Avant Browser

Avant Browser community forum
It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 11:15 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
Post Reply #20 on: Mon Jun 07, 2010 7:36 pm 
Offline
Fan
Fan

Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 4:01 pm
Posts: 138
Avant Version:
Maybe I will try it but I have been often reluctant to update Avant in the first place because of various issues so I tended to use an older version and not update routinely.
Now while I like AB's extras it often works unpredicably.


And now since the SP3 upgrade and all the resets etc for example, I now find the BBC "latest News" tickertape" not even showing up in IE or Avant on:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/default.stm


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #21 on: Mon Jun 07, 2010 10:38 pm 
Offline
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 3384
Avant Version:
Do you get any error message or script error indications? Any other sites with problems?
I suggest resetting IE again - failing that I can provide advanced reset procedures for IE.

_________________
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #22 on: Mon Jun 07, 2010 11:46 pm 
Offline
Fan
Fan

Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 4:01 pm
Posts: 138
Avant Version:
No error messages.

And I'm now finding flash clips from the BBC site and Youtube clips are playing up so I hear the sound but the picture keeps freezing.

-


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #23 on: Mon Jun 07, 2010 11:48 pm 
Offline
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 3384
Avant Version:
Is that also with both IE8 and Avant too?
It could be that Flash isn't installed correctly, try this:
* Close all browsers
* Uninstall Flash - Uninstall tool
* Remove folder %windir%\system32\Macromed\Flash\
* Reboot computer
* Reinstall Flash ActiveX Plugin (if using Vista/Win7 - run as administrator)

(Download the linked files first)

_________________
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #24 on: Mon Jun 07, 2010 11:57 pm 
Offline
Fan
Fan

Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 4:01 pm
Posts: 138
Avant Version:
It's specific to Avant. The same videos play OK in IE8.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #25 on: Tue Jun 08, 2010 12:02 am 
Offline
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 3384
Avant Version:
Did you try the IE reset and Flash reinstall tips anyway? No harm in trying.

_________________
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #26 on: Tue Jun 08, 2010 12:04 am 
Offline
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 3384
Avant Version:
Also try the tips in this thread too: http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?t=27019

_________________
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #27 on: Tue Jun 08, 2010 11:09 pm 
Offline
Fan
Fan

Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 4:01 pm
Posts: 138
Avant Version:
OK I just tried the Beta 11.8

The flash video seems to be working
The tickertape on the BBC news is now visible.

and the zoom is now working OK
Thanks for your help.




-


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #28 on: Tue Jun 08, 2010 11:24 pm 
Offline
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 3384
Avant Version:
How very strange that the 11.7 build was functioning incorrectly for you.
I hope that you have the pre-release build that was released today.
Thanks for confirming - let me know if you have any further issues.

_________________
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group