Page 1 of 1

Default issue

Posted: Tue May 25, 2010 11:26 am
by BEDO
If I make another browser the default, I find any icon I click on opens with Avant, I have tried 'Set program access and defaults' with no success. Is there a way I can still keep Avant but stop it overriding my default browser.

Re: Default issue

Posted: Tue May 25, 2010 12:21 pm
by kudos
Looks like your other browser has not registered all required filetypes and/or protocols. Use a third-party (freeware) utility such as DefaultBrowser or SetBrowser do it for you.

If it is for a specific filetype, then right-click the file, select "Open with..." and select your other browser - in the dialog make sure that you check the box marked "Always use the selected program to open this kind of file".

Re: Default issue

Posted: Tue May 25, 2010 1:52 pm
by BEDO
Thanks kudos.
I D/L the 'default browser' and chose Opera for a test, but no luck.
If I click on any program that would open a browser the only option is Avant which appears in bold at the top of the open dialog box.

Re: Default issue

Posted: Tue May 25, 2010 1:55 pm
by kudos
Are you logged in as an administrator in Windows? Standard users may not have priviliges to change the default browser.

Re: Default issue

Posted: Tue May 25, 2010 3:05 pm
by BEDO
Yes I am logged in as Admin. There has been one change On clicking on the URL in your email to me just now, it did open in Opera, However if I use opera to go to a website and drag the URL to my desktop, if I click on that it still only offers me Avant to open it with.

Re: Default issue

Posted: Tue May 25, 2010 3:37 pm
by BEDO
Update
This is weird. If I make Slimbrowser the default Avant accepts this and I can open progs in slim browser and there is no mention of Avant Just the usual offer 'Open'
I will now try Firefox.
Will let you know the results.

Re: Default issue

Posted: Tue May 25, 2010 4:24 pm
by BEDO
Firefox is the same as Opera although you make then the default, Avant still takes priority and gives you no choice you have to open with Avant. It seems only Slimbrowser stays the default.
All very strange.
Might it be an idea to uninstal Avant clear out any 'bits' and reinstall?

Re: Default issue

Posted: Tue May 25, 2010 8:12 pm
by kudos
What is the link name? Particularly the extension. Is it .htm or .html or something other than that?

Re: Default issue

Posted: Tue May 25, 2010 8:49 pm
by BEDO
The effected icons are all URLs. That have been dragged and dropped on to my desktop.
However, if I make the slimbrowser the default all is well.
any icon you right click on gives you the normal 'OPEN'

Re: Default issue

Posted: Tue May 25, 2010 8:55 pm
by kudos
Try the "URL File Association Fix" available from Windows® XP File Association Fixes

Re: Default issue

Posted: Tue May 25, 2010 9:52 pm
by BEDO
Thank you , I will try that tomorrow, won't attempt it tonight.
Will let you know the results.
Never a dull moment with PCs :lol:

Re: Default issue

Posted: Wed May 26, 2010 10:59 am
by BEDO
Right....
I installed the file association fixes you kindly gave me, I did a whole cycle of making IE8 default then Firefox, then Slimbrowser all went well until I made Avant default, then it went back to it's old ways Grrrrrr. I then used the the software you first gave me (Default Browser) which put it right again. this seems to work fine unless I make Avant default.
I'm quite happy with this as I know I can always use the 'Default Browser' you gave me the link to.
Many thanks for your help kudos.
Ron

Re: Default issue

Posted: Wed May 26, 2010 12:54 pm
by kudos
How bizarre. Glad we found a workaround for you anyway.