Windows 7

Discuss whatever you like here! ( ...that's not spam!)

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by addonsfan » Mon Nov 23, 2009 12:31 am

RTM is final, but the downloaded evaluation was RC. It almost seems as if the evaluation was actually hard coded to prevent cracking. heheh... I don't have the RTM version, but I'm pretty sure there's atleast that difference (seperate mechanism for evaluation) in it even with Windows updates. There is a an evaluation mechanism in WinXP, that kicks in if you enter a pirated serial key. Still seems much different the way it works though.

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by abfan123 » Tue Nov 24, 2009 8:52 pm

The only minor problem I've came across so far is that I'm unable to configure desktop gadgets.
For example I can't select currencies in the currency converter gadget, Can't select location in the weather gadget etc.
When I'm selecting something, Nothing seems to happen and it's just staying at the default choice.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by statm1 » Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:56 am

Well, Im glad I dont have that problem..lol My gadgets work fine.
Image
-- Matt --

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by abfan123 » Fri Nov 27, 2009 12:24 pm

For example the currencies gadget, Are you able to select anything other than Dollars/Euros?
Do you have x64 or x86 edition?
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: Windows 7

Post by AXEMAN » Sat Nov 28, 2009 8:04 pm

Hello all i was wondering if still useing windows xp pro what is the point of upgrading to IE8 from IE7??. I am having a new puter being custum built as i post it will have windows 7 and IE 8 as of the moment i donot use IE period infact i dissabled it and avant still works fine. Just currious. :) :wave:

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by abfan123 » Sat Nov 28, 2009 9:28 pm

The Trident Engine in IE8 is better than in IE7.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by addonsfan » Sun Nov 29, 2009 2:08 am

Also, Avant Browser will inherit must bug fixes and core changes to the engine.

As for the currency thing, I actually have gadgets completely disabled, but iirc I could change currencies but they were never saved. It would revert back to the default currency.

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by statm1 » Sun Nov 29, 2009 3:01 am

Axeman, just because your using a outdated operating system, XP, doesn't mean you have to stick with an outdated browser as well, by all means upgrade to IE8. Everytime IE8 gets installed over IE6 an angel gets their wings. You save the sanity of one web developer for every copy of IE8 that gets installed.
Image
-- Matt --

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: Windows 7

Post by AXEMAN » Sun Nov 29, 2009 9:15 pm

statm1 wrote:Axeman, just because your using a outdated operating system, XP, doesn't mean you have to stick with an outdated browser as well, by all means upgrade to IE8. Everytime IE8 gets installed over IE6 an angel gets their wings. You save the sanity of one web developer for every copy of IE8 that gets installed.
Statm1 i am not saying that i would not i have IE7 now and as you read i am having a new puter custum built right now i will have windows 7 and IE8 very soon this puter i am useing at this time is barley working i don't want to add new stuff to this puter. As it is i have to get what i need from this puter to my new puter i hope this puter lasts that long it is very damaged from my sat dish got hit by lightning everything with a phone connected to was pretty much fried i was just currious as i said. :)

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by statm1 » Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:20 pm

Well I was just emphasising that you don't need to stick with old versions of IE just because your on an old operating system.. And I was also trying to be funny..
Image
-- Matt --

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by addonsfan » Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:41 pm

statm1 wrote:And I was also trying to be funny..
How could you have been trying to be funny, when you were so factually honest? :lol:

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by statm1 » Thu Dec 03, 2009 2:47 am

You know you have a point.. lol
Image
-- Matt --

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: Windows 7

Post by AXEMAN » Sat Dec 05, 2009 8:53 pm

statm1 wrote:Well I was just emphasising that you don't need to stick with old versions of IE just because your on an old operating system.. And I was also trying to be funny..
So addonsfan & statm1 you guys are ganging up on me.First statm1 said he was also trying to be funny.Then addonsfan says there was no joke. So i am very sensative and very fragil person. lol lol Now that is funny. lol lol :lol: :lol:

aymenbnr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 10:41 am
Windows Version: xp
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 6

Re: Windows 7

Post by aymenbnr » Wed Jan 27, 2010 10:51 am

it is far better that vista,i like it alot

Post Reply