Windows 7

Discuss whatever you like here! ( ...that's not spam!)

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by addonsfan » Thu Sep 24, 2009 9:07 pm

Stupid question... If I get the upgrade version and decide to one day format my computer, wouldn't that mean that I'm going to need to install Vista first? Or does the validation system take care of that?

Sorry to treat you guys like MS support, but I've always wondered that.

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by André » Thu Sep 24, 2009 9:56 pm

You will have to install Vista or XP full version first, then you can do a clean install to Win 7 but yes, you need Vista or XP installed and validated first.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by addonsfan » Fri Sep 25, 2009 12:48 am

Not sure if I was very clear, I would need to install Vista/XP first each and every time I decided to format?

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by André » Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:11 am

Every time you use the upgrade edition of Windows 7 (or Vista), you need a preinstalled and validated version of 2000, XP, or Vista for Win 7, 2000 or XP for Win Vista. Every single time.

Edit: You can't upgrade from Windows 2000. You must purchase a full version of Windows 7.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by addonsfan » Sat Sep 26, 2009 9:45 am

Thanks for the clarification. Seems to me like the full version would be a better investment with that in mind.

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by André » Sun Sep 27, 2009 6:13 pm

To clarify my previous statement, you can upgrade in-place (keep your files and settings) from Vista to a Windows 7 version equal to that of Vista or higher (i.e. Vista Home Premium to 7 Home Premium, or Vista Business to 7 Professional, or Vista Business to 7 Ultimate). From XP or downgrading (i.e. from Vista Ultimate to 7 Professional) you must do a clean install.

Refer to this chart for more information.
windows-upgrade-chart-eb-remake-final3.png

Also, you can't upgrade from Windows 2000. You must purchase a full version of Windows 7.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: Windows 7

Post by AXEMAN » Mon Sep 28, 2009 9:14 pm

AXEMAN wrote:Hello everyone re win 7. It is said to be available October 22, 2009. So my question is does anyone know what the price is for 1 copy???.Also i
am going to buy a laptop i wonder if after this date October 22, 2009. would a portion already with say windows 7 basic???. Or should i just buy the latop and buy my copy of win 7???. I would prefer to buy a laptop clean nothing on it at all i hate this acer and other brands??. Like my pc that i had built from the box up i picked everything that is in it and i didnot need acer and those things like acer .I only needed my xp pro disk so if i had to format or an :) ything the xp pro was all i needed to run it no other diskes or driver"s???. :)
I would like a answer to my laptop. The one i want to buy is there anyway to buy one that has not anything on it and just use windows 7 witch i will buy at that time????. See this desktop was one of those $599 pieces of crap that you need acer drivers and so on i hate it. The one i had made is like ten years old and would need repair. :)

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by André » Tue Sep 29, 2009 2:52 am

On October 22nd, OEMs (Dell, HP, Acer, Lenovo, etc.) are allowed to sell PCs with Windows 7 on it. Most of them includes all kinds of, for lack of a better term, useless crap. I'm not sure if there's is a way to get a PC without this, though.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

darth
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 970
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: Avant 11_0 Build 46
Default engine: trident
IE Version: 10
Skin: default

Re: Windows 7

Post by darth » Mon Nov 02, 2009 6:35 pm

Support firm Rescuecom recommends delaying updating to Windows 7 due to poblems such as endless reboots among other things.

They recomend waiting until the "dust settles". See article http://www.computerworld.com/s/article/ ... firm_warns
Dell Precision 360 Work Staton XP 32/64 bits

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by abfan123 » Mon Nov 02, 2009 7:00 pm

Endless reboots?
I've been using Windows 7 for quite a while now & never seen such problem.
Could it be that the endless reboots are caused by incompatible device drivers?
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

darth
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 970
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: Avant 11_0 Build 46
Default engine: trident
IE Version: 10
Skin: default

Re: Windows 7

Post by darth » Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:33 pm

That was my first thought also.

At any rate; I understand Mircosoft has not solved the problem to be applicable to all users.
Dell Precision 360 Work Staton XP 32/64 bits

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by statm1 » Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:18 pm

It seems like the only time I ever hear about a computerworld article is because they had their latest Microsoft bashing article... Coming from someone who installed Win7 probably 20 times in the last year and 4 of them being the final build, I would have to agree with abfan I haven't seen that problem and you should not take that article as what will definitely happen if you try Win7. Like I said back during the early Vista days. Install it first instead of taking someone elses opinion as gospel.
Image
-- Matt --

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by André » Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:31 pm

The endless reboot only happens for upgrades which I recommend against because it can only cause problems. Your best and safest bet is to backup any critical files to a DVD, flash drive, or external hard drive and clean install Windows 7.

The second thing the site goes into is potentially losing information. That's the case for every OS upgrade from Linux to Unix to OS X to Windows to BSD. There is always a chance that something will go wrong, the power will suddenly and unexpectedly go out leaving the system is some never-never land between upgrades. These are all things that you just have to accept and they will not get better with time. This has always been the case since the first computers. Waiting isn't going to help you.

The third thing the site goes into is price. That's simple. If you don't have the money, don't upgrade. It's not like Microsoft is going to come knocking down your door demanding that you upgrade, however, it's not going to get that much cheaper with time.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

rojertwose
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 10:26 am
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: SFSDFSDF
IE Version: SFSD

Re: Windows 7

Post by rojertwose » Wed Nov 11, 2009 12:21 pm

Hello Everyone,

I have installed Windows 7 before 15 days and it's just amazing.Here I am sharing some experience of Windows 7.

Strengths:
So far it seems to be doing the business with the same speed as XP. Intuitive interface and navigation, uncluttered and easy to follow instructions and very nice to look at too!

Weaknesses:
Not found any yet.

Overall Evaluation:
So far so good, maybe the next worthy evolution of XP?
acai berry

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: Windows 7

Post by AXEMAN » Wed Nov 11, 2009 7:50 pm

André wrote:The endless reboot only happens for upgrades which I recommend against because it can only cause problems. Your best and safest bet is to backup any critical files to a DVD, flash drive, or external hard drive and clean install Windows 7.

The second thing the site goes into is potentially losing information. That's the case for every OS upgrade from Linux to Unix to OS X to Windows to BSD. There is always a chance that something will go wrong, the power will suddenly and unexpectedly go out leaving the system is some never-never land between upgrades. These are all things that you just have to accept and they will not get better with time. This has always been the case since the first computers. Waiting isn't going to help you.

The third thing the site goes into is price. That's simple. If you don't have the money, don't upgrade. It's not like Microsoft is going to come knocking down your door demanding that you upgrade, however, it's not going to get that much cheaper with time.
AXE I would save your stuff what ever it be to a cd disk or blank dvd disk. As for me i will save my entire puter to a 500 gig external. Then when i change the os and it is perfect i again will put it all on the 500 gig external hard drive .So if i want i can use the desktop puter if anything goes wrong i can plug my external in and run everything from it. :thumbup: :)

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by abfan123 » Thu Nov 12, 2009 9:13 pm

Ok, I've finally bought a new SATA2 HDD and installed Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Final on this PC.
Seems to work great so far and it seems like The final version is a little bit different from the RTM version.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by André » Thu Nov 12, 2009 11:22 pm

RTM is the exact same as the version on the disk.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by abfan123 » Thu Nov 12, 2009 11:46 pm

I'm not sure why, But it seems like there are some minor differences. For example I'm currently using the WPN111 adapter which is officially not "Win7 compatible" but the Vista's driver worked pretty well on RTM, But it seems to work even better in the final version. I've had a few minor issues in the RTM but I'm not having such issues in final.
Also, The Media Center seems a little bit different.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: Windows 7

Post by AXEMAN » Mon Nov 16, 2009 11:39 pm

addonsfan wrote:Not sure if I was very clear, I would need to install Vista/XP first each and every time I decided to format?
Hello i called the computer store i deal with they said i could have the laptop or a desktop .Custom built with out acer or the like with just windows 7 or what ever OS i want . So i asked them would my home pc have to have install any others they said if i have windows xp pro if i buy windows 7 not upgraded but to buy windows 7 there won't be a problem. :) :wave:

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7

Post by statm1 » Sun Nov 22, 2009 6:10 pm

Abfan, RTM and Final are the same thing. They have although had several updates for Windows 7 though through Windows update one or two being reliability and performance updates as well as bug or security fixes.
Image
-- Matt --

Post Reply