Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Postby Darkson1 » Sun Dec 20, 2009 12:01 am

Last couple of days I've been having this problem with Avant. Every time (and I mean every time, regardless of what website I'm on) I start typing something (such as a reply on a forum) avant.exe CPU usage shoots up to 50% and it freezes. If I leave it it comes back, but the usage stays at 50% and it will re-freeze if I attempt to continue posting.

I first had this problem with b41 (which had been fine until a few days ago), but I'm still getting it with b43.
I am not having the same problem with Chrome, Firefox or IE8.
Ha, ha ha! Very funny!

Run for the hills, it's Darkson!
Darkson1
User avatar
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 12:25 pm
Location: England - God's own country.
Windows Version: XPsp3 and Vista Home
Avant Version: 11.7 b43
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Top

Re: Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Post Reply #1 by kudos » Sun Dec 20, 2009 1:43 am

Are there any IE addons/plugins installed? Tools >> Avant Browser Options... >> Add-ons >> IE Plug-ins
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics
kudos
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Post Reply #2 by Darkson1 » Sun Dec 20, 2009 10:29 pm

Just Google toolbar.
Ha, ha ha! Very funny!

Run for the hills, it's Darkson!
Darkson1
User avatar
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 12:25 pm
Location: England - God's own country.
Windows Version: XPsp3 and Vista Home
Avant Version: 11.7 b43
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Top

Re: Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Post Reply #3 by kudos » Sun Dec 20, 2009 10:43 pm

Tried disabling it?
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics
kudos
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Post Reply #4 by Darkson1 » Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:38 am

I haven't (though I will), but if that's the cause, then I won't be using Avant, as I've had no issues with the toolbar in the past.
Ha, ha ha! Very funny!

Run for the hills, it's Darkson!
Darkson1
User avatar
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 12:25 pm
Location: England - God's own country.
Windows Version: XPsp3 and Vista Home
Avant Version: 11.7 b43
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Top

Re: Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Post Reply #5 by kudos » Mon Dec 21, 2009 1:13 am

I'm not saying that that is the problem (although Google Toolbar should not be a problem at all) - just working through basic troubleshooting steps..
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics
kudos
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Post Reply #6 by pa1nkiller » Sat Dec 26, 2009 3:22 pm

I've also had this problem on Vista Ultimate x64 SP2 after upgrading to 11.7.43 - there were no problems when I was running 11.7.20. I do not have google toolbar installed.
pa1nkiller
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 2:00 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Avant Version: 2011 b27
IE Version: 9.0.8112.16421
Top

Re: Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Post Reply #7 by doctahjeph » Tue Dec 29, 2009 2:42 am

I too am having this exact same problem. I just recently upgrade 4 machines for work to Windows 7. I thought the issue was Windows 7 related. However, one of the 4 machines does not experience this issue at all. The other three do, this exact problem.

I have resorted to using Orca, but want to use Avant because of Google Toolbar.
doctahjeph
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:52 am
Windows Version: XP Pro
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Top

Re: Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Post Reply #8 by garay » Fri Jan 22, 2010 9:12 am

I don't know if this helps anyone, but I've had a problem with Avant browser freezing everytime I filled in a text box starting with a capital letter. Wether in google search home window, or filling out forms in a web page, anywhere, it didn't matter. If I minimised the window, then expanded, everything was fine until I typed another capital. No problem in Internet Explorer 8.

I narrowed it down to the Google toolbar, unchecked it in Avant Browser Add ons, fixed. Tried checking and unchecking several times, definitely the cause.

I'm running windows seven 64 bit with Avavnt browser version 11.7 build 43.
garay
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 12:54 am
Windows Version: 7 64 bit
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8.0
Top

Re: Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Post Reply #9 by zorro1 » Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:01 pm

This is EXACTLY the same problem that I started having yesterday. I also noticed that Google Toolbar updated itself yesterday.

To add just a little more information, it doesn't happen only if you use capital letters. I noticed that most special characters, such as "@" will cause the same problem.

It will boost CPU usage to around 50%, but after 20 or 30 seconds it is okay until you type another capital letter or special character.

Oh, and it isn't only if you manually type using your keyboard. It also happens if you copy/paste.

I disabled Google Toolbar, but I'm lost without it. Hope this is fixed by Google soon, or maybe the Avant team can find a work-around.

And what's up with Google now wanting to capture my location?
zorro1
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:54 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 (64-bit)
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 43
IE Version: 8
Top

Re: Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Post Reply #10 by ElimGarak » Tue Feb 02, 2010 11:41 am

Same thing. I had to uninstall Google Toolbar (which I use VERY often) because of this bug.
I've tried reinstalling GTB 5 and I had no problems, but unfortunately it updates itself after a while so I had to remove it definitively and this is really a major problem for me.
ElimGarak
User avatar
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Location: Italy
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Top

Re: Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Post Reply #11 by kudos » Tue Feb 02, 2010 11:59 am

You can block the autoupdate feature of GTB by adding this line to your %SystemRoot%\system32\drivers\etc\hosts file:

Code: Select all
127.0.0.1 toolbar.google.com


Or you can block it with your firewall.
Unfortunately that will also block access to the GTB site too.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics
kudos
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Post Reply #12 by zorro1 » Tue Feb 02, 2010 4:04 pm

So do you think it is a bug with Google Toolbar or with Avant Browser? I don't think the problem occurs when using Google Toolbar with other browsers.

Very annoying. I use Google Toolbar extensively. If Google or Avant fixes the problem, please post here so I can begin using again.
zorro1
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:54 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 (64-bit)
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 43
IE Version: 8
Top

Re: Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Post Reply #13 by zorro1 » Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:32 pm

No one else is having this problem anymore? Still a problem on my system. I am using the work-around by blocking the automatic update via the hosts file suggestion. But that doesn't seem like a very good permanent solution.

If it is an Avant Browser problem, I hope some will post here when it has been fixed. If it is a Google Toolbar problem, we'll never know it has been fixed because the update is now blocked (and Google won't admit to the problem anyway).
zorro1
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:54 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 (64-bit)
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 43
IE Version: 8
Top

Re: Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Post Reply #14 by ElimGarak » Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:09 pm

Actually, I ended up giving up on Google Toolbar and started using Avant searchbox.
I know this is not a solution either, but it was the only one that worked (at least until bet 46 SR1, which started to give me BIG problems).
ElimGarak
User avatar
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Location: Italy
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Top

Re: Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Post Reply #15 by Jasmine » Mon Feb 22, 2010 6:46 am

zorro1 wrote:If it is an Avant Browser problem, I hope some will post here when it has been fixed. If it is a Google Toolbar problem, we'll never know it has been fixed because the update is now blocked (and Google won't admit to the problem anyway).

Had you already got a feedback from Google that it's not GTB's problem?

zorro1 wrote:So do you think it is a bug with Google Toolbar or with Avant Browser? I don't think the problem occurs when using Google Toolbar with other browsers.

Except for IE, firefox and maxthon, what other browsers don't have the problem at all?
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder
Jasmine
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Top

Re: Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Post Reply #16 by ElimGarak » Mon Feb 22, 2010 10:21 am

Hello, Jasmine.
Actually, it's been confirmed in older topics (I don't find them) around January this is a problem with Avant and newest Google Toolbar.
ElimGarak
User avatar
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Location: Italy
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Top

Re: Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Post Reply #17 by Jasmine » Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:29 am

I know...I just want to know whether Google said it's not GTB's problem.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder
Jasmine
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Top

Re: Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Post Reply #18 by zorro1 » Tue Feb 23, 2010 2:21 pm

No, Google did not say anything about the problem. I'm not implying that I reported it (I can't find any way to report GTB bugs on their webpage). I'm saying they don't list it as a known problem and I can't find any mention of it.
zorro1
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:54 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 (64-bit)
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 43
IE Version: 8
Top

Re: Constant freezes and 50% CPU usage

Post Reply #19 by ElimGarak » Tue Feb 23, 2010 2:27 pm

It happens with Avant only, anyway... so I doubt it could be addressed as a GTB problem.
ElimGarak
User avatar
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Location: Italy
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Top

Next

Return to Avant Browser Legacy Bug Reports Archive



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

ABPro style designed by Statm1
cron