Page 1 of 1

Bug: everything between upper and lower toolbars turns black

Posted: Mon May 24, 2010 8:57 am
by DerSpike
I sometimes encounter this bug: wehn I navigate to a site, AB freezes for a few seconds, then the area between the two toolbars becomes black and this status lasts for about 20 seconds. in this time I cannot do anything in AB. I can minimize it, BUT the black area is still visible.
See my attached pic. in this case, I minimized AB, and outlook comes in front, BUT with this black area. sometimes AB comes to life after this ca. 20 seconds, but sometimes i have to kill it.
I have had this in various releases of AB
I am using Windows 7, IE 8, Roboform-plugin.

Re: Bug: everything between upper and lower toolbars turns b

Posted: Mon May 24, 2010 9:13 am
by kudos
Is that with specific sites? (BTW that screenshot does not look like Avant)

Re: Bug: everything between upper and lower toolbars turns b

Posted: Mon May 24, 2010 9:59 am
by DerSpike
no, not with specific sites
and yes, this is avant browser, but minimized, what you see is a little bit of outlook.
i wanted to demonstrate what happens, if you minimize AB-> the black area persists.
the black area corresponds to the content of the site.
see attachment.

Re: Bug: everything between upper and lower toolbars turns b

Posted: Mon May 24, 2010 10:13 am
by kudos
Does it still happen if you disable RoboForm?

Re: Bug: everything between upper and lower toolbars turns b

Posted: Mon May 24, 2010 10:51 am
by DerSpike
hard to say, because I have roboform always enabled.
this bug happens about 1-3 times per day.
on my old notebook (intel core 2 duo 2,0 ghz) the time that area was black was noticeable longer than on my new one (intel core i7) quadcore). that's why i think something is going on to be computed in that time, but I don't know.

Re: Bug: everything between upper and lower toolbars turns b

Posted: Mon May 24, 2010 11:02 am
by kudos
As you know, IE addons can easily be disabled within Avant. I'm just asking that you disable it for a little while so that we can determine if that is the cause of the problem. It could be that both systems are running a different version of RoboForm and/or Avant so the combination (assuming that is the issue) needs to be discovered.

BTW, we are talking about Avant 11.7? Your profile states Avant v11.8 but which version shows the problem?

Re: Bug: everything between upper and lower toolbars turns b

Posted: Mon May 24, 2010 1:03 pm
by DerSpike
every version of AB showed this problem, since I use AB. I am using vista, windows 7 and 3 different laptops.
maybe it could be related to very slow internet connection (56k analog telephone modem), which i use sometimes. maybe some site-content is loaded to slow, and so AB freezes?