Blank screen when opening AB and links wont ever open.

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

Post Reply
jackpot507
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 4:57 am
Windows Version: xp home
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 7

Blank screen when opening AB and links wont ever open.

Post by jackpot507 » Sat Dec 27, 2008 4:19 pm

Every time I open Avant Browser it will bring up no web page instead of my home page. I have fixed all the settings and still no result. Also, every time I click on a link outside of the browser, like in outloook or downloaded files, Avant Browser will pull up but not the address it was suposed to. It is very annoying but I caan deal with the homepage and links but I can't deal with links that dont give the address and not be able to open it.

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: Blank screen when opening AB and links wont ever open.

Post by bigC » Sat Dec 27, 2008 8:25 pm

What version of Avant do have? If you have a SetDefault.exe in Avants program directory(typicaly C:\Program Files\Avant Browser)... please run that and see if the problem continues.

jackpot507
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 4:57 am
Windows Version: xp home
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 7

Re: Blank screen when opening AB and links wont ever open.

Post by jackpot507 » Tue Dec 30, 2008 2:04 am

I posted again because I did not see it up and I assumed I did something wrong. I saw it after I did the new one sorry.

But the default did not work. Anything else?

Again, sorry for the double post.

Masao
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 12:27 am
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.7 build 23
IE Version: 7

Re: Blank screen when opening AB and links wont ever open.

Post by Masao » Mon Apr 13, 2009 12:30 am

Hi, I hope it's ok to bring this topic back up, but I have the same exact problem. When I start up Avant, my homepage does not automatically open (and I have it set in tools). When clicking links in other programs, like MSN, Avant pops up, but the page does not open. This problem started when I downloaded the latest version. Reinstalling does nothing, and I also tried SetDefault.exe with no results.

I'm really tired of always having to copy and paste links from my MSN. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Debs
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 5:56 am
Windows Version: XP Home
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: IE 8

Re: Blank screen when opening AB and links wont ever open.

Post by Debs » Thu Nov 05, 2009 6:05 am

Yes I am having same thing when opening Avant Browser 11.7, get the blank screen with a re open box asking where I want to go ..is there a way to disable that re open box? then go directly to home page? ty Debs

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Blank screen when opening AB and links wont ever open.

Post by kudos » Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:06 pm

Which version build of Avant?
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Blank screen when opening AB and links wont ever open.

Post by addonsfan » Fri Nov 06, 2009 2:14 am

I remember this was brought up before, and was solved. Iirc, I think it has something to do setting files themselves, and if I don't then I might have to do a little searching on the forum. ;)

First of all, make sure it's not a problem with your firewall; as stated by the FAQ, under common problems.

Second, make sure it's not something else in the FAQ.

Last, you can try manually deleting the setting files, which will most likely fix these kinds of problems.

Because I'm lazy:
kudos wrote:It may be that your settings are corrupted.

Close Avant then type the following into a run or command prompt (including quotes):

Code: Select all

ren "%appdata%\Avant Profiles\" "Avant Backup %DATE:/=% %TIME::=%"
This will backup/rename your settings folder with the current date and time.

Then try running Avant again.

Post Reply