i realy need help again.....

Discuss whatever you like here! ( ...that's not spam!)

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
avalanche82
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 9:16 pm
Windows Version: windows xp
Avant Version: 11.5
IE Version: 6

i realy need help again.....

Post by avalanche82 » Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:05 pm

this has nothing to do with advant browser but i realy need help: everytime i open my comp this black screen apears and say:(enter CURRENT password) my lil bro screwed my computer up so now the black screen apears and i need a password to get to the statrup for windows xp hoem edition please hlep how do i take off the pass with out knowing it?! :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

User avatar
Noyb
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 6:48 pm
Windows Version: XP Home, Pro - up to date
Avant Version: 11.7 B23
IE Version: I.E. 7
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: i realy need help again.....

Post by Noyb » Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:26 pm

Did your computer have a password on it before?
Intel Pentium M 1.73 GHz processor, Intel Pentium 4 Duo-core 3 GHz
1 GB RAM
Windows XP Home, Pro - Service Pack 3
Avant Browser 11.7 Build 23
Internet Explorer 7
AVG Antivirus Free Edition 8.0
Windows Firewall

avalanche82
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 9:16 pm
Windows Version: windows xp
Avant Version: 11.5
IE Version: 6

Re: i realy need help again.....

Post by avalanche82 » Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:30 pm

no it didn't since my bro was on it now it has a black screen pass word but before my windows start up! :shock: :shock: :shock:
Last edited by bigC on Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved to General Discussion

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: i realy need help again.....

Post by abfan123 » Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:02 pm

Hello,
Are you talking about the BIOS password? (Right when you start your PC?)
I'm afraid that it'd be quite hard to recover.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: i realy need help again.....

Post by André » Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:16 pm

As abfan said, it is probably the bios password. Try opening the computer case and looking for a battery on the motherboard and remove it for a couple of minutes. This should reset the bios and thus, reset the password. If the motherboard doesn't have a battery, there may be two pins that you can short which will do the same thing. You may want to search Google for resetting the bios for your particular make and model of computer.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: i realy need help again.....

Post by addonsfan » Mon Feb 25, 2008 9:24 am

it could be a BIOs password, but they usually don't lock you out of Windows all together. if it's a password on the HDD, that is a little harder to set on accident. however if one tries to guess the password of a Windows XP login too many times, you can be locked out of your computer via HDD password. this depends on your settings/manufacturer though.
the best thing to do in that case is to contact your computer's manufacturer, and request the master password. there is always a master password for these cases.
I've come accross 2 laptops which this has happened to. they usually require you to transfer the ownership into your name, which is usually as easy as registering and copying a few serials.
does it say anywhere on your computer what type of password it is? if not, I am certain it is a HDD password. I could be wrong though.

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: i realy need help again.....

Post by MysteryFCM » Tue Feb 26, 2008 11:27 am

addonsfan,
Alas, indeed you are ...... as has been mentioned, this is the BIOS password thats being seen (and yes, BIOS passwords do lock you out of Windows ..... since they prevent the machine loading without it).

avalanche82
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 9:16 pm
Windows Version: windows xp
Avant Version: 11.5
IE Version: 6

Re: i realy need help again.....

Post by avalanche82 » Wed Feb 27, 2008 1:05 am

thank you all that said BOIS password and taking out the battery it worked perfectly now i can finally fixed it after 2 years :D :D :D :D

avalanche82
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 9:16 pm
Windows Version: windows xp
Avant Version: 11.5
IE Version: 6

Re: i realy need help again.....

Post by avalanche82 » Wed Feb 27, 2008 1:06 am

thank you DrDrrae!!!

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: i realy need help again.....

Post by André » Wed Feb 27, 2008 2:38 am

You're welcome.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: i realy need help again.....

Post by addonsfan » Wed Feb 27, 2008 3:35 am

it's ok, you can say I'm wrong. :roll:
I just suggested it as a last resort incase the battery trick didn't work.
I've really only seen about 3 out of quite a bit where the BIOs could actually lock you out of your PC, other than the BIOs settings itself. idk though, good call.

Post Reply