Blocker.swf

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

jakebe
Fan
Fan
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:26 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Dallas / Fort Worth Texas

Blocker.swf

Postby jakebe » Thu May 28, 2009 4:42 pm

Suddenly I'm getting error messages saying "Internet Explorer can not download blocker.swf from localhost." What can i do to fix the situation? I switched over from Avant to IE and don't get the errors in IE.

User avatar
generalsebert
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 7:34 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Re: Blocker.swf

Postby generalsebert » Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:29 am

Same thing for me, same message...

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Blocker.swf

Postby kudos » Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:40 am

Can you please post more details: Windows version, Internet Explorer version, Avant Browser version, any security software running.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

jakebe
Fan
Fan
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:26 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Dallas / Fort Worth Texas

Re: Blocker.swf

Postby jakebe » Tue Jun 02, 2009 11:06 am

I'm running Windows XP, IE 8, AB 11.7 build 31, McAfee Security.

I did find I could get rid of the error by turning off AD blocker in the Tools menu.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Blocker.swf

Postby kudos » Wed Jun 03, 2009 4:16 pm

Can you check that you do have a file named "blocker.swf" (29 bytes) in the ".\Orca Browser\res\" folder.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

jakebe
Fan
Fan
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:26 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Dallas / Fort Worth Texas

Re: Blocker.swf

Postby jakebe » Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:17 pm

kudos wrote:Can you check that you do have a file named "blocker.swf" (29 bytes) in the ".\Orca Browser\res\" folder.


Yes I do. Only it's in the Avant Browser/res file not Orca. It's also 1kb not 29 bytes.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Blocker.swf

Postby kudos » Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:26 pm

Sorry, my bad, wrong forum - I'm glad you understood what I meant.
1kb is Windows Explorer's way of "rounding up" the value - file properties shows true size.
Does disabling McAfee make a difference? Which version is it?
Do you have any other software running at all?
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

jakebe
Fan
Fan
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:26 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Dallas / Fort Worth Texas

Re: Blocker.swf

Postby jakebe » Thu Jun 04, 2009 2:33 am

McAfee Virus Scan is version 13.3 updated automatically on 6/3/09. The blocker.swf error message comes up randomly so I don't know if disabeling McAfee would make a difference or not and I really don't want to disable it long enough to wait and see if there is any effect or not. Outlook 2007 is usually running as is Trillian instant messenger and ICQ Pro 2003b.

User avatar
addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1939
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Blocker.swf

Postby addonsfan » Thu Jun 04, 2009 5:07 am

Do you even have the option to disable flash animations checked in the tools menu? And if so, is it purposely? I was also kinda wondering, is it like a Javascript error or is a popup error?

jakebe
Fan
Fan
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:26 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Dallas / Fort Worth Texas

Re: Blocker.swf

Postby jakebe » Thu Jun 04, 2009 1:23 pm

I do not have flash animations checked in tools.

Attached is a screenshot of the error messages.

Also a correction on the info previously posted. I forgot which computer I was on when I was getting the errors. I was actually on my company laptop running Win XP with IE 8, AVG Anti-virus version 8.5.339. Normally I have Outlook 2007, ACT 2009 (11.0) Version 11.1.183.0 running.
Attachments
blocker.swf screenshot.JPG

User avatar
addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1939
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Blocker.swf

Postby addonsfan » Thu Jun 04, 2009 7:04 pm

What makes this very strange, is the fact that you don't even have "Disable Flash Animations" checked in the tools menu. blocker.swf is basically a blank transparent flash animation file, that is used to replace normal flash animations on sites. The idea behind it, is to replace as little as possible to block animations, to prevent breaking the site. Simple enough...

But for some reason it is trying to actually download the blocker.swf, without Avant even trying to block animations. Furthermore, it's trying to download it from a server on your computer (hence the localhost). The first thing that comes to mind, is that it's either some other third party ad blocker or malware, just for the fact that it is trying to download from a server. But it's still pretty unlikely.

Though, the server thing could be a way to make Avant more compatible with Vista. Simply using something like "file://Program Files/Avant Browser/res/blocker.swf" produces an access denied error in Vista.

I guess you can try checking "Disable Flash Animations", and see if it is functioning properly as a test. If it's not, you can try restoring the default settings for Avant Browser. If that still doesn't fix it, then AVG may be blocking it somehow.

I'm not convinced Outlook has anything to do with it. Unless Outlook is also incorporating some kind of server in itself, which is overriding Avant's server.

If that is the case, I think Avant Browser needs to seperate it's server usage into a port. Example; http://localhost:5278/bloacker.swf. Not only will it prevent issues like that, it's just better practice.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Blocker.swf

Postby kudos » Mon Jun 08, 2009 1:40 am

What happens if you try to browse to: browser://localhost/blocker/blocker.swf
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

jakebe
Fan
Fan
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:26 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Dallas / Fort Worth Texas

Re: Blocker.swf

Postby jakebe » Mon Jun 08, 2009 1:56 am

kudos wrote:What happens if you try to browse to: browser://localhost/blocker/blocker.swf


I just tried opening it on my home computer (original error was on my company laptop) and I got the error message in the screenshot above. I'll try opening it on my work computer in the morning at the office.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Blocker.swf

Postby kudos » Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:00 am

Did you get a dialog showing the correct file - ie 29 bytes?
Attachments
swf.gif
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

jakebe
Fan
Fan
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:26 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Dallas / Fort Worth Texas

Re: Blocker.swf

Postby jakebe » Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:08 am

Yes... that time I got that same security warning with the 29bites. The first time I tried it I got the message in the screenshot.

jakebe
Fan
Fan
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:26 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Dallas / Fort Worth Texas

Re: Blocker.swf

Postby jakebe » Mon Jun 08, 2009 1:17 pm

Ok I'm on my office laptop where I had the original error. I clicked the link and got the file download security warning.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Blocker.swf

Postby kudos » Mon Jun 08, 2009 1:32 pm

Good, that proves that Avant can see the file in the correct place (the 29byte reference should prove it). You won't be able to open/save it from that dialog - it's just for testing.

Can you close Avant and IE then go to "%windir%\system32\Macromed\Flash\", find and double-click FlashUtil???.exe (ie FlashUtil10b.exe) if it is there.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

jakebe
Fan
Fan
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:26 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Dallas / Fort Worth Texas

Re: Blocker.swf

Postby jakebe » Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:11 pm

Found it.... clicked it.... nothing happened.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Blocker.swf

Postby kudos » Mon Jun 08, 2009 4:52 pm

It should have launched the Flash update/repair. I suspect that Flash is not installed correctly.

Use the Flash uninstaller to remove Flash - see this page for details.

Then reinstall Flash from here: Get Flash Player

Make sure that IE and Avant are closed when uninstalling - download the uninstaller, reboot the computer and uninstall as soon as it restarts.
Attachments
flash.gif
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

jakebe
Fan
Fan
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:26 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Dallas / Fort Worth Texas

Re: Blocker.swf

Postby jakebe » Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:33 pm

I uninstalled Flash per instructions, being careful that everything in the system tray was turned off. I reinstalled and then went to the flash file in the previous instructions and clicked the flashutil10b.exe and it still didn't open.


Return to “Avant Browser Legacy Help Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users