Search from URL bar?

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

Post Reply
livejamie
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 6:23 am
Windows Version: xp
Avant Version: latest
IE Version: latest

Search from URL bar?

Post by livejamie » Wed Oct 01, 2008 6:29 am

Is there a way to set it so Avant does a search the address bar if the URL isn't found?

I can type "kittens" in the search bar, and then it displays "Search for 'kittens'" underneath it in a bar, but unless I scroll down and click that, it tries http://kittens

Any ideas?
livejamie.com

Psykocyber
Fan
Fan
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 6:04 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3, Vista SP1, Win 7
Avant Version: V11.7 B21
IE Version: IE7 & IE8
Location: Denmark

Re: Search from URL bar?

Post by Psykocyber » Wed Oct 01, 2008 9:10 am

Not really. But if you press arrow down and enter you dont have to use the mouse.
Danish translator of Avant Browser, Folder2MyPC, Folderico & Google

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Search from URL bar?

Post by abfan123 » Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:22 pm

You may set a quick search shortcut.
For example there are some predefined shortcuts:
If you'll enter "g search term" (without quotes) then it'll search for "search term" in Google.
You may define your own shortcuts under Tools>Avant Browser Options...>Search Engine.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

tuck
Fan
Fan
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:31 pm
Windows Version: Vista Business
Avant Version: Current USB
IE Version: 7

Re: Search from URL bar?

Post by tuck » Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:39 pm

What are you two talking about? Of course you can do this. :?

Go to Tools > Avant Browser Options > Miscellaneous > Enable Avant Browsing Error Page. It will search by whatever your main search engine is. That features been here practically forever.

Psykocyber
Fan
Fan
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 6:04 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3, Vista SP1, Win 7
Avant Version: V11.7 B21
IE Version: IE7 & IE8
Location: Denmark

Re: Search from URL bar?

Post by Psykocyber » Wed Oct 01, 2008 1:17 pm

I didn't know you could disable it^^

But a way to disable the Avant error page doesn't really seem like the solution to his question.
Danish translator of Avant Browser, Folder2MyPC, Folderico & Google

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Search from URL bar?

Post by statm1 » Wed Oct 01, 2008 4:33 pm

typing

g kittens

into the addressbar will search google by default.. As livejamie asked. So yes Livejamie you can search from the addressbar.
Image
-- Matt --

tuck
Fan
Fan
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:31 pm
Windows Version: Vista Business
Avant Version: Current USB
IE Version: 7

Re: Search from URL bar?

Post by tuck » Wed Oct 01, 2008 11:28 pm

But, as I was saying, that option I mentioned above allows you to search from the address bar without using Quick Search.

I can't believe it's not working for any of you? Unless no one tried it checked or unchecked, but replied anyway. Is it not working anywhere else?

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Search from URL bar?

Post by statm1 » Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:34 am

No I had not tried it tuck. But I just did and it uses Avantfind not my default search engine and Avantfind uses Yahoo.

I noticed the redesign for Avantfind is now up.(fyi, drdrrae and I had nothing to do wth that one) Its supposed to be one of Anderson's programmers first jobs.
Image
-- Matt --

tuck
Fan
Fan
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:31 pm
Windows Version: Vista Business
Avant Version: Current USB
IE Version: 7

Re: Search from URL bar?

Post by tuck » Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:08 pm

I'm getting Google here using 15 SR1. Are you sure your search engine settings didn't get reverted?

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Search from URL bar?

Post by statm1 » Thu Oct 02, 2008 2:08 pm

My search box uses my default search engine. But the search box in the error page uses Avantfind.
Image
-- Matt --

tuck
Fan
Fan
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:31 pm
Windows Version: Vista Business
Avant Version: Current USB
IE Version: 7

Re: Search from URL bar?

Post by tuck » Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:14 pm

Is the setting I mentioned above checked? No offense, but as a staff member here on the support forum, I can't believe you don't know about this feature that has been in Avant for years.

What you're describing isn't searching from the Address Bar... it's searching from a page displayed in the browser. It's not even what is being talked about. When the option above is checked, Avant will search from the address bar using the search engine you have selected in your search options.

Unless... I'm the only one who now has this capability...

tuck
Fan
Fan
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:31 pm
Windows Version: Vista Business
Avant Version: Current USB
IE Version: 7

Re: Search from URL bar?

Post by tuck » Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:26 pm

Maybe I should walk everyone through the steps.

1) Check the box at Tools > Avant Browser Options > Miscellaneous > Enable Avant Browsing Error Page. This makes Avant use its own error pages, but it enables Address Bar searching

2) Click OK

3) In the address bar type cat

4) If your search engine is set to Google, a Google results page will come up for the word cat

I'm pretty sure that this is what the original poster wanted, right?

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Search from URL bar?

Post by statm1 » Thu Oct 02, 2008 7:03 pm

Tuck, I totally misunderstood what you first described. I thought that you were talking about the actual search box inside the error page.

Of course I knew what you are describing now. But along with what I thought you meant was you were trying to say that the search box on the error page was supposed to use whatever your default search engine was. Which isn't the case, you have no control over what search engine that page uses since its hard-coded to use Avantfind.
Image
-- Matt --

tuck
Fan
Fan
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:31 pm
Windows Version: Vista Business
Avant Version: Current USB
IE Version: 7

Re: Search from URL bar?

Post by tuck » Thu Oct 02, 2008 7:07 pm

So, does that mean what I described is working for you?

Not to sound rude, but what you describe has absolutely nothing to do with the topic that was being discussed. Maybe next time, a brief glance over the thread could help serve as a reminder and then keep the thread appropriately on topic while being efficiently helpful to those with the issues concerned.

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Search from URL bar?

Post by statm1 » Thu Oct 02, 2008 7:35 pm

Tuck..... I said I misunderstood. You dont have to keep telling me that it had nothing to do with what the topic was about. Not to be rude..
Image
-- Matt --

tuck
Fan
Fan
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:31 pm
Windows Version: Vista Business
Avant Version: Current USB
IE Version: 7

Re: Search from URL bar?

Post by tuck » Thu Oct 02, 2008 7:48 pm

statm1 wrote:Not to be rude..
Obviously.

Well, it wasn't clear to me if you "understood" or if you "knew." I wasn't sure if "understood" was supposed to be "understand" or if "knew" was supposed to be "know." And, you never when something needs repeating... especially since I've asked about three times if what I described works for you and that hasn't been answered, either.

Either way, I'm getting the feeling that the functionality I'm experiencing is normal and no one else mentioning being able to do it is probably more of a reaction to my commenting on my disbelief that the staff didn't know about a rather old function in Avant as opposed to confirming or assisting in a diagnosis.

So, other than getting the last word in, I guess the real solution has been determined and there's no point in carrying on.

User avatar
flowrush
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:43 am
Windows Version: Win7.64bit.HP
Avant Version: 2010b122
IE Version: 8.0.6001

Re: Search from URL bar?

Post by flowrush » Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:21 pm

I *think* I understand what you are saying tuck, and what you are describing is working the same for me...typing in a term in the url bar returns a google search result instead of Avantfind. But that is different then typing in an actual invalid URL and Avant returning the result as a Google search FOR that url or domain name. If you actually read yourself the first sentence from livejamie, you'll see what she is asking is not the same as what you are describing. If we aren't 'getting' it, feel obliged to make an example.
livejamie wrote:Is there a way to set it so Avant does a search the address bar if the URL isn't found?

Post Reply