Memory usage/leak (version 11.0 build 5)

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

avuser
Fan
Fan
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:15 pm
Avant Version:

Post by avuser » Mon Mar 12, 2007 4:21 am

I have been using one IE6 window, not Avant for the last 9 hours and 30 minutes with one site, eBay.com, for both speed and to test if IE itself uses too much memory. I wasn't browsing eBay for all that time, perhaps no more than 50 pages. After that time, Mem Usage is around 3 MB, and VM Usage is 101 MB. So IE does use a lot of VM Memory by itself and browsing eBay becomes slow over time. If I close IE window, and start another, eBay site responds quickly.

This is for the developer to see what's the best solution to fix this problem...
XP Pro + SP2
AMD XP 2000+
768 MB RAM
IE 6.0.2900.2180

avuser
Fan
Fan
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:15 pm
Avant Version:

Post by avuser » Fri May 11, 2007 7:10 pm

To Anderson:

I have some ideas about why the memory usage is too high, it's related to IE, not Avant. When I use IE only to browse for items on eBay, and after many eBay pages the VM Usage goes very high, like 70 MB, and page loading becomes slow. What's interesting is that when I right click on an item in eBay search results, and select "Open in New Window", then close the original IE process, the new IE process inherits about 80-90% of the VM usage at the moment I close the original process. This means whatever DLL representing IE, is using a common global memory, like memory mapped files, to store information about IE and the pages being visited, probably to maintain browser sessions.

After looking in MSDN Library for something that would reduce memory usage, I came across something called "Travel Log", which it seems to track web pages used by the user. It seems to be a feature in IE 5.5 or above, so I am not sure if older browsers have this problem. Here is the entry in MSDN:

Travel Log
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/Aa768366.aspx

The only thing that I found that deletes or frees memory is RemoveEntry method in ITravelLogStg Interface. You have to loop through all entries to remove them. There is no RemoveAll method. I guess one possible solution is when a user closes a tab in Avant, try removing the travel log entries just before freeing the IE instance used by the tab, to make sure the memory associated with it is freed as well. Here is a sample C++ code that I was able to find in Google Groups:

http://groups.google.com/group/microsof ... 2d26f03904

Good Luck!
XP Pro + SP2
AMD XP 2000+
768 MB RAM
IE 6.0.2900.2180

Merel
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 2:48 pm
Windows Version: Windows XP Pro
Avant Version: N/A
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE8
Skin: N/A
Location: Meise, Belgium

Instant Suicide

Post by Merel » Thu May 17, 2007 8:01 pm

Did anyone already experience the "instant suicide" (InSu) of AvantBrowser ? InSu is not a "freeze" situation. I would say AB is the best magician in the world. It can disappear faster than you can think, and reappears like magic just by clicking the quick launch icon... without saved pages. I don't know if InSu is caused by one unique cause or more (wrong or justified) posible causes.

Insu happened once in a while, using .... ANY of the builds. Yesterday this occured at a few times and I must say that the fans of my PC were super active. My PC shut down with a blue crash message at least a half dozen times. While today everything is back to normal.... because I'm not opening that much programs or tabs maybe ? But if I opened a dozen tabs, that would have been about maximum.

So what ? CPU Heating ? Short of memory ? Short of virtual memory ?

User avatar
Nimrod
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 7:11 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Memory usage/leak (version 11.0 build 5)

Post by Nimrod » Thu Jun 14, 2007 8:12 pm

I'm on build 46, this started quite a while ago, but CPU will just spike to 100% and I have to kill Avant to make my CPU usable. Avant is great and all, but this is getting ridiculous.

Bungalo Bill
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 5:18 am
Avant Version:

Re: Memory usage/leak (version 11.0 build 5)

Post by Bungalo Bill » Sun Jun 17, 2007 8:13 am

Don_Reba wrote:Same here. Happens with all versions of Avant. It typically grows to >100MB and does not shrink.
Has anybody verified that it's all versions or is it 10.x+ or..?
I was thinking of reverting due to various issues, and have been wondering which version to choose, though going back to 3.0 or something seems excessive. ;)
abfan123 wrote:Weirdly enough but I could never confirm any memory leak issue even on my old PC.
Memory usage has never went beyong 30-45MB for me with a lot of opened tabs.
So it apparently doesn't affect everyone at all, much less to the extent it affects some of us, which leads me to wonder if it might be due to some sort of compatibility issue with other software or individual configurations, and to some degree, perhaps which particular websites are being visited? :-s

I've personally had seemingly random experience with this sort of thing.
Sometimes my computer is on for several days, with AB running all the while and anywhere from 2-100 tabs open at any given time, and I have no problems at all, while other times things start going to **** in under an hour, with no more than a dozen or so tabs.

I'm currently using AB v11-build 46 (IE v6), with 21 tabs open (roughly half are porn image gallery pages, and half are topic pages at various forums), and have probably had AB running since early yesterday afternoon (1:13am the next morning here ATM), and am now at:

CPU (AB only) - 60%
Mem Usage - 72,312k
VM Size - 182,484k
Threads - 42

:(

josephrot
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 582
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 11:52 pm
Windows Version: XP SP1 SP2 SP3 Vista
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 19
IE Version: IE 6 and 7 Firefox
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by josephrot » Tue Jun 19, 2007 12:09 pm

Bungalo Bill...

How does the above pages and times, and memory usage react with the newest AB 11.5 Build 9 ?

Also, pages or sites that feed spam, Java, JavaScript, Flash and so forth will also cause both the problems of pages taking longer to open, and memory / resources consumption will usually spike as well.
Computers are perfect! Absolutely nothing can guo wonge...
Those are NOT bugs in this software - Only Undocumented Transient Features

Bungalo Bill
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 5:18 am
Avant Version:

Post by Bungalo Bill » Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:49 am

Hmm, I was under the impression that 11.5 was still beta, but I guess not, even with all the posts I see getting made about its problems..

Anyway, I haven't tried any of the releases after 11.0 b46, and I just recently upgraded to that, so I wouldn't know.
I like to hold out for a few months at least and let others encounter most of the problems for me. :)

I see that, according to the release info, it supposedly has "ImpORved Memory Usage" though?
Ooh, and "SuPPer drag-and-drop for links and searches", but doesn't that make you hungry? ;)
Kidding, of course.. not trying to be an ****.
But should we submit corrections for stuff like that when we come across them, and if so, to whom?

Oh, and I have Flash and ActiveX and most other things blocked except for when viewing certain sites, so..?
Dunno if resources still get used up blocking all that stuff though.
"As my dear departed friend Lotus Weinstock used to say: 'I used to wanna change the world. Now I just wanna leave the room with a little dignity.'" ~ Justin Bond, from the movie Shortbus

josephrot
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 582
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 11:52 pm
Windows Version: XP SP1 SP2 SP3 Vista
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 19
IE Version: IE 6 and 7 Firefox
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by josephrot » Wed Jun 20, 2007 10:31 am

Bungalo Bill wrote:Hmm, I was under the impression that 11.5 was still beta, but I guess not, even with all the posts I see getting made about its problems..

Anyway, I haven't tried any of the releases after 11.0 b46, and I just recently upgraded to that, so I wouldn't know.
I like to hold out for a few months at least and let others encounter most of the problems for me. :)

Dunno if resources still get used up blocking all that stuff though.
Then you really oughta download and compare pages and times, and how memory usage reacts.... with the newest AB 11.5 Build 9

Without doing that, you won't really know until you really know... and then you will know.

As it is now, you are driving on the Information Highway with one headlight out. :shock:
Computers are perfect! Absolutely nothing can guo wonge...
Those are NOT bugs in this software - Only Undocumented Transient Features

neilverma
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 11:53 am
Avant Version:

Re: Memory usage/leak (version 11.0 build 5)

Post by neilverma » Sun Jun 24, 2007 2:48 pm

I noticed that if I disable my internet connection, even with Avant closed, it starts using lot of memory. Its easy to notice since even on idle my laptop fans all go alive and each time I check the processes its avant.

stw500
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:32 am
Avant Version:

Re: Memory usage/leak (version 11.0 build 5)

Post by stw500 » Mon Jun 25, 2007 4:29 pm

The too high memory usage is still on 11.5 build 11 ...

It's annoying.

Avant also freezes on many homepages, CPU Usage at 99%, whole system just waits for the browser. Shouldnt be with A64@2500Mhz and 1GB RAM. After taking for example 5-10 seconds everything works fine and system runs normal, except the high memory usage.

Now with 25 Tabs Avant uses 135MB Ram and the same in virtual memory. Yesterday it used 4 times as much in virtual memory.

I am using Avant since Version 8 but it's only getting slower i assume.

User avatar
Bob Loblaw
Fan
Fan
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 12:18 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:

Re: Memory usage/leak (version 11.0 build 5)

Post by Bob Loblaw » Fri Jun 29, 2007 3:31 am

I have 20 tabs open, all but one is a static page (the one is a Java-based NWS radar) and Avant is using 301,176K of memory. That is absolutely ridiculous.

11.5 build 11, just upgraded yesterday. XP SP2 w/ 2GB RAM.

I've been a loyal user of Avant for years and it's always been a memory hog but this is too much.

What's going on?!?

neilverma
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 11:53 am
Avant Version:

Re: Memory usage/leak (version 11.0 build 5)

Post by neilverma » Mon Jul 09, 2007 3:13 pm

neilverma wrote:I noticed that if I disable my internet connection, even with Avant closed, it starts using lot of memory. Its easy to notice since even on idle my laptop fans all go alive and each time I check the processes its avant.
Unistalled Avant and realised that the source of the problem is IE7. If I switch on my laptop where I am not connected to a nearby wireless network, within minutes IE jumps to around 90% usage. Kill the process and it restarts on its on.

I guess most of the memory problems that others are having may not have to do with Avant at all.

User avatar
Bob Loblaw
Fan
Fan
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 12:18 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:

Re: Memory usage/leak (version 11.0 build 5)

Post by Bob Loblaw » Tue Jul 10, 2007 2:10 am

neilverma wrote:
neilverma wrote:I noticed that if I disable my internet connection, even with Avant closed, it starts using lot of memory. Its easy to notice since even on idle my laptop fans all go alive and each time I check the processes its avant.
Unistalled Avant and realised that the source of the problem is IE7. If I switch on my laptop where I am not connected to a nearby wireless network, within minutes IE jumps to around 90% usage. Kill the process and it restarts on its on.

I guess most of the memory problems that others are having may not have to do with Avant at all.
I do not get the same results. IE7 doesn't hog the memory.

I just upgraded to 3GB memory and Avant now pulls over 387K.

neilverma
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 11:53 am
Avant Version:

Re: Memory usage/leak (version 11.0 build 5)

Post by neilverma » Tue Jul 10, 2007 11:49 pm

Yes and thats exactly my point. Avant seemed to use most of my resources until I decided to uninstall it for good. But then it was IE7 that was squeezing me out of memory.

Since Avant is only the visual interface with IE at its core there must be some feature of IE7 that Avant tries to run and hence ends up replicating the problem.

harvey108
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 1:38 am
Avant Version: 11.5

Re: Memory usage/leak (version 11.0 build 5)

Post by harvey108 » Tue Dec 04, 2007 7:08 pm

I have had the memory problem discussed above, but have found that, if I regularly go down to the taskbar and right click Avant to minimize and then right click to restore, the memory goes down from the 100k to about 18k immediately. It is somewhat annoying but I find that the benefits of Avant browser outweigh by far that and any other annoyances.

User avatar
flowrush
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:43 am
Windows Version: Win7.64bit.HP
Avant Version: 2010b122
IE Version: 8.0.6001

Re: Memory usage/leak (version 11.0 build 5)

Post by flowrush » Thu Dec 27, 2007 2:00 am

I'm using 11.5 build 21 and seem to be encountering this problem as well. I'm wondering if its really IE7 like people are saying. Cause if so I'll remove it altogther.

Things are starting to get really bad and to the point of unacceptable. Lately I've been getting a lot of halfway rendered pages, doesnt matter the page. Anywhere from cnn to gaming sites, I typically have a lot of pages open, but even when I've reduced it to nothing, then back to just a few, the problem will still recur. Even after reboots or Avant 'crash saves' when my power goes out (which typically happens every time it rains).

This is an example of what it looks like once the page loads and Avant thinks its 'done' rendering the page.

Image

And my task manager readings

Image

Image

avuser
Fan
Fan
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:15 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Memory usage/leak (version 11.0 build 5)

Post by avuser » Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:59 pm

flowrush wrote:I'm wondering if its really IE7 like people are saying. Cause if so I'll remove it altogther.
I have IE6 on XP + SP2 with Avant 11.5 Build 21, and I have the same problem, so it's not limited to IE version. Some see it and some don't, but also some assume that we are talking about "Mem Usage" column, which is usually small and drops quickly if you minimize the application. However, the problem is with "VM Size" column, not "Mem Usage" column. "VM Size" grows and causes caching problems(Swap to disk, which takes time), this slows the browser, and other applications, especially when you switch back to another application that is already running. You would notice that the disk is being heavily accessed, and it takes time for the application to show up and display properly.
XP Pro + SP2
AMD XP 2000+
768 MB RAM
IE 6.0.2900.2180

User avatar
flowrush
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:43 am
Windows Version: Win7.64bit.HP
Avant Version: 2010b122
IE Version: 8.0.6001

Re: Memory usage/leak (version 11.0 build 5)

Post by flowrush » Mon Dec 31, 2007 2:15 am

Image


Sorry guys, I'm being forced to switch to a different browser as the amount of half-rendered or timed out pages is getting out of control, frustrating me, and simply hindering productivity. I wish you could find a fix for this, but hope seems slim as all the focus on the latest version is on the new download manager. Tis a sad day for me, but I have little choice. :(

Until then, à bientôt

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Memory usage/leak (version 11.0 build 5)

Post by addonsfan » Mon Dec 31, 2007 11:30 am

flowrush, what does the mem colum say when minimizing? I think the focus here is on the VM colum. it's labeled "VM size".

User avatar
flowrush
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:43 am
Windows Version: Win7.64bit.HP
Avant Version: 2010b122
IE Version: 8.0.6001

Re: Memory usage/leak (version 11.0 build 5)

Post by flowrush » Tue Jan 01, 2008 3:46 am

I apologize I didn't realize there was an actual column for it.

Here it is.

Image

Post Reply