Right click not working in 11.5

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:45 pm

Hello,
Please provide the following information:
Your windows language:
Your language name directory under the system32 directory:
Location of the MUI files:
Also,Please enter here and please tell what the message box will report.
Thanks!
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

fredonzenet
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 8:28 am
Avant Version:

Post by fredonzenet » Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:54 pm

Hello,

for me :

Your windows language: french
Your language name directory under the system32 directory: fr-FR under (I have a FR subfolder too)
Location of the MUI files: C:\Windows\System32\fr-FR and C:\Windows\fr-FR
Box : fr

Hope that will help !

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:23 pm

fredonzenet wrote:Hello,

for me :

Your windows language: french
Your language name directory under the system32 directory: fr-FR under (I have a FR subfolder too)
Location of the MUI files: C:\Windows\System32\fr-FR and C:\Windows\fr-FR
Box : fr

Hope that will help !
Ok.
Can you please do the following for testing purposes:
Please close Avant Browser and create a directory named "fr" under the system32 directory.
Then,Copy the MUI file there (Just copy.Don't move) and restart avant browser?

fredonzenet
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 8:28 am
Avant Version:

Post by fredonzenet » Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:29 pm

WOW !

it is now working with copying the files from "fr-FR " onto "fr" (under system32)
!!!!

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:37 pm

Ok.
So it seems like we've finally found the cause of the problem:
Avant is trying to find the path to the language's directory by retrieving the browser's language string.
But the browser's language string is usually different from the directory's name (For example:Language string is fr while directory's name is fr-fr)
I hope that Anderson could find a different way to find the directory's path.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

e2e4
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:56 am
Avant Version:

Re: Right click not working in 11.5

Post by e2e4 » Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:39 pm

DE - German version

It's here same - now it works :)

fredonzenet
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 8:28 am
Avant Version:

Post by fredonzenet » Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:52 pm

yes alban123, I think it is not difficult to say to Avant to look for xx-XX instead of xx (xx = language)

Well done, now I am on 11.5 !

Stefan
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 8:25 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Re: Right click not working in 11.5

Post by Stefan » Tue Jun 26, 2007 2:33 pm

Great! Thanks, abfan123. I'm using 11.5 with a working context menu. :D
Avant Browser 11.5 Build 11
Kaspersky Anti-Virus 7.0.0.123
Windows Vista Ultimate (32bit)

Bambi
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 6:11 am
Avant Version:

Re: Right click not working in 11.5

Post by Bambi » Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:33 pm

Hi!

Indeed!
After copying of file "ieframe.dll.mui" from folder "system32\de-DE" to (existing) folder "system32\de" it finally works, now!

Longsome job... - But thanks for dogged efforts!

Best wishes from Germany,
Bambi

:P

FrodOArg
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 8:37 pm
Avant Version:

Post by FrodOArg » Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:40 pm

Works now for me too after copying the file to ES folder (spanish and AB reported ES).
But still have the problem that AB dont hold the configuration of favorites for example, it opens the webs in any orther and not the one I have set.

Beberik
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 2:06 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x86
Avant Version: 2010 b2
IE Version: Internet Explorer 8

Post by Beberik » Wed Jun 27, 2007 12:43 am

Under Vista 64 it is also working. It only does have to be done in C:\Windows\SysWOW64.

For Czech the language folder is C:\Windows\SysWOW64\cs.

THX a lot ;-)

Barnus
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:26 am
Avant Version:

Post by Barnus » Wed Jun 27, 2007 6:55 am

Jasmine wrote:You shoud copy the ieframe.dll.mui file to your language folder.

I use Chinese system, so I copy it to zh-CN folder, but not en-US.
do u have an en-us version of ieframe.dll.mui?

Maybe we just need an en-us version and copy to our localized folder, so our Vista will use the same ieframe file as the english mui, so maybe the right click will work?

If any of u guys have access to an english vista, pls share this file and lets try. I dont have english mui, cuz I have Vista business and not the ultimate.

Barnus
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:26 am
Avant Version:

Post by Barnus » Wed Jun 27, 2007 7:07 am

Your windows language:Hungarian
Your language name directory under the system32 directory:hu-HU
But I have Vista64
Location of the MUI files:I think mui files are in system32\(languagemui-s) (hu-HU)
Also,Please enter here and please tell what the message box will report. It says: hu

tms
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:53 am
Avant Version:

Post by tms » Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:58 am

Can you please do the following for testing purposes:
Please close Avant Browser and create a directory named "fr" under the system32 directory.
Then,Copy the MUI file there (Just copy.Don't move) and restart avant browser?
To avoid double files vista allows you to link the file.
Try mklink instead of copying it.

Thx

...tms

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:26 am

Barnus wrote:Your windows language:Hungarian
Your language name directory under the system32 directory:hu-HU
But I have Vista64
Location of the MUI files:I think mui files are in system32\(languagemui-s) (hu-HU)
Also,Please enter here and please tell what the message box will report. It says: hu
Please create a new directory named "hu" in the directory where the subfolder with the mui file is located and copy the mui file there.
Should work.

abutre
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 2:26 pm
Avant Version:

Solved for "pt" Portugal

Post by abutre » Wed Jun 27, 2007 2:30 pm

abfan123 wrote:
fredonzenet wrote:Hello,

for me :

Your windows language: french
Your language name directory under the system32 directory: fr-FR under (I have a FR subfolder too)
Location of the MUI files: C:\Windows\System32\fr-FR and C:\Windows\fr-FR
Box : fr

Hope that will help !
Ok.
Can you please do the following for testing purposes:
Please close Avant Browser and create a directory named "fr" under the system32 directory.
Then,Copy the MUI file there (Just copy.Don't move) and restart avant browser?

Thanks.

Works in "pt" Portugal

satshow
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 7:28 am
Avant Version: 11.5 B21

Re: Right click not working in 11.5

Post by satshow » Thu Jun 28, 2007 10:36 am

Thx
I have it now working in nl (dutch)

Chief Plasma
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 4:32 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:

Re: Right click not working in 11.5

Post by Chief Plasma » Fri Jun 29, 2007 5:01 pm

I tried the copy of en-us to en but that did not solve the issue.
I had to disable the google toolbar then exit Avant.
When i restart it the proper context menu is shown.
Just noticed it now when lately when trying to block an add.
os: winxp pro
avant 11.5 build 11

-cp

ps.. message box says en-us

User avatar
scubamaster
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 590
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 1:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Florida, USA

Re: Right click not working in 11.5

Post by scubamaster » Fri Jun 29, 2007 5:22 pm

I think it has been established now that there are 2 distinctly different problems causing the right click not to work.

a) Vista Multilingual versions (workaround found)

b) Google Toolbar (no solution yet)

Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E7400 @ 2.80GHz; 4GB RAM; Nvidia GeForce 8600GT w. 280.26 driver
Windows 7 Professional 32-Bit SP1 (all patches)
Avant: V2011 b30 - (IE Favorites - No On-Line Storage)
IE V9.0.8112.16421-Upd 9.0.2; Java: 1.7.0.147; Flash: V10.3.183.5
Windows Security Essentials V2.1.1116.0

Beberik
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 2:06 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x86
Avant Version: 2010 b2
IE Version: Internet Explorer 8

Post by Beberik » Fri Jun 29, 2007 9:27 pm

Just for clarity: Found workaround doesn't mean, that the bug should not be fixed :-) It's still a bug.

Post Reply