Just installed...and nothing :(

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

Post Reply
Stuball250
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 10:39 pm
Windows Version: Vista
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 7

Just installed...and nothing :(

Post by Stuball250 » Sat May 09, 2009 1:04 am

I installed Avant and it wouldn't connect. It displayed an error which read "Navigation to the webpage was canceled". My internet connection is fine (internet explorer works) and i checked my firewall to make sure it was allowing it (I added it as an exception). I'm running windows vista as my operating system.

I tried to download firefox as well and the same thing happened. I'm at a loss on how to correct this problem. Any suggestions would really help. Thanks!!!

Stu

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Just installed...and nothing :(

Post by kudos » Sat May 09, 2009 11:58 am

Are you using a proxy to access the web?
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

darth
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 970
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: Avant 11_0 Build 46
Default engine: trident
IE Version: 10
Skin: default

Re: Just installed...and nothing :(

Post by darth » Sat May 09, 2009 1:41 pm

your problem may be due to vista tcp auto tuning. check out http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/12/1 ... rformance/
Dell Precision 360 Work Staton XP 32/64 bits

Stuball250
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 10:39 pm
Windows Version: Vista
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 7

Re: Just installed...and nothing :(

Post by Stuball250 » Sun May 10, 2009 1:55 pm

Please tell me how I would tell if I'm using a proxy to access the web (I'm not a techie unfortunately).

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Just installed...and nothing :(

Post by kudos » Sun May 10, 2009 2:06 pm

Look in Tools >> Internet Options >> Connections >> LAN settings and tell us what is set there.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

Stuball250
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 10:39 pm
Windows Version: Vista
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 7

Re: Just installed...and nothing :(

Post by Stuball250 » Sun May 10, 2009 6:50 pm

None of the boxes are checked and under the proxy server option nothing is checked.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Just installed...and nothing :(

Post by kudos » Sun May 10, 2009 7:25 pm

It must then be the firewall. To check, disable it completely and try Avant again.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

Stuball250
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 10:39 pm
Windows Version: Vista
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 7

Re: Just installed...and nothing :(

Post by Stuball250 » Tue May 12, 2009 6:38 pm

Disabled the firewall and still nothing (still giving me the "Navigation to webpage was canceled" error message). Any thoughts????

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: Just installed...and nothing :(

Post by AXEMAN » Tue May 12, 2009 6:42 pm

Try a older version see if that works :) all old version are here Archive is at: http://avant.it-mate.co.uk also if you remember the date this happened because firefox causes the same problem run all your security scans then do a system restore as i say if you know the date this happened and go back to the day before it happened. let me know

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: Just installed...and nothing :(

Post by bigC » Tue May 12, 2009 6:57 pm

What firewall are you using?

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Just installed...and nothing :(

Post by kudos » Tue May 12, 2009 7:08 pm

IE works but Avant and Firefox don't - and it's not a firewall or proxy issue? Strange.

Is the problem with all sites? Can you try to rename avant.exe to iexplore.exe and try again.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

Stuball250
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 10:39 pm
Windows Version: Vista
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 7

Re: Just installed...and nothing :(

Post by Stuball250 » Tue May 12, 2009 10:52 pm

i'm just using windows firewall.

Apart from that do I need to uninstall the avant browser and then reinstall it (naming it iexplorer.exe instead of the standard avant.exe...is that what your talking about???

thanks

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Just installed...and nothing :(

Post by kudos » Tue May 12, 2009 11:02 pm

No, just locate the file - the default location is C:\Program Files\Avant Browser\Avant.exe - and copy/rename it to iexplore.exe then double-click it to start.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

Hennes
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 8:31 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 RC1 64-bit
Avant Version: 11.7 build 26
IE Version: v8.00

Re: Just installed...and nothing :(

Post by Hennes » Thu May 14, 2009 12:01 pm

kudos wrote:Look in Tools >> Internet Options >> Connections >> LAN settings and tell us what is set there.

Great, but the Avant browser isn't working correctly under Windows 7 RC1 #-o :crazy:

v0pelor
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 2:28 pm
Windows Version: Vista (x64) SP1
Avant Version: 11.7.23
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18762 (x64)

Re: Just installed...and nothing :(

Post by v0pelor » Sun May 17, 2009 2:34 pm

I got the same error Navigation to the webpage was canceled

Post Reply