2011 6:47 am

Jasmine wrote:Hello,

Again the possible reason I can think of is you have to press alt before clicking the File menu for making those underlines in the submenu appear. Pleases try.

Have you tried this? Without editing the eng.lng, I find the underlines in the submenu appear by pressing alt once before opening File menu.

If you edit eng.lng
brucebinder wrote:I added the & before the g as you suggested. That did not work.

I changed the file to a .txt and then edited it in notepad and then back to .lng to do this. Is there a better way?


You have to switch to another interface(like arabic) and switch back for reloading the change. Interface won't refresh itself at once.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder
Jasmine
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Top

Re: AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Post Reply #16 by brucebinder » Fri Jun 17, 2011 2:21 pm

Since I have no way to directly edit the eng.lng file, can you just send me a new one? bruce@bbinders.com
brucebinder
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
Top

Re: AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Post Reply #17 by brucebinder » Fri Jun 17, 2011 2:29 pm

Pressing Alt once make the underlines appear on the main menu items but no the sub-menu items.

I tried the switching languages to no avail.

Maybe best if you send me a corrected eng.lng file and instructions of how best to replace the existing one.
brucebinder
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
Top

Re: AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others

Post Reply #18 by Jasmine » Mon Jun 20, 2011 4:28 am

I can make them appear in win7 and xp but seems it's not easy to do the same in Vista. This problem will be fixed in next version.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder
Jasmine
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Top

Re: [confirmed]hot keys for menu are there sometimes not oth

Post Reply #19 by Jasmine » Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:45 am

brucebinder wrote:AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others. I cannot figure out why they show sometimes and not others. By hot keys, i mean the underlined letter one types to get the menu option. Like g or Page Setup in File menu.

Also, AB says this is Build 16 but I downloaded and installed build 18.


Please try build 23 it's fixed.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder
Jasmine
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Top


Return to Avant Browser Bug Reports



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

ABPro style designed by Statm1