Windows 7 beta

Discuss whatever you like here! ( ...that's not spam!)

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by MysteryFCM » Fri Jan 16, 2009 1:15 am

There's a grace period (same as Vista) that allows you to use it without the product key. Once the grace period is over (I believe it's 30 days or some such), you MUST enter the product key to continue using it.

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by André » Fri Jan 16, 2009 1:24 am

Hey Steve, what's your thoughts on Win7 since I know you "wouldn't touch Vista with a 10,000 foot pole" (or something along those lines).
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by MysteryFCM » Fri Jan 16, 2009 1:29 am

hehe I don't have a machine capable of running 7, so haven't seen it myself :( (though from what I've read and from a couple friends experiences, it's a little buggy (though not unexpected since it's a beta), but otherwise a major improvement over Vista)

vtel57
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 3665
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 10:35 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by vtel57 » Fri Jan 16, 2009 3:28 am

It's actually an alpha. Microsoft products are betas when they're released to the guinea pigs... er, I mean the public. ;)
Image

V. T. Eric Layton
***Tempus Fugits***

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by André » Fri Jan 16, 2009 3:37 am

Look you...
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by abfan123 » Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:16 am

vtel57 wrote:It's actually an alpha. Microsoft products are betas when they're released to the guinea pigs... er, I mean the public. ;)
Wait.... Linux is even worse. Their so called "final releases" are in fact pre-alpha.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

vtel57
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 3665
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 10:35 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by vtel57 » Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:22 am

Just being humorous here, folks. No need to get nasty now.
Image

V. T. Eric Layton
***Tempus Fugits***

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by abfan123 » Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:26 am

Sorry, I really don't want to start a flame war or anything like this. I've also tried to make some fun here.... :oops:
Sorry if it was too harsh....
In fact, There's no perfect OS. Each OS has it's problems....
I've used both Windows and Linux for various purposes, And had pretty equal amount of problems with both. But (imo) Windows is at least a little more "pleasing" to use.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by abfan123 » Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:41 am

Oh, And forgot to mention that I've not tried MACs yet.
But their price tags are preventing me from buying it. A below-the-average MAC costs more than a high-end PC.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by jis » Fri Jan 16, 2009 12:01 pm

MysteryFCM wrote:hehe I don't have a machine capable of running 7, so haven't seen it myself :(
On Friday I installed Windows 7 Build 7000 32bit version (from downloaded iso) in other partition on my small testing machine - netbook Asus N10J without any problems (it took about half an hour) and it runs just as fine as Windows XP. I was very surprised by W7 in a very positive way. My Asus has processor Atom 1.6GHz and 2GB RAM. My primary OS on this machine is WVHP SP1 and again, I have no problems with Vista. For example W7 boots up in 40 seconds and WVHP in 66 seconds (I didn't make any optimization of system services so far in both systems, because I am just in playing and learning phase now, my primary production OS is WXP SP3).
Avant user since the year 2003.

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by MysteryFCM » Fri Jan 16, 2009 12:40 pm

None of my machines have more than 512MB Ram (and even then, those with 512MB, are running as servers), let alone 2GB ;)

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by abfan123 » Fri Jan 16, 2009 2:30 pm

Why don't you just buy a little more RAM?
RAM is so cheap nowadays.... (Just about $30 include shipping for 4GB DDR2 800MHZ Low-density RAM)
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by jis » Fri Jan 16, 2009 2:33 pm

MysteryFCM wrote:None of my machines have more than 512MB Ram (and even then, those with 512MB, are running as servers), let alone 2GB ;)
Oh, I see. I noticed, that W7 eats 512MB of physical memory just to own run on my system.
On the other side price of memory modules is so low today (even for notebooks) that I am ashamed to pay so little :wink:.
Avant user since the year 2003.

User avatar
Noyb
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 6:48 pm
Windows Version: XP Home, Pro - up to date
Avant Version: 11.7 B23
IE Version: I.E. 7
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by Noyb » Fri Jan 16, 2009 3:39 pm

abfan123 wrote:Oh, And forgot to mention that I've not tried MACs yet.
But their price tags are preventing me from buying it. A below-the-average MAC costs more than a high-end PC.
Macs are pretty nice. About five years ago, my mom had a PowerPC Mac with OS 9 (from 1999). Being an old computer, it ran pretty slow, but the OS was pretty neat. One advantage Macs have over Windows is that you don't have to go through an uninstaller if you want to remove a program. You just drag and drop the file folder into the Trash. The problems are the top taskbar was always showing, resulting in it being "burned" into the monitor permanently, and also, when the CD-Rom drive broke, we went on a wild goose chase looking for a new one. And, like you said, they're expensive. 'Course, it's been several years...they might have fixed some of these problems by now.
Intel Pentium M 1.73 GHz processor, Intel Pentium 4 Duo-core 3 GHz
1 GB RAM
Windows XP Home, Pro - Service Pack 3
Avant Browser 11.7 Build 23
Internet Explorer 7
AVG Antivirus Free Edition 8.0
Windows Firewall

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by André » Fri Jan 16, 2009 4:28 pm

Mystery lives in the UK and prices for computer items are much more expensive over there but the prices still shouldn't be too bad.

I couldn't even imagine a system with 512 MB of RAM. I currently have 8 GBs.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by abfan123 » Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:34 pm

DrDrrae wrote:Mystery lives in the UK and prices for computer items are much more expensive over there but the prices still shouldn't be too bad.

I couldn't even imagine a system with 512 MB of RAM. I currently have 8 GBs.
I'm actually talking about eBay, They have worldwide shipping including the UK.
Some sellers from Taiwan are offering really great deals (I don't want to advertise the seller's name here because it'd be considered as spam, But just as an example: I've recently bought from them 2GB MicroSD card with MiniSD & SD adapters for as low as $5 include shipping & 2 2GB DDR2 800MHZ low density modules (4GB total) with heat sinks for as low as $33 include shipping, Which is really cheap imo.)
Unfortunately, I'm unable to order more than 4GB for my main PC because the mainboard has only 2 memory slots. I'd order otherwise, But 4GB is quite enough for me now.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

vtel57
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 3665
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 10:35 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by vtel57 » Sat Jan 17, 2009 2:09 am

You're correct, abfan123. There are no perfect operating systems at this time. It's a subjective choice. One most choose and use the operating system that they find most useful to them for whatever purposes.

I'm not "anti-Windows". I just joke about it. I don't use that operating system anymore, that's true. However, I did make extensive use of it (Win 3.1, 98SE, XP Pro) in the past. I learned a lot about computers, the Internet, and related topics while using Windows over the years. I don't have any complaints. It just doesn't serve my purposes any longer.

Regards,
Image

V. T. Eric Layton
***Tempus Fugits***

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by AXEMAN » Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:57 pm

abfan123 wrote:Sorry, I really don't want to start a flame war or anything like this. I've also tried to make some fun here.... :oops:
Sorry if it was too harsh....
In fact, There's no perfect OS. Each OS has it's problems....
I've used both Windows and Linux for various purposes, And had pretty equal amount of problems with both. But (imo) Windows is at least a little more "pleasing" to use.
abfan123 i thought that you were just haveing fun i understood that right after readin all the posts in this thread. :)

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by addonsfan » Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:25 pm

abfan123 wrote:Why don't you just buy a little more RAM?
RAM is so cheap nowadays.... (Just about $30 include shipping for 4GB DDR2 800MHZ Low-density RAM)
You would think that would have an influence on 64-bit development, since 64-bit virtually allows an infinate amount of ram. (instead of the 4gb cap)

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 beta

Post by abfan123 » Fri Jan 23, 2009 1:09 am

addonsfan wrote:
abfan123 wrote:Why don't you just buy a little more RAM?
RAM is so cheap nowadays.... (Just about $30 include shipping for 4GB DDR2 800MHZ Low-density RAM)
You would think that would have an influence on 64-bit development, since 64-bit virtually allows an infinate amount of ram. (instead of the 4gb cap)
32bit allow a little more than 3GB.
It's all about hardware's limit and JEDEC standards.
I'm using a 64bit OS, But my mainboard has just 2 memory slots.
Technically, It's possible to make a 2GB module by 256*8 chips, But it's not following the JEDEC standards, So it won't work with my mainboard. JEDEC standards are 128*16. So the maximum I can get is 4GB, Even though the OS supports much more.
But I've noticed that most mainboard manufacturers are supporting high-density 1GB memory modules (128*8 instead of the 64*16), Which is not follwoing the JEDEC standards. So maybe they'll support high-density modules soon.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

Post Reply