Does one need to have IE and/or Firefox?

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

Post Reply
User avatar
jasarthur
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 11:03 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro
Avant Version: 11.7, 39
IE Version: N/A
Location: Nashville TN

Does one need to have IE and/or Firefox?

Post by jasarthur » Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:41 am

For Avant and Orca to work properly, is it necessary to have MSIE or Firefox installed? It's not clear to me if Avant & Orca borrow resources from them, or if they're just designed in similar ways. I had to dump IE8 (beta) because it was buggy. :roll:

Sorry if this duplicates previous posts--I searched the forum but couldn't locate an answer.

Just me and the YahooBot online now!

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Does one need to have IE and/or Firefox?

Post by kudos » Thu Oct 08, 2009 9:23 am

Avant uses Internet Explorer's engine (Trident) to render the pages so make sure that IE is updated and working correctly.

Orca is self contained and requires no additional resources - it comes packaged with a Gecko engine.

IE8 is now no longer in beta - I highly recommend it. (The word 'beta' implies that it is not a final version so of course it was buggy and incomplete)
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
jasarthur
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 11:03 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro
Avant Version: 11.7, 39
IE Version: N/A
Location: Nashville TN

Re: Does one need to have IE and/or Firefox?

Post by jasarthur » Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:48 pm

Thank you very much. That's the info I needed! :thumbup:

BTW, why the radiation avatar?


James
Image

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Does one need to have IE and/or Firefox?

Post by kudos » Fri Oct 09, 2009 9:05 am

jasarthur wrote:BTW, why the radiation avatar?
No reason, just took my fancy at the time.

BTW, why the large purple text and image?
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
jasarthur
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 11:03 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro
Avant Version: 11.7, 39
IE Version: N/A
Location: Nashville TN

Re: Does one need to have IE and/or Firefox?

Post by jasarthur » Sat Oct 10, 2009 2:08 pm

1. I like to play with fonts and colors.

2. I've been warned about the image. Won't do it again!

Post Reply