Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

User avatar
Steves.Place
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:42 pm
Windows Version: XPHome-SP3-dpi-150%-1280x1024
Avant Version: Current V11.7: B-46
IE Version: IE8-Occasional Use.
Location: Ok . . . Canada. The best free nation on the planet.
Contact:

Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by Steves.Place » Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:07 am

I noticed a few versions back that the vertical scroll bar width changed and got very narrow compared to its previous setting. It has stayed this narrow ever since.

I have that set in my display features to a rather wider than usual, because of aging eyesight. I find it hard to actually find with the pointer now and was wondering if that can be set so as to allow us the user to set that width, either in Avant itself or back in the display features. Compare it to Orca or Firefox and you will see what I mean, unless it is just me for some reason?

All the other browsers I use, Orca, IE, Opera and Firefox all have it set as wide as it always was or set to correspond with display settings.
Thanks.
"I think I think therefore, I think I am; I think?"
Image \(Image)¿(-)/ MS Vista = Image
Altogether now, everyone do the MS Vista headbang!
(S)
teadily (T)wisting (E)very (V)ariable (E)ncountered☻

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by Sara » Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:30 am

Actually, I've noticed the whole browser frame is a bit too narrow (maybe 1/8'). I keep stretching it out, but it's a bit annoying. Maybe it's the skinny scroll bar? The gap is on the right.
Image

User avatar
Steves.Place
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:42 pm
Windows Version: XPHome-SP3-dpi-150%-1280x1024
Avant Version: Current V11.7: B-46
IE Version: IE8-Occasional Use.
Location: Ok . . . Canada. The best free nation on the planet.
Contact:

Re: Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by Steves.Place » Thu Feb 25, 2010 7:04 am

Yes, actually now that you mention it, I noticed that as well. Every time I load the Avant Browser I have to stretch it to the right just about the same size/distance as the difference between the size of the scroll bar now, and the size it used to be. About 1/8 - 1/4 inch.

Hum, I never connected the two until you mentioned it.
I hope our descriptions are enough to allow a fix for that? Thanks for connecting that.
"I think I think therefore, I think I am; I think?"
Image \(Image)¿(-)/ MS Vista = Image
Altogether now, everyone do the MS Vista headbang!
(S)
teadily (T)wisting (E)very (V)ariable (E)ncountered☻

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by kudos » Thu Feb 25, 2010 9:52 am

Can you confirm if an earlier build from the archive works correctly.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
Steves.Place
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:42 pm
Windows Version: XPHome-SP3-dpi-150%-1280x1024
Avant Version: Current V11.7: B-46
IE Version: IE8-Occasional Use.
Location: Ok . . . Canada. The best free nation on the planet.
Contact:

Re: Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by Steves.Place » Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:10 am

Oh my, the oldest versions I managed to actually save were 11.7 B-26 and 11.7 B-41. As it turns out I just tried both yesterday to see if I still had a memory usage problem and they both did have the same narrow scroll bar and sightly off frame size as well. So I think you will have to go back even further than B-26.
Unfortunately, I do not save every upgrade and those were as far back as I have on file.

I guess in future I should save all upgrades instead of just opening and installing the new versions. Sorry.

But the scroll bar and frame size does seem to go back at least as far as 11.7 B-26.
"I think I think therefore, I think I am; I think?"
Image \(Image)¿(-)/ MS Vista = Image
Altogether now, everyone do the MS Vista headbang!
(S)
teadily (T)wisting (E)very (V)ariable (E)ncountered☻

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by kudos » Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:17 am

I provided a link to the archive in my previous post, but it was subtle. Here it is in full: http://avant.it-mate.co.uk/?c=Download

I just want to ascertain whether the problem is with Avant or something else on your system that is interfering.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
Steves.Place
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:42 pm
Windows Version: XPHome-SP3-dpi-150%-1280x1024
Avant Version: Current V11.7: B-46
IE Version: IE8-Occasional Use.
Location: Ok . . . Canada. The best free nation on the planet.
Contact:

Re: Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by Steves.Place » Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:32 am

Yes, I just found that link to the archive and was editing my last post when I was informed I couldn't edit it any more. *Grins*
It's too late tonight for me to continue on this, but tomorrow I will look deeper than B-26, but I was sure the scroll bar narrowing was much more resent than B-26?

None of the other browsers have this scroll bar narrowing and I don't seem to be the only one who noticed this, so it being a problem on my end seems unlikely. But there is a conflict with my memory and the B-26 version and just how long ago I noticed this? It could be as long as 6 months though, as I never really gave it much concern until now. I'm too tired to worry about it tonight though. *grins*

I'll get back on the job tomorrow. :?
"I think I think therefore, I think I am; I think?"
Image \(Image)¿(-)/ MS Vista = Image
Altogether now, everyone do the MS Vista headbang!
(S)
teadily (T)wisting (E)very (V)ariable (E)ncountered☻

User avatar
Steves.Place
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:42 pm
Windows Version: XPHome-SP3-dpi-150%-1280x1024
Avant Version: Current V11.7: B-46
IE Version: IE8-Occasional Use.
Location: Ok . . . Canada. The best free nation on the planet.
Contact:

Re: Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by Steves.Place » Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:11 pm

Wow, Ok, I went all the way back to (ab7_0_5_2) version, I forgot how much Avant has changed over the years, but yes the original scroll bar width (wider) was present in that version.
That would seem to confirm that the problem is being in or having started in a later version.

I was thinking about how long ago I noticed this and just passed it off as not very important to the operation of Avant. I think it was only after I started using Orca that I began to notice this much more in comparison to Orca's scroll Bar width.

But the problem could have been there for well more than a year, I think, as I just didn't give it much thought until now.

I hope that helps as I am not looking forward to doing that again. *Grins* as I have to reestablish all the pages that got closed during that operation. *shutters* Fortunately Orca has all the same pages opened and I don't have to hunt them down.

Anyway, hope that helps figure this out.

EDIT.
I only just now took notice that the bottom (horizontal) scroll bar is also very narrow. the same size as the vertical one. In my case both are really too narrow for my eyesight.
- - -
"I think I think therefore, I think I am; I think?"
Image \(Image)¿(-)/ MS Vista = Image
Altogether now, everyone do the MS Vista headbang!
(S)
teadily (T)wisting (E)very (V)ariable (E)ncountered☻

User avatar
Steves.Place
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:42 pm
Windows Version: XPHome-SP3-dpi-150%-1280x1024
Avant Version: Current V11.7: B-46
IE Version: IE8-Occasional Use.
Location: Ok . . . Canada. The best free nation on the planet.
Contact:

Re: Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by Steves.Place » Fri Feb 26, 2010 11:29 pm

Additionally:
I have also noticed regarding 'Orca' that the same 1/8" gap in the frame on the right side, is present also in 'Orca' when I load it, although the scroll bars are wider like that of Firefox or other browsers. I'll try and include a screen shot before I manually widen the frame.
Attachments
Orca right side frame-1.jpg
Orca right side frame.jpg
Notice the gap on the right?
"I think I think therefore, I think I am; I think?"
Image \(Image)¿(-)/ MS Vista = Image
Altogether now, everyone do the MS Vista headbang!
(S)
teadily (T)wisting (E)very (V)ariable (E)ncountered☻

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by kudos » Sat Feb 27, 2010 12:25 am

I set my screen DPI to 150% and the screen fonts to very large, in order to approximate your system, then I tried both Avant and Orca - but I could not replicate the problem.

Do you have any skinning/blinds/themed software installed that changes windows installed?

Are any other programs affected?

Can you do a screenshot of the entire desktop next time please.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
Steves.Place
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:42 pm
Windows Version: XPHome-SP3-dpi-150%-1280x1024
Avant Version: Current V11.7: B-46
IE Version: IE8-Occasional Use.
Location: Ok . . . Canada. The best free nation on the planet.
Contact:

Re: Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by Steves.Place » Sat Feb 27, 2010 1:03 am

Do you have any skinning/blinds/themed software installed that changes windows installed? No nothing I am aware of.

Are any other programs affected? No other programs are affected in this way, only Avant and Orca browsers.

Can you do a screenshot of the entire desktop next time please. Yes I certainly will but note that I have manually corrected the previous gap on the right in orca, however I will load Avant and screen shot that as well, although they look identical except for the gap in Avant now.

The first is Orca full with full screen shot, open to this page.

The second is Avant with full screen shot.

ALSO NOTE: the difference in scroll bar width in each.

Yes, I have a lot of pages open and a lot of stuff running. *grins* My system seems quite able to handle all this and still leave me with 45-55% of Ram still available. (note the very top gray bar), it's called DigiDay Clock V1.8. And records constant memory use amongst other useful system info. It appears that Avant only used 6% of ram memory when I loaded it.

Hope all that helps :?: :) :thumbup:
Attachments
Avant and full screen shot..jpg
Avant/Full screen shot.
Orca and full screen shot..jpg
Orca/Full screen Shot
"I think I think therefore, I think I am; I think?"
Image \(Image)¿(-)/ MS Vista = Image
Altogether now, everyone do the MS Vista headbang!
(S)
teadily (T)wisting (E)very (V)ariable (E)ncountered☻

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by Sara » Sat Feb 27, 2010 7:42 am

Don't forget I'm seeing the same thing and I'm not running any of the programs that have given us problems over the years, like Windowblinds. I realized I'm running 11.7 b37, not what's shown in my side bar--I'll correct it. I think I tracked back because of some change I didn't like, don't remember now. I'm waiting for 12 before I upgrade again. It's Google's toolbar that's been bugging me. It upgraded itself to 5 and was causing all the problems I posted elsewhere--I fixed it by going back to 4. None of that caused the "gap" that's been there for months, and like a small itch, it has become more irritating over time.
Image

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by Sara » Sat Feb 27, 2010 8:08 am

Just had a thought--is it possible this is connected to IE8?
Image

User avatar
Steves.Place
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:42 pm
Windows Version: XPHome-SP3-dpi-150%-1280x1024
Avant Version: Current V11.7: B-46
IE Version: IE8-Occasional Use.
Location: Ok . . . Canada. The best free nation on the planet.
Contact:

Re: Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by Steves.Place » Sat Feb 27, 2010 8:08 am

Good heavens, what is 'window blinds'? Ah never mind, I really don't want to know. *Grins*

I wonder how many people did not read that little red warning sentence right at the bottom of the Avant IE add-ons dialogue box?

I mean it clearly says, using IE add ons can cause FATAL errors! That was pretty much enough info for me to stay far away from that. And thanks for that warning because I have not had any problems like that. I would much rather use the search bar (google) in my case rather than the unpredictable Google and yahoo type tool bars and all the other crazy tool bars that keep begging to be added on.

However, there is one add on that I would like and that is for TextAloud from nextup.com. There was one for Firefox but it doesn't work in the 3.5/6 versions and previous attempts to make one work on Avant went no where, as it just didn't show up when installed.

Sorry if my screen shots are not very good, I just got a program for that yesterday and I am going through the learning curve to get them right. I should have put a shadow on the right to emphasize that a bit better and will do it again, if it is asked for.

Window blinds? I'll have to look that one up.
"I think I think therefore, I think I am; I think?"
Image \(Image)¿(-)/ MS Vista = Image
Altogether now, everyone do the MS Vista headbang!
(S)
teadily (T)wisting (E)very (V)ariable (E)ncountered☻

User avatar
Steves.Place
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:42 pm
Windows Version: XPHome-SP3-dpi-150%-1280x1024
Avant Version: Current V11.7: B-46
IE Version: IE8-Occasional Use.
Location: Ok . . . Canada. The best free nation on the planet.
Contact:

Re: Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by Steves.Place » Sat Feb 27, 2010 11:04 am

Now, dadgummit, I couldn't go back and edit the error out of my last post. Most annoying!

Ok, so it actually says IE plug-ins not IE add-ons could cause a fatal error; but fatal is fatal and something to be avoided, right?

As for IE8 might be the cause? I personally don't think so as I only installed IE8 a couple of weeks ago and the narrow scroll bar/frame gap has been there for a long time, if my memory is working properly.

Anyway, until next time. :)
"I think I think therefore, I think I am; I think?"
Image \(Image)¿(-)/ MS Vista = Image
Altogether now, everyone do the MS Vista headbang!
(S)
teadily (T)wisting (E)very (V)ariable (E)ncountered☻

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by kudos » Sat Feb 27, 2010 3:43 pm

Forgive me for asking the obvious, but why not just maximise the window using the button on the title bar rather than fool around with the windows in non-maximised (restored-down) state?

I shall set up my system similar to yours later and do some screen grabs so that we can compare.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by Sara » Sat Feb 27, 2010 5:30 pm

I unmaximized (minimized) it and it got bigger--gap is gone! The change held through a restart as well. I don't think the scroll bar is bigger, though.

My Screenshot Program doesn't seem to be working so I can't show it.
Image

User avatar
Steves.Place
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:42 pm
Windows Version: XPHome-SP3-dpi-150%-1280x1024
Avant Version: Current V11.7: B-46
IE Version: IE8-Occasional Use.
Location: Ok . . . Canada. The best free nation on the planet.
Contact:

Re: Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by Steves.Place » Sat Feb 27, 2010 9:17 pm

Huh, well personally, I object to maximized windows.

I remember why as well. A long time ago I used to max them all until I came across full screen windows that would not close and I couldn't find any way to get out except to do a cold shutdown. I am given to understand that a cold shut down is not recommended, it's like pulling the plug out.

Ok, so it was back when I was stupid and used ME as my operating system, but I blame MSoft for that one really. Like Vista; MSoft spent 5 years putting IN all the bugs in both of those.
It wasn't until I tried XP that I realized Msoft could actually make a reasonably stable OS. I won't ever change that until it no longer works (period). I will never upgrade or Msoft's new OS experiments after the two huge failures of ME & Vista.

Anyway, I got used to resizing the windows myself and now I prefer this method. I have no Maxed windows for any programs now and the task bar is always visible just in case I have to do a shutdown or a re-boot procedure.
- - -
"I think I think therefore, I think I am; I think?"
Image \(Image)¿(-)/ MS Vista = Image
Altogether now, everyone do the MS Vista headbang!
(S)
teadily (T)wisting (E)very (V)ariable (E)ncountered☻

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by kudos » Sat Feb 27, 2010 9:39 pm

Screenshots as promised - hopefully it's a close enough reproduction of yours.

The sizes of the scroll bars seems to be determined by the rendering engine because in my tests Avant's match IE's and Orca's matched Firefox's.
Attachments
avant_big.gif
orca_big.gif
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
Steves.Place
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:42 pm
Windows Version: XPHome-SP3-dpi-150%-1280x1024
Avant Version: Current V11.7: B-46
IE Version: IE8-Occasional Use.
Location: Ok . . . Canada. The best free nation on the planet.
Contact:

Re: Avant's vertical scroll bar width changed size?

Post by Steves.Place » Sat Feb 27, 2010 9:41 pm

Addition:

From Kudos:
I set my screen DPI to 150% and the screen fonts to very large, in order to approximate your system, then I tried both Avant and Orca - but I could not replicate the problem.
- - -
from me:
I doubt this is the cause anyway but my fonts are set to normal and dpi read 150% = (144dpi) that's what it says in the dialogue box. All the other adjustments are in the display appearance section. Like wider scroll bars and red/green borders, all fonts are set to Comic sans MS 12- 14, and so on. Then I save that as my favorite theme. Perhaps I can include that here?

Ah, the extension theme is not allowed to be included here.
- - -
"I think I think therefore, I think I am; I think?"
Image \(Image)¿(-)/ MS Vista = Image
Altogether now, everyone do the MS Vista headbang!
(S)
teadily (T)wisting (E)very (V)ariable (E)ncountered☻

Post Reply