Television Licence.

Discuss whatever you like here! ( ...that's not spam!)

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
ReleaseRoderick
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 1:38 pm
Windows Version: WinXP Pro
Avant Version: AV11.7build46forever
IE Version: IE.8
Location: 4000 holes in Blackburn,Lancashire

Television Licence.

Post by ReleaseRoderick » Sun Sep 28, 2008 12:41 pm

Really a post for the forum members residing in the United Kingdom.
Have you received one of those beautifully worded threatening letters from the television licence authority informing you to the fact that if you have 4 walls and a 13amp plug you are guilty of licence evaision.
In my case "Mr Smith" representing the enforcement office caved in upon facing the magistrates in court thus wasteing court time and my own.

If you feel so inclined, discuss...
Love,Light and Peace
ian

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Television Licence.

Post by addonsfan » Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:05 pm

I don't understand what this is about. What was the claim?

darth
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 970
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: Avant 11_0 Build 46
Default engine: trident
IE Version: 10
Skin: default

Re: Television Licence.

Post by darth » Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:06 am

Are you saying "Mr Smith" is also an electrical inspector for the local goverment?
Dell Precision 360 Work Staton XP 32/64 bits

User avatar
ReleaseRoderick
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 1:38 pm
Windows Version: WinXP Pro
Avant Version: AV11.7build46forever
IE Version: IE.8
Location: 4000 holes in Blackburn,Lancashire

Re: Television Licence.

Post by ReleaseRoderick » Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:05 pm

There isn`t any claim. When(ln England)you find yourself answering to the magistrate`s court it is common practice for the official person giving evidence against you to be called Smith, the most common name in the United Kingdom. The court will never reveal his true name. I am obliged to reveal mine. The communist ethic is alive and flourishing, financing the British Broadcasting Co.
The wording of the 5 or 6 letters that every household receives about television licence`s each year in the UK is very serious, designed to frighten and cajoule you into spending over £100 for a television licence simply because you live within 4 walls and you have an electricity supply. I do not have a television, yet i am constantly receiving these vile letters accusing me of committing an offence and threatening dire consequences. Simply having a monitor with this keyboard seems to be enough to put me in a court of law. The fact that my computer cannot receive a television signal does`nt matter. There is a British Telecom socket on the floor and even though no television signal is available to me i appear to be in jepody. Dare i watch You Tube, I wonder.
Guilty until proven innocent. I am one of the few people to have beaten this rap.
Does this situation excist in the USA?
Love,Light and Peace
ian

ABman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8

Re: Television Licence.

Post by ABman » Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:13 pm

You have my sympathy but if the government didn't do this sort of thing just think of how many more people would try to evade paying the licence; then the licence would have to go up for everyone else!

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Television Licence.

Post by abfan123 » Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:26 pm

(I'm not a resident of the US or UK)
In fact, I can't seem to understand the purpose of the so-called "TV tax"...
Like, I'm paying my satellite TV provider each month for channels. Ok, I do understand that I'm able to receive a few government channels without any provider and I should pay for this, But I already pay for all the channels I receive to my satellite TV provider. So why do I have to pay the government for those channels?!
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
ReleaseRoderick
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 1:38 pm
Windows Version: WinXP Pro
Avant Version: AV11.7build46forever
IE Version: IE.8
Location: 4000 holes in Blackburn,Lancashire

Re: Television Licence.

Post by ReleaseRoderick » Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:28 pm

I agree ABman that there has to be inforcement. There was a time when i thought not taxing my car or not buying a television licence was clever. I do not own a car now but i don`t get threatening letters from DVLA Swansea many times each year. I don`t own a television and i would happily reply to one letter of enquiry if it was worded in a decent manner. Im sure we have both seen the `Legal, Decent, Honest and Truthfull`adverts.
Love,Light and Peace
ian

User avatar
ReleaseRoderick
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 1:38 pm
Windows Version: WinXP Pro
Avant Version: AV11.7build46forever
IE Version: IE.8
Location: 4000 holes in Blackburn,Lancashire

Re: Television Licence.

Post by ReleaseRoderick » Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:32 pm

Hello Abfan123, I hav`nt had Satellite and i don`t know the law on this. Its my guess that i would need a licence though, even if the installation did`nt receive domestic British TV.
Love,Light and Peace
ian

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Television Licence.

Post by addonsfan » Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:16 pm

Nothing like this exists in the US. there is a standard TV that is always free, and then there's satellite/cable that is *sometimes free*, if you know the right people. ;)
I didn't even know such a thing existed in the world, that you had to have a license to watch TV. To me, TV is a valuable tool to get information. So... do they require a license to go to school aswell?

ABman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8

Re: Television Licence.

Post by ABman » Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:18 pm

ReleaseRoderick, that's right; if you have equipment that is capable of receiving BBC signals then you have to have a licence (or something like that anyway!)
abfan123, the licence is to fund the publicly owned BBC, who don't have adverts.
Last edited by ABman on Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: Television Licence.

Post by AXEMAN » Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:23 pm

Television Licence. I have never heard of that i never paid for a Television Licence. Thats just nuts if you were paying for cable or in my case a sat provider i pay them monthly.However you know that if there is a way to tax something i believe they will. I REMEMBER WHEN A PACK OF SMOKES WAS 50 CENTS AND A CASE OF BEER WAS 8 BUCKS AND 99 CENTS opps sorry guys my cap button sticks and look at what the cost now most of it is tax. :)

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Television Licence.

Post by addonsfan » Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:36 pm

I get BBC on my cable connection... :twisted:

ABman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8

Re: Television Licence.

Post by ABman » Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:44 pm

addonsfan wrote:I get BBC on my cable connection... :twisted:
You can send me the £139.50 and I'll pass it on to the BBC. ;-)
http://www.bbc.co.uk/info/licencefee/

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Television Licence.

Post by abfan123 » Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:21 pm

ABman wrote:
addonsfan wrote:I get BBC on my cable connection... :twisted:
You can send me the £139.50 and I'll pass it on to the BBC. ;-)
http://www.bbc.co.uk/info/licencefee/
Well, You should say this to the Online-TV software authors, Not the users....
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Television Licence.

Post by addonsfan » Tue Sep 30, 2008 7:01 am

well, just for the record, my cable connection is 100% legal. and I don't have to pay any extra for BBC. I guess it's because Britain can't tax the US anymore...

ABman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8

Re: Television Licence.

Post by ABman » Tue Sep 30, 2008 9:49 am

addonsfan wrote:well, just for the record, my cable connection is 100% legal. and I don't have to pay any extra for BBC. I guess it's because Britain can't tax the US anymore...
I was joking!

User avatar
ReleaseRoderick
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 1:38 pm
Windows Version: WinXP Pro
Avant Version: AV11.7build46forever
IE Version: IE.8
Location: 4000 holes in Blackburn,Lancashire

Re: Television Licence.

Post by ReleaseRoderick » Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:26 pm

It used to be a licence for Radio as well. But now its just for TV.
I`m still wondering if i am supposed to have one for You Tube.....or AmateurAllure!

I don`t think we need a dog licence any more, that was scrapped some years ago unless i`m mistaken.
Love,Light and Peace
ian

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Television Licence.

Post by addonsfan » Wed Oct 01, 2008 3:23 am

But Britain is notorious for things like that... California is getting that way. Cops are going ridiculous cracking down on everything. I would be surprised if a cop would let you slide with having your fly down. The man needs more money, so he taxes the crap out of you and issues a fine when ever possible.

User avatar
angeldust
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2295
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2003 11:45 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2010 Bld 127
IE Version: 8
Location: T.O. Canada
Contact:

Re: Television Licence.

Post by angeldust » Wed Oct 01, 2008 8:36 pm

Don't they still have the telly trucks that go about looking for a signal?
I think it is mainly North America that allows free tv, I know that a few other countries have tv taxes also.
To be Truly Loved is to Live, I HAVE Lived. Image

User avatar
ReleaseRoderick
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 1:38 pm
Windows Version: WinXP Pro
Avant Version: AV11.7build46forever
IE Version: IE.8
Location: 4000 holes in Blackburn,Lancashire

Re: Television Licence.

Post by ReleaseRoderick » Wed Oct 01, 2008 10:39 pm

I`m not sure, angeldust, but my guess is that now its most likely a small hand-held device.
I agree that the BBC should be funded from a licence and that some of it is for BBC radio
(the BBC World Service is funded by the Foreign and Commonwealth office)but its the fact that you are considered guilty if you don`t have licence even if you don`t have a TV in the first place. Also, i think that the block(7 bed-sit rooms)landlord has a licence for the whole building yet we have had 3x7 letters making 21 in 2 months!
We are expecting the Spanish Inquisition by tommorow mornings mail.
Love,Light and Peace
ian

Post Reply