Avant Freeze and 100% CPU usage when visiting www.dbs.com

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

Post Reply
iceshake
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 3:31 pm
Avant Version:

Avant Freeze and 100% CPU usage when visiting www.dbs.com

Post by iceshake » Sun Nov 22, 2009 3:36 pm

http://www.dbs.com looks like a regular static page for a bank, but it always causes problems for Avant to render it properly.

Does your Avant browser hang and utilise 100% CPU for about 5 seconds when you visit http://www.dbs.com?

I'm on XP SP3, Avant 11.7 build 41.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Freeze and 100% CPU usage when visiting www.dbs.com

Post by kudos » Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:13 pm

No problems here. What's your IE version? The site does use SharePoint and tries to run the "name.dll" ActiveX file. This may help: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/931509.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

iceshake
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 3:31 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Freeze and 100% CPU usage when visiting www.dbs.com

Post by iceshake » Tue Nov 24, 2009 2:03 am

I use IE7. I have 2 computers, both on XP SP3, IE7 latest, Avant 11.7 build 41 and they both have this issue.

Adding them to the trusted sites doesn't help.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Freeze and 100% CPU usage when visiting www.dbs.com

Post by kudos » Tue Nov 24, 2009 11:43 am

Do you have any issues at all when viewing the site with Internet Explorer?
Have you considered upgrading to IE8 as the article states that the issue only affects IE7?
Try disabling any IE addons/plugins: Tools >> Avant Browser Options... >> Add-ons >> IE Plug-ins
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

iceshake
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 3:31 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Freeze and 100% CPU usage when visiting www.dbs.com

Post by iceshake » Thu Nov 26, 2009 4:23 pm

on IE7, no issues. The only IE addons I've got are the flashget plugins which I think are pretty harmless.

IE8 has incomptiabilities with my company's intranet, so I'd rather not upgrade it.

thanks for your ideas and help so far kudos.

iceshake
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 3:31 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Freeze and 100% CPU usage when visiting www.dbs.com

Post by iceshake » Sat Nov 28, 2009 3:58 am

These issues also occur on todayonline.com

Adding to trusted sites doesn't help. Opens fine in firefox, chrome, opera and IE7.

Post Reply