v11.7 build 15

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

Pip
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Avant Version: 2012Ultimate V171
IE Version: IE9
Location: Michigan U.S.A.

v11.7 build 15

Post by Pip » Fri Sep 26, 2008 3:17 pm

Downloaded/installed this morning.................

Installed with only the default skins.............

Button for Text size has been removed from options


:x
Image

Veni, Vidi, Velcro - I Came, I Saw, I Stuck Around

User avatar
scubamaster
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 590
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 1:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Florida, USA

Re: v11.7 build 15

Post by scubamaster » Fri Sep 26, 2008 4:07 pm

I can confirm that. #-o

Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E7400 @ 2.80GHz; 4GB RAM; Nvidia GeForce 8600GT w. 280.26 driver
Windows 7 Professional 32-Bit SP1 (all patches)
Avant: V2011 b30 - (IE Favorites - No On-Line Storage)
IE V9.0.8112.16421-Upd 9.0.2; Java: 1.7.0.147; Flash: V10.3.183.5
Windows Security Essentials V2.1.1116.0

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: v11.7 build 15

Post by Sara » Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:37 pm

I kept my skin, but had to reactivate some buttons, and, Google is more screwed up than ever. I updated my ticket and switched to Yahoo for now.
Image

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: v11.7 build 15

Post by bigC » Fri Sep 26, 2008 7:25 pm

Pip wrote:Downloaded/installed this morning.................

Installed with only the default skins.............

Button for Text size has been removed from options


:x
I can't confirm any of that in Avant.

User avatar
Crs
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 9:41 am
Windows Version: Win XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: USB 11.7 B35
IE Version: 6 & 7

Re: v11.7 build 15

Post by Crs » Fri Sep 26, 2008 7:43 pm

Text size Button icon removed from standard buttons.
I confirm this.
..Image..............Image..............Image..
[Avant - Orca] - [Skins] ..................................................... [Avant - Orca] - [Add-Ons]

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: v11.7 build 15

Post by bigC » Fri Sep 26, 2008 7:50 pm

Crs wrote:Text size Button icon removed from standard buttons.
I confirm this.
Oh in there. That I can confirm... but I still have all my skins.

Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Re: v11.7 build 15

Post by Anderson » Sun Sep 28, 2008 4:41 pm

I removed the "Text Size" and "Encoding" Buttons, because those two buttons won't work for Orca, and in my opinion those two buttons are less important.

Text Size is under view menu, and Encoding is available under context menu of the web-page. Please let me know if this is enough, and lets discuss shall we bring those two buttons back.

Thanks,

Anderson

User avatar
flowrush
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:43 am
Windows Version: Win7.64bit.HP
Avant Version: 2010b122
IE Version: 8.0.6001

Re: v11.7 build 15

Post by flowrush » Sun Sep 28, 2008 9:08 pm

I think theyre perfectly reasonable being in the View menu.

Anderson PLEASE check your pm.

-Thanks

SilverDragon
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 1:33 pm
Avant Version: 11.5

Re: v11.7 build 15

Post by SilverDragon » Mon Sep 29, 2008 11:58 pm

I for one need the text size button back because I do not want to have to click on View, then Text Size, then medium.

On my home PC the text size is always selected smaller and I have to change it each time I open Avant and select medium. So I use the button daily.

I have posted before asking how to make it stay and have tried everthing suggested:

Open IE, select text size, close IE open Avant and it should be the same.
Reset all options, close Avant, open Avant select options.
And several others that I can not remember off hand.

Thanks:
Jack Allen

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: v11.7 build 15

Post by abfan123 » Tue Sep 30, 2008 11:23 am

How about creating an auto-execute script that wil automtically increase/decrease the text size?
Look here and copy the script...
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Re: v11.7 build 15

Post by ElimGarak » Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:28 pm

I need at least the text size button very badly. I have "smaller" size as default, so the button was VERY useful for those sites that are unreadable if it's not set to "medium". PLEASE bring it back, I'm sure a lot of users are missing it.

User avatar
flowrush
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:43 am
Windows Version: Win7.64bit.HP
Avant Version: 2010b122
IE Version: 8.0.6001

Re: v11.7 build 15

Post by flowrush » Tue Sep 30, 2008 4:09 pm

abfan123 wrote:How about creating an auto-execute script that wil automtically increase/decrease the text size?
Look here and copy the script...
Or Avant could simply be modified to remember set text size in previous session?

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: v11.7 build 15

Post by abfan123 » Tue Sep 30, 2008 5:21 pm

flowrush wrote:
abfan123 wrote:How about creating an auto-execute script that wil automtically increase/decrease the text size?
Look here and copy the script...
Or Avant could simply be modified to remember set text size in previous session?
Per-site basis? Maybe
I don't think that everyone want to globally modify the text size. And if it's possible to create a script then why to wait for this feature to be implemented?
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: v11.7 build 15

Post by bigC » Tue Sep 30, 2008 7:19 pm

Anderson wrote:Please let me know if this is enough, and lets discuss shall we bring those two buttons back.
I don't use them myself but no harm in having them availble as an option. Might as well add it back to AB for those who want them.

Pip
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Avant Version: 2012Ultimate V171
IE Version: IE9
Location: Michigan U.S.A.

Re: v11.7 build 15

Post by Pip » Tue Sep 30, 2008 11:53 pm

Got a question here guys.................what has happened to my spellchecker (IE Spell I think)??? Is it this latest Avant version??? My transition from XP to Vista???? Or my download/install of IE 8 beta? I'll be checking to see, but if anyone knows.........let me know...
Image

Veni, Vidi, Velcro - I Came, I Saw, I Stuck Around

Pip
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Avant Version: 2012Ultimate V171
IE Version: IE9
Location: Michigan U.S.A.

Re: v11.7 build 15

Post by Pip » Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:34 am

Never mind............I downloaded/reinstalled IESpell...........so I guess it's a moot point right now........but if it's missing for anyone else..........well......???
Image

Veni, Vidi, Velcro - I Came, I Saw, I Stuck Around

User avatar
flowrush
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:43 am
Windows Version: Win7.64bit.HP
Avant Version: 2010b122
IE Version: 8.0.6001

Re: v11.7 build 15

Post by flowrush » Wed Oct 01, 2008 10:54 am

abfan123 wrote:
flowrush wrote:
abfan123 wrote:How about creating an auto-execute script that wil automtically increase/decrease the text size?
Look here and copy the script...
Or Avant could simply be modified to remember set text size in previous session?
Per-site basis? Maybe
I don't think that everyone want to globally modify the text size. And if it's possible to create a script then why to wait for this feature to be implemented?
Why make people wait? Just fix it and be done with it, simple as that and no one will complain about it ever again. I suggested how it could become a feature and not a button or unimportant change that only privledged people should be forced to "script" there way around the problem while it sits on the backburner. Capiche?

User avatar
notestracker
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2012 Ult. build 197
Default engine: Mozilla Firefox
IE Version: 10.0
Skin: AthenX
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: v11.7 build 15

Post by notestracker » Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:06 pm

Ni hao, Che xiansheng, hao jiu bu jian le!

I agree that text suze button needs to be available, I use it all the time and noticed it missing right away.

Alternatively (or additionally), would it be possible to have like IE7 (near the bottom right corner), where clicking cycles the text size, or actually I think it cycles the zoom factor.

I am like others who have trouble on sites which have tiny text.

- - - - - - - - - - -
Another way, which I use in Firefox via an add-on, is to have three buttons which look like something this: AA ... A ... AA.

Whenever you click on the left button the text size increases. when you click the right button the text size decreases, when you click the center button the text size reverts to normal. This is very easy to change the text size with just a few clicks (no multi-level menu items).
Tony Austin
CEO, Asia/Pacific Computer Services
http://notestracker.com/ and http://notestracker.net/

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: v11.7 build 15

Post by abfan123 » Wed Oct 01, 2008 3:01 pm

flowrush wrote: Why make people wait? Just fix it and be done with it, simple as that and no one will complain about it ever again. I suggested how it could become a feature and not a button or unimportant change that only privledged people should be forced to "script" there way around the problem while it sits on the backburner. Capiche?
I'm not a developer so I can't really bring the button back or improve this feature.
I've just provided a workaround so far. Let's wait until Anderson will read your response and maybe he will follow your suggestion....
Edit
Anderson just said that he'll think about bringing this button back in the next build.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: v11.7 build 15

Post by statm1 » Wed Oct 01, 2008 4:28 pm

In my opinion, there would be no difference between a script that made a button and a button being built in. They are both a button that would do the same thing. One you can have now and one you can't until Anderson actually puts it back.

I don't see the big deal. If you want it now get the script, if not don't.
Image
-- Matt --

Post Reply