Found massive memory eating problem and fixed it.

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

Post Reply
User avatar
Steves.Place
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:42 pm
Windows Version: XPHome-SP3-dpi-150%-1280x1024
Avant Version: Current V11.7: B-46
IE Version: IE8-Occasional Use.
Location: Ok . . . Canada. The best free nation on the planet.
Contact:

Found massive memory eating problem and fixed it.

Post by Steves.Place » Wed Feb 24, 2010 9:22 pm

Very sorry Guys, I just found out that the Massive memory eating problem I reported as possibly being connected to the latest version of Avant, was in fact one particular web page I had opened in Avant that I somehow missed every time I loaded Avant.

I dropped that web page and 'presto fixo'. In fact Avant only used 2% of memory on the next load.

So problem solved, all is back to 100% perfect working condition, and thanks for all the time you guys put into this one.

Steve :oops: :thumbup: :wave:
"I think I think therefore, I think I am; I think?"
Image \(Image)¿(-)/ MS Vista = Image
Altogether now, everyone do the MS Vista headbang!
(S)
teadily (T)wisting (E)very (V)ariable (E)ncountered☻

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Found massive memory eating problem and fixed it.

Post by André » Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:44 pm

What was the website?
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
Steves.Place
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:42 pm
Windows Version: XPHome-SP3-dpi-150%-1280x1024
Avant Version: Current V11.7: B-46
IE Version: IE8-Occasional Use.
Location: Ok . . . Canada. The best free nation on the planet.
Contact:

Re: Found massive memory eating problem and fixed it.

Post by Steves.Place » Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:11 am

LOL, Trust me, you don't want to know. And no it was not a porn site. :shock:

It was a Torrent TV shows database site related to zoink.it. What the database does is post links to ALL, and I mean ALL torrents that apparently have ever been uploaded. There were more torrents listed there than my 2G memory could handle.

Although, I did use the page at some point, there is also a bug in the database that was causing the massive Ram usage. Trust me, don't go there.

Use REMOVED for the latest TV shows uploaded instead, there is no problem with that one. :)

Steve [-X
"I think I think, therefore I think I am . . . I think?" (ツ)

Removed illegal site. -André
"I think I think therefore, I think I am; I think?"
Image \(Image)¿(-)/ MS Vista = Image
Altogether now, everyone do the MS Vista headbang!
(S)
teadily (T)wisting (E)very (V)ariable (E)ncountered☻

Post Reply