I need help learning about RSS feeds

Discuss whatever you like here! ( ...that's not spam!)

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Vaudeville
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Avant Version:

I need help learning about RSS feeds

Post by Vaudeville » Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:39 pm

I'm new to RSS feeds and would like to see how they work. I found a website that has three links to different RSS feeds. I clicked on them and they showed me the RSS feed. I could simply bookmark the page, but I think I would be missing the point???

So what do I do here? I went into Tools/Avant Browser Options/RSS, and I checkmarked all three boxes there. So now what? I don't see any reference material to RSS in the Help files, so I'm stymied here.

I went to Wikipedia and found RSS listed here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rss#RSS_1.0
They say I need an RSS reader in order to read RSS data. I'm assuming Avant is an RSS reader?

So anyways, can someone explain to me what RSS is supposed to be and how I can get it to work? I found some RSS feeds on the internet, I just want to get them to "work", whatever that means. I assume it means something different than simply bookmarking the page.

Vaudeville

hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers

Re: I need help learning about RSS feeds

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri Feb 01, 2008 1:13 pm

I think it's easier to understand if you think of something like this forum... but instead of covering "assistance" issues, think of a forum that covers general interest topics.