Flash/Files Fail

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by kudos » Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:16 pm

Hmm, everything seems in order. Thanks for the logs.

If you have already tried my IE reset tip (Close all browsers then go to Control Panel >> Internet Options >> Advanced >> Reset) then try this:

- Download and install SubInACL from Microsoft.

- Execute the following commands from an admin level command prompt:

Code: Select all

cd /d "%ProgramFiles%\Windows Resource Kits\Tools\"
subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE /grant=S-1-1-0=F
subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CURRENT_USER /grant=S-1-1-0=F
subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT /grant=S-1-1-0=F
subinacl /subdirectories %SystemDrive%\ /grant=S-1-1-0=F
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
Ma®©uS
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 1:10 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 [Home Premium]
Avant Version: 2010 [1]
IE Version: 8.0
Location: UK

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by Ma®©uS » Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:47 pm

Would this work, as Windows 7 is not in the supported OS list?

What does this tool actually aim to do to my system? Reason I ask is that I'm the type who's not comfortable making changes I don't understand to my OS, incase I need to remove/reapply such changes later. I'm bemused that I appear to be the only person raising this issue, yet my Windows 7 installation is standard, still fairly fresh, and genuine (i.e. original DVD, not cracked/warez). :wtf:

Yes, I tried the IE reset previously, as you suggested, doesn't look like it worked though. Only rebooting has proved an instant fix, so far, but the problem has kept returning sometime later.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by kudos » Tue Feb 23, 2010 1:02 pm

It resets permissions on your files and registry keys. It effectively unlocks your system in case any access is denied anywhere. I suspect that avant may be blocked somewhere from accessing objects where other browsers may be allowed. I have given this advices to other Win7 users on other forums and have had no negative feedback yet.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
Ma®©uS
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 1:10 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 [Home Premium]
Avant Version: 2010 [1]
IE Version: 8.0
Location: UK

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by Ma®©uS » Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:26 pm

Sorry to blow your success then, it installed fine but if I try to perform the admin cmd prompts you listed, plus I tried "subinacl /help", I always get:

"subinacl" is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable porgram or batch file.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by kudos » Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:50 pm

Looks like it did not add itself to the windows search path. The command prompt must then run from the installed folder. Search your drive for subinacl.exe and then change the command prompt path to that folder, ie:

Code: Select all

cd "c:\program files\Windows Resource Kits\Tools\"
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
Ma®©uS
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 1:10 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 [Home Premium]
Avant Version: 2010 [1]
IE Version: 8.0
Location: UK

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by Ma®©uS » Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:02 pm

Thank you, that did it - the 4 cmd's ran a helluva load of stuff past me, reported successful/failed totals etc, but seemed to run okay.

Now is it just a matter of waiting to see if my browser freezes up getting Flash/files again?

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by kudos » Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:21 pm

Fingers crossed...
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
Ma®©uS
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 1:10 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 [Home Premium]
Avant Version: 2010 [1]
IE Version: 8.0
Location: UK

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by Ma®©uS » Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:37 pm

Haha, yes! If it works out okay, thank you very much for all your help with this. :thumbup:

If not, I'll be back. :shifty:

User avatar
Ma®©uS
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 1:10 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 [Home Premium]
Avant Version: 2010 [1]
IE Version: 8.0
Location: UK

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by Ma®©uS » Fri Mar 05, 2010 6:53 pm

@kudos You might find this interesting, and unusual.

Rebuilt my PC last week - everything is new - CPU, mobo. RAM, GPU and DVD-RW. Only same things are the HDD's. But I had to reinstall Windows 7, for some reason it wouldn't boot up on the rebuilt PC. Probably too many changes that required new drivers, etc.

Installed Avant, naturally, but didn't use the SubInACL tool what with everything being fresh. Now, just a week or so later (5 mins ago) the same issue has repeated - no Flash, no files.

I don't know if that's of any help to you. But it suggests to me that there is some sort of issue between Avant and Win 7, because of the repetition of this same problem on a new system but the same OS. I just can't say what it might be that causes it.

Idk if this is something that Anderson needs to investigate?

User avatar
Ma®©uS
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 1:10 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 [Home Premium]
Avant Version: 2010 [1]
IE Version: 8.0
Location: UK

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by Ma®©uS » Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:20 pm

Applied the SubInACL commands last night - Flash has just packed in again.
Seems this fix does not work either.. frustrating issue.. :think:

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by André » Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:20 pm

I'm not sure if it points directly to Windows 7 but it certainly suggests that a certain program or a combination of programs that you use make this problem happen. I know many people who use Avant with Windows 7 and none of them have this issue.

Is there any program that you installed around the time that this problem cropped up again?
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
Ma®©uS
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 1:10 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 [Home Premium]
Avant Version: 2010 [1]
IE Version: 8.0
Location: UK

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by Ma®©uS » Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:31 pm

Not that I know of, all pretty standard programs that are non-browser related that I also used on XP, previously, and didn't have these problems. Only Win 7 caused this.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by kudos » Mon Mar 08, 2010 11:44 am

Have you considered moving away from AVG and trying another product?
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
Ma®©uS
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 1:10 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 [Home Premium]
Avant Version: 2010 [1]
IE Version: 8.0
Location: UK

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by Ma®©uS » Mon Mar 08, 2010 12:01 pm

Yes, already have - switched to MSE last week - but the last freeze up occurred after the change.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by kudos » Mon Mar 08, 2010 12:47 pm

So we go back to a possible intermittent connectivity issue. I suggest:
- trying from a completely different internet connection
- using an alternate DNS provider (I use OpenDNS which has never let me down)
- changing/upgrading your internet modem/router
- changing the network/wireless adaptor and drivers in your pc
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
Ma®©uS
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 1:10 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 [Home Premium]
Avant Version: 2010 [1]
IE Version: 8.0
Location: UK

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by Ma®©uS » Mon Mar 08, 2010 1:23 pm

kudos wrote:So we go back to a possible intermittent connectivity issue.
But still Firefox, etc works running at the same time as Avant fails to. Plus the websites load their standard HTML content - text/images - just not Flash or allowing file downloads. It's not as though I get completely blank pages - just certain parts fail.
kudos wrote:- trying from a completely different internet connection
Only 1 PC in my home. Only 1 ISP. The rebuilt PC adopted a new IP, I think, but still gets this issue. I do not believe this is ISP related.
kudos wrote:- using an alternate DNS provider (I use OpenDNS which has never let me down)
No idea how that works, not sure if my ISP supports it. Looks like running through a proxy to me, but still I don't think this is ISP related - I think its a software issue. Too much of a coincidence that only IE/Avant does this out of: IE/Avant, Firefox, Opera, Chrome, et al. I would suspect a net issue if all 4 major browsers did it - but just 1?
kudos wrote:- changing/upgrading your internet modem/router
No router - direct broadband. The modem box is the latest model and works fine. They changed it about a year ago as the older model was faulty. I've had no problems until updating to Win 7. Never had this on XP. Again, this suggests a Win 7 conflict to me - especially as I've had to reinstall Win 7 and the problem has persisted.
kudos wrote:- changing the network/wireless adaptor and drivers in your pc
New PC, new mobo manufacturer - probably does have new drivers, yet 2nd PC running with the exact same issue. The only 2 things that have not changed: Avant, Win 7.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by kudos » Mon Mar 08, 2010 1:47 pm

Thanks for the detailed reply. I was clutching at straws with this very vague problem but I simply cannot find a logical reason for it apart from intermittent connectivity. It could be sheer coincidence that it has never happened when browsing with another browser.

I do strongly recommend an alternate DNS provider. There is no proxying involved. Your ISP will, by default, point you to their own DNS servers but there are many others to use freely. Since changing to OpenDNS (I too am in the UK and had occasionally suffered with BT and VM) my browsing with certain sites is greatly improved.

If you are able to replicate the problem consistently, whether it be a site or a sequence of events, then we could definitely progress with finding a fix for it.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
Ma®©uS
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 1:10 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 [Home Premium]
Avant Version: 2010 [1]
IE Version: 8.0
Location: UK

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by Ma®©uS » Mon Mar 08, 2010 1:55 pm

Oh, thought you were American for some reason.. lol. Yes, VM are my ISP - normally they are very good though, I've been with ntl/VM for about 8 years and never had any major issues in all that time. I'm on a very good deal atm though, price-wise, so I don't want to leave them - especially due to using all their services: phone, TV, BB, mobile, etc it's easier - 1 bill.

I'll take a look at the DNS thing you linked earlier, and see what it does. I don't tend to get many issues really. YouTube tends to be the most.. awkward.. but I think their staff are awful web developers and most issues stem from their lame efforts.

User avatar
Ma®©uS
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 1:10 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 [Home Premium]
Avant Version: 2010 [1]
IE Version: 8.0
Location: UK

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by Ma®©uS » Mon Mar 08, 2010 8:30 pm

Might be on the wrong trail here, but do you suppose the "Protected Mode" in IE8 could cause this - given that it's a feature unique to IE and not any other browser?

I see that it is enabled by default, so I might try disabling and see what happens in future. Any great risk in doing this?

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Flash/Files Fail

Post by kudos » Mon Mar 08, 2010 9:25 pm

Protected mode has been available since IE7 for Windows Vista onwards - if there was a problem then I'm sure that it would have been flagged up by now. As you said, it is on by default but since you have other security packages installed then I do not see any major unacceptable risk in disabling it. Keep us updated on your progress.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

Post Reply