Blocker.swf

Re: Blocker.swf

Post Reply #60 by cgill75 » Thu Aug 27, 2009 10:45 pm

The message is back! I went to http://www.ebaumsworld.com/ and it re-appeared. Only way to get rid of the message is to turn off Ad Blocker. It seems to come and go. Maybe something to do with the type of adds on that web page that day.
cgill75
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 9:42 pm
Windows Version: xp sp3
Avant Version: 11.7 b36
IE Version: 8
Top

Re: Blocker.swf

Post Reply #61 by Jasmine » Thu Sep 17, 2009 6:14 am

Is the problem still happening in latest 11.7.37 and 11.7.38?
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder
Jasmine
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Top

Re: Blocker.swf

Post Reply #62 by place » Tue Sep 22, 2009 3:17 am

Jasmine wrote:Is the problem still happening in latest 11.7.37 and 11.7.38?


Build 31 gave the popup. Build 39 seems to be okay. Though I've only been using it for an hour. But the popup didn't appear on a page that it always does appear.
place
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 9:40 am
Windows Version: xp pro sp3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 26
IE Version: IE8
Top

Re: Blocker.swf

Post Reply #63 by Refugee » Thu Sep 24, 2009 12:35 am

cgill75 wrote:
Refugee wrote:
kudos wrote:The current version of Avant should not have a imgs folder, it was changed to res a while ago.


I have done this check and found blocker.swf in the res folder and no img folder.
I renamed them in both Avant and IE6.
Then i restarded Avant and checked with my Google test (also works in other search boxes like here in the message topic search).
The test still failed to produce a search result and the egg timer stayed there for ever.
It has not yet gone completely!!!! :sick:
Search for anything else and it is fine.


I was never able to get the "Google test" to fail. Searching for blocker.swf worked with no message box or egg timer. It could not get it to fail even when the imgs folder was in the Avant folder.


I have just installed 11.7 B39 and done the google and search box tests and the results come through perfectly.
It is fixed =D> =D> =D>
Refugee
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:01 am
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.7 build 41
IE Version: 7
Top

Re: Blocker.swf

Post Reply #64 by André » Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:26 am

Can anyone else confirm?
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6
André
User avatar
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Blocker.swf

Post Reply #65 by johnsmithbisley » Thu Sep 24, 2009 8:36 am

Unfortunately, it's not completely fixed in 11.7 build 39 running on Vista Home Premium. The one site I find it occurs is www.telegraph.co.uk. It varies enormously, some pages cause the blocker message and some do not. Today, this one causes it, whether going to it via a link from another page or pasting the address into Avant directly:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/fashion/fash ... r-men.html

This does not happen in IE 8, going to the page using either method, just Avant Browser. The effect can be "switched on and off" by enabling or disabling the Ad blocker in Avant so the problem really does seem to be with the Avant Ad blocker.

By the way, I don't think I shall bother with the tights......
John Smith
johnsmithbisley
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 12:51 am
Location: UK
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit
Avant Version: Firefox now.
IE Version: IE9
Top

Re: Blocker.swf

Post Reply #66 by addonsfan » Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:06 am

What site did you add to your black list to block ads on that site? I think a good first step in reproducing this bug, is to get it to actually attempt to block the ads first....
addonsfan
User avatar
Offline
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
 
Posts: 1939
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Location: California, USA
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Top

Re: Blocker.swf

Post Reply #67 by johnsmithbisley » Fri Sep 25, 2009 6:23 am

No changes were made to the defaults that are set up on installation of Avant Browser for Ad Blocker, either for black list or for exceptions. If I click on the link in my last post, to the article on the Telegraph site, it opens without an error message. However, If I right click and select "Open in new window" then the blocker error message appears. Hopefully this will be a clue to someone who knows about the deep, dark, mysterious workings of Avant.

I am certain that the Telegraph site is hastily put together and contains many errors: duplicated links, links that do not work, links that misdirect and so on. It is also heavily suffused with advertisements of all sorts. However, I am equally certain that there is an adjustment within Avant Broswer that needs to be made so that this error message is as rare as it is in IE8 (to my knowledge, non existent).
John Smith
johnsmithbisley
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 12:51 am
Location: UK
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit
Avant Version: Firefox now.
IE Version: IE9
Top

blocker.swf issue...

Post Reply #68 by ucandoit » Mon Sep 28, 2009 9:48 pm

The latest build didn't solve this problem in the site:
http://www.hydepark.co.il/
(That site contains hundreds of forums, and the "Intertnet Explorer can't download blocker.swf from localhost" error msg is realy bother and annoying...

(I'm using Avant 11.7 build 39, IE 8, Windows XP)

Thanks in advance for fixing this bug!

uCanDoIt.
ucandoit
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 9:40 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.7 build 39
IE Version: 8
Top

Re: blocker.swf issue...

Post Reply #69 by kudos » Mon Sep 28, 2009 10:37 pm

Try replacing your blocker.swf file with the one attached.
Unzip the file to C:\Program Files\Avant Browser\res\
Attachments
blocker.zip
(123 Bytes) Downloaded 139 times
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics
kudos
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Blocker.swf

Post Reply #70 by tree » Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:52 pm

Ok guys. I've been following this, sorry to disappoint you good guys at AB.
I have IE8 on XP pro SP3 and AB 11.7B39
The bug has NOT been fixed.
I get it consistently when I access www.marketwatch.com when Enable Ad Blocker is enabled.
I do NOT however get the error message when I enter blocker.swf in the search window
Do not seem to get the error directly under IE8 (with pop-up blocker enabled).
tree
User avatar
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:41 pm
Windows Version: XP/32 pro sp3
Avant Version: 2012 b27
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Top

Re: blocker.swf issue...

Post Reply #71 by tree » Wed Sep 30, 2009 4:11 pm

kudos wrote:Try replacing your blocker.swf file with the one attached.
Unzip the file to C:\Program Files\Avant Browser\res\


THANK YOU. Finally a patch.

Yes - the dummy blocker.swf file (a 1 byte hex'00' file) eliminates the error message for the test site: www.marketwatch.com

Here's what I did:
I renamed the original to blocker_.swf and replaced it with the dummy file - error message gone.
Renamed back to the original 29-byte file - error message reappears.
I cycled this test several times - the difference is positively consistent.

That should point you in the direction of a fix for the next build.
Thanks again
tree
User avatar
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:41 pm
Windows Version: XP/32 pro sp3
Avant Version: 2012 b27
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Top

Re: Blocker.swf

Post Reply #72 by tree » Wed Sep 30, 2009 4:20 pm

Just found and tested the the solution to error message found in another post:

Replace the 29-byte \Program Files\Avant Browser\res\blocker.swf with a 1-byte dummy file (containing a hex zero).
tree
User avatar
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:41 pm
Windows Version: XP/32 pro sp3
Avant Version: 2012 b27
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Top

Re: blocker.swf issue...

Post Reply #73 by kudos » Wed Sep 30, 2009 4:23 pm

Thanks for confirming. I suspect that the problem is that Avant tries to execute the original blocker.swf Flash file, calling up the Flash plugin to do so. This takes some processor time which adds up on pages which have many such objects. It also explains why not everyone (including myself) have never seen this error - we have fast or optimised computers for which this delay is not a problem. With the "dummy" file the delay should be minimised, until the development team can properly fix it.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics
kudos
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:
Top

Re: blocker.swf issue...

Post Reply #74 by tree » Wed Sep 30, 2009 4:53 pm

Hmm - timing problems - as a retired firmware/software developer myself, I know all too well that those 'hit-and-run' buggers are a pain to pin down.

So here's some more feedback on the specs of my machine's config (on which I confirmed that the 1-byte dummyfile replacement consistently works), though you're unlikely to find it very useful:

I'm running is a meticulously virus- and malware-free AMD Althon 64X2 4200+ (2.2ghz) 1GB, with AVG and Kerio pfw and resident procs streamlined to minimum under Xp pro sp2 w/IE8 & AB11.7b39. Thought nothing to brag about, it can't be considered a "vintage" system (I'd say that's about midway down the line of typical systems out there at this time), so I'm surprised this error isn't occurring on far more systems for many more ad-prone sites.

Wild guess: AVG processing time degradation may be exposing the error.

cheers
It either works or it doesn't. Sometimes.
tree
User avatar
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:41 pm
Windows Version: XP/32 pro sp3
Avant Version: 2012 b27
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Top

Re: blocker.swf issue...

Post Reply #75 by kudos » Wed Sep 30, 2009 5:11 pm

Why XP SP2 and not SP3? Yes, maybe AVG and KPF interrupt the Flash ActiveX module startup.

BTW I have a 1Ghz Celeron, 256Mb RAM, XP SP3, IE8 with AB 11.7.39 and I have never seen the problem...
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics
kudos
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:
Top

Re: blocker.swf issue...

Post Reply #76 by tree » Wed Sep 30, 2009 5:21 pm

Sp3 has confirmed issues with certain AMD and/or HP-configed systems; on my machine specifically it screws up the Fax (virtual printer) support which I can't do without. Restoring to SP2 (as suggested by others who experienced the same problem) restored functional XP Fax support. A dozen or so SP3 problems (some even with Intel chipped systems) are well known and as far as I know not yet fully resolved (not to mention more WGA shenanigans).
It either works or it doesn't. Sometimes.
tree
User avatar
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:41 pm
Windows Version: XP/32 pro sp3
Avant Version: 2012 b27
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Top

Re: Blocker.swf

Post Reply #77 by addonsfan » Fri Oct 02, 2009 3:35 pm

Wouldn't that mean it's a problem with Flash?
addonsfan
User avatar
Offline
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
 
Posts: 1939
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Location: California, USA
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Top

Re: Blocker.swf

Post Reply #78 by tree » Sun Oct 04, 2009 2:00 pm

According to Avant rep "Kudos" the problem is an ideosynchornous timimg issue related to flash opening of many simultaneous objects. I renamed \Program Files\Avant Browser\res\blocker.swf to blocker_.swf and replaced it with a 1-binary-zero-byte file as a temporary workaround. Avant may address and resolve this issue shortly, perhaps in the next build. Meantime - try to access:
www.marketwatch.com
Do you get the error message?
After replacing blocker.swf - does it disappear (as it did for me)?

Attached: the zipped patch file in case you don't know how to create it yourself

good luck
Attachments
blocker.zip
Patch (replacement) for blocker.swf (don't forget to unzip this and rename the original before replacement, as I suggested in this post)
(121 Bytes) Downloaded 58 times
It either works or it doesn't. Sometimes.
tree
User avatar
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:41 pm
Windows Version: XP/32 pro sp3
Avant Version: 2012 b27
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Top

Re: blocker.swf issue...

Post Reply #79 by tree » Sun Oct 04, 2009 2:12 pm

====>
====> For those of you following this thread on the 'blocker' error message, who want a temporary workaround and have skipped to the last posts on this topic ... you can try the patch in the attachment, unless Kudos or some other rep recommends, following this post, that it is unadvisable. It seems to work safely and reliably for me so far.

According to Avant rep "Kudos" (see above posts if you want to read his own text) the problem may be an ideosynchornous timimg issue related to attempting to open many simultaneous objects.

I renamed \Program Files\Avant Browser\res\blocker.swf to blocker_.swf and replaced it with a 1-binary-zero-byte file as a temporary workaround (this was suggested earlier).

Now that Avant staff has a concrete lead on this messy bug, they may be able to address and resolve this nagging issue soon; meantime - try this benchmark (test):

Access www.marketwatch.com

Do you get the error message on your system?

After replacing blocker.swf as suggested above - does it disappear (as it did for me)?

Attached: a zip with the temporary replacement file (in case you don't know how to create it)

Tip: always log any changes you have made to original distributions as they can get in the way in the future and may need to be undone; this is a temporary patch and has not been formally sanctioned.

good luck
Attachments
blocker.zip
Patch (replacement) for blocker.swf (don't forget to unzip this and rename the original before replacement, as I suggested in this post)
(121 Bytes) Downloaded 49 times
It either works or it doesn't. Sometimes.
tree
User avatar
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:41 pm
Windows Version: XP/32 pro sp3
Avant Version: 2012 b27
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Top

PreviousNext

Return to Avant Browser Legacy Help Archive



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

ABPro style designed by Statm1