Page 1 of 1

"avant browser did not shutdown properly last time"

Posted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 11:59 pm
by fatoms
When every I open avant from a link in another program the Re-Open Dialog appears.
If Avant is already open the page opens fine.
Current Avant version 11.7.18

Is there a way to diasbale this?

Re: "avant browser did not shutdown properly last time"

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 9:42 pm
by AXEMAN
Can anyone confirm this

Re: "avant browser did not shutdown properly last time"

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 10:01 pm
by abfan123
Hello,
This happen just when Avant "Did not shut down properly". AFAIK, There's no way to disable the crash recovery feature.
This could happen in cases if you'll shut down/restart Windows without closing Avant etc.
If you'll close Avant properly then you shouldn't see this dialog on startup.

Re: "avant browser did not shutdown properly last time"

Posted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:59 pm
by fatoms
Good Morning all,

Since my original post I have reinstalled windows XP and installed Avant 11.7.22 and am agian seeing this problem.

When I open a link from another program (ie: outlook 2007) Avant behaves as if it was incorrectly shut down the last time and offers an empty list of pages to re-open.
AvantProblem.jpg
Has anyone got any ideas how to stop this?

Thanks in advance.

Re: "avant browser did not shutdown properly last time"

Posted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 6:53 am
by fatoms
Now upgraded to 11.7.39 and still get this. Can we get an option to disable this feature?

Re: "avant browser did not shutdown properly last time"

Posted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 8:51 am
by kudos
Do you have the Avant tray icon option enabled?

Re: "avant browser did not shutdown properly last time"

Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:57 am
by krgh
fatoms wrote:Good Morning all,

Since my original post I have reinstalled windows XP and installed Avant 11.7.22 and am agian seeing this problem.

When I open a link from another program (ie: outlook 2007) Avant behaves as if it was incorrectly shut down the last time and offers an empty list of pages to re-open.
AvantProblem.jpg
Has anyone got any ideas how to stop this?

Thanks in advance.
Hi,

here is my .2 cents on reproducing this. Just tried it now.

1. Have 1 instance of avant opened. Open few website in it.
2. now Click File -> New Avant Browser
3. U will get this Empty Re-Open Window.

It's a bug in Avant. This is happening since last 10-15 build ( atleast thats when i started observing it). No idea on How to solve this. Waiting for anderson to solve it.

I have
a. USB Version of Avant Browser 11.7 Build 40
b. Windows XP SP2

Regards
Gururaja

Re: "avant browser did not shutdown properly last time"

Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 5:25 am
by Jasmine
I can confirm by following krgh's steps.

Re: "avant browser did not shutdown properly last time"

Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 10:23 am
by Jasmine
Fixed in just released 11.7.41.

Re: "avant browser did not shutdown properly last time"

Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:40 pm
by André
Can anyone confirm?

Re: "avant browser did not shutdown properly last time"

Posted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 6:02 pm
by jasarthur
I got this same error message upon launching Build 39 every time, too--but only on my Toshiba Satellite (old laptop)! Not occurring on the later model Dell I'm using presently at work. Just saw the new release and hope Jasmine is correct that the problem's been fixed.

Re: "avant browser did not shutdown properly last time"

Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 4:13 am
by fatoms
Hi All,

I have just (10 min ago) upgraded to build 41 and can open links from outlook without getting this dialog. To early to be sure yet but looks good so far.

Thanks JAsmine (and all other who helped with steps to Repo)

:D

Re: "avant browser did not shutdown properly last time"

Posted: Sat Nov 07, 2009 4:08 pm
by jasarthur
I'm still getting the same erroneous window with Build 41.

Re: "avant browser did not shutdown properly last time"

Posted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 8:45 am
by Jasmine
jasarthur wrote:I'm still getting the same erroneous window with Build 41.
How does that happen to you? Please tell us steps for replaying.