What does this new function mean?

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

Post Reply
tuck
Fan
Fan
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:31 pm
Windows Version: Vista Business
Avant Version: Current USB
IE Version: 7

What does this new function mean?

Post by tuck » Mon Sep 22, 2008 12:11 am

in the Build 12 Changelog, it says:

Added the feature rearranging the items in Tab Context Menu according to the Tabs Bar position

What does that mean?

User avatar
flowrush
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:43 am
Windows Version: Win7.64bit.HP
Avant Version: 2010b122
IE Version: 8.0.6001

Re: What does this new function mean?

Post by flowrush » Mon Sep 22, 2008 5:32 am

You can have the tab's bar on top or bottom, so from the Context menu when clicking on tabs, I assume it gives you the option to rearrange (reverse?) where the items in the menu are located so the more common functions are in the same logical place (ie, closer). Not sure because I havent upgraded yet to this one.

User avatar
scubamaster
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 590
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 1:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Florida, USA

Re: What does this new function mean?

Post by scubamaster » Mon Sep 22, 2008 1:52 pm

I can't find the new context menu entry in b12 either! #-o

Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E7400 @ 2.80GHz; 4GB RAM; Nvidia GeForce 8600GT w. 280.26 driver
Windows 7 Professional 32-Bit SP1 (all patches)
Avant: V2011 b30 - (IE Favorites - No On-Line Storage)
IE V9.0.8112.16421-Upd 9.0.2; Java: 1.7.0.147; Flash: V10.3.183.5
Windows Security Essentials V2.1.1116.0

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: What does this new function mean?

Post by bigC » Mon Sep 22, 2008 7:37 pm

There's no new entry. Its what flowrush said, the order of items change depending on if your tab bar is at the top or bottom.

User avatar
scubamaster
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 590
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 1:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Florida, USA

Re: What does this new function mean?

Post by scubamaster » Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:06 pm

Ahaaaaaaaaa :oops:

Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E7400 @ 2.80GHz; 4GB RAM; Nvidia GeForce 8600GT w. 280.26 driver
Windows 7 Professional 32-Bit SP1 (all patches)
Avant: V2011 b30 - (IE Favorites - No On-Line Storage)
IE V9.0.8112.16421-Upd 9.0.2; Java: 1.7.0.147; Flash: V10.3.183.5
Windows Security Essentials V2.1.1116.0

User avatar
Colossus
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 8:31 pm
Windows Version: Win 7 SP1
Avant Version: 2013 Build 17 Ulti.
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: N/A
Skin: Xito

Re: What does this new function mean?

Post by Colossus » Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:05 pm

I miss the 'lock' option at the bottom. I keep closing tabs now, which is annoying considering I'm locking tabs to avoid exactly this problem.
Intel Q9550 @ 3.0 GHz and 4 GB RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 | Avant Browser 2012 (Firefox)

User avatar
Colossus
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 8:31 pm
Windows Version: Win 7 SP1
Avant Version: 2013 Build 17 Ulti.
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: N/A
Skin: Xito

Re: What does this new function mean?

Post by Colossus » Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:32 pm

Even 'Close all the tabs to the right/left' is moved. After such a long time it's really not neccesary to clutter people's system of order. It's like if someone rearrange your whole office desk before asking.

If there was a way to satisfy those who want it like it was and those who want it more ''effective''*, it would be a feature that makes your Tab Context Menu completely customizable.


*(which I disagree on due to the fact my most important feature, 'lock', is furthest away from the actual tab)

EDIT: FYI - Last post was not editable. My apology for making a double post.
Intel Q9550 @ 3.0 GHz and 4 GB RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 | Avant Browser 2012 (Firefox)

Post Reply