Avant 2.0?

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

Post Reply
User avatar
xGrind
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 1:10 am
Windows Version: XP Service Pack 3
Avant Version: -
IE Version: 8
Location: Aparecida/São Paulo - Brasil

Avant 2.0?

Post by xGrind » Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:43 am

Avant 2.0?
"It's a Mozilla based browser"
:wtf:

http://www.useragentstring.com/Avant%20 ... _11603.php

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Avant 2.0?

Post by André » Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:04 am

Not really sure what you're trying to get at.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Avant 2.0?

Post by statm1 » Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:11 am

Im sure it was just a glitch somehow having Maxthon and Avant installed.. It looks like its a glitch with Maxthon but other than that, can't really say that it will really hurt you in anyway.. I just say ignore it unless something starts going wrong..
Image
-- Matt --

bksening
Fan
Fan
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:14 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3
Avant Version: 2010 build1
IE Version: 8.0

Re: Avant 2.0?

Post by bksening » Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:25 am

Hi xGrind, there are actually two points being raised here:

(1) Like statm1 said, your user-agent has a glitch containing parts from Avant Browser (the "Avant Browser" part) and Maxthon Browser (the "MAXTHON 2.0" part). Normally, the user-agent should not contain both these parts together at the same time. This is a bug in Maxthon, but *only* occurs if you start Avant first and then start Maxthon second. (Starting the other way around is fine, and will not cause this doubling user-agent problem.)

The result of this incorrect doubling is what causes UserAgentString.com to erroneously give the browser name of "Avant Browser" but a version number of "2.0". If you run Avant and Maxthon separately, this problem will not occur.

(2) The description says "It's a Mozilla based browser" for Avant because UserAgentString.com is too oversimplified when explaining the user-agent. In fact, many user-agents for many different browsers start with "Mozilla/4.0" or "Mozilla/5.0". These include Avant, IE, Safari, and Chrome, and UserAgentString.com also says "It's a Mozilla based browser" for all these browsers despite the fact that they are not. The user-agents start like this mainly for historical compatibility reasons for old websites that check the user-agent string. I would say that the explanation given by UserAgentString.com for that first section is too oversimplified and incorrect.

User avatar
xGrind
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 1:10 am
Windows Version: XP Service Pack 3
Avant Version: -
IE Version: 8
Location: Aparecida/São Paulo - Brasil

Re: Avant 2.0?

Post by xGrind » Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:40 pm

I do not use either. Use the Orca. But I saw the useragent in the site and wanted to ask questions.
:thumbup:

Post Reply