Ad-blocker? Or not?

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

Post Reply
User avatar
ausGeoff
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Melbourne Australia

Ad-blocker? Or not?

Post by ausGeoff » Sat Apr 14, 2007 7:13 pm

Hi guys...

I'm assuming that Avant, by default, has an in-built ad-blocker?

If this is the case, is it possible to disable the Navigation to the webpage was cancelled message with the big blue "I" icon? Or decrease its size a bit?

It's just as annoying as the ad it presumably blocks! Thanks in advance.

—Geoff.

obsolum
Fan
Fan
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:42 pm
Windows Version: Windows Vista Ultimate 32bit
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 26
IE Version: IE8
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Ad-blocker? Or not?

Post by obsolum » Sat Apr 14, 2007 10:33 pm

I have absolutely no idea what you're talking about :? Could you post a screenshot of that message? Avant's ad-blocker usually just shows a blank space where the add should be. No messages or anything.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Sat Apr 14, 2007 11:37 pm

Like obsolum said, Avant shows a white space where the ad would be.

Either the server isn't loading the images you're seeing blocked or something else is blocking it in that manner.

User avatar
ausGeoff
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Melbourne Australia

Re: Ad-blocker? Or not?

Post by ausGeoff » Sun Apr 15, 2007 2:12 pm

Hi again guys...

As requested, here's a screenshot of a typical page with the icon and message.

Image

Normally, there's a banner ad in the block at the bottom of the page. This message seems to pop up wherever there's a "blocked' ad.

—Geoff.

obsolum
Fan
Fan
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:42 pm
Windows Version: Windows Vista Ultimate 32bit
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 26
IE Version: IE8
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Ad-blocker? Or not?

Post by obsolum » Sun Apr 15, 2007 3:10 pm

Do you have any third party ad-blocking software? And do you have the same problem in Internet Explorer?

User avatar
KY Dave
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 1:53 pm
Windows Version: XP Home, Pro, Vista, Win 7
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46SR
IE Version: 8.0.7600.3865
Location: Burkesville, KY
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Sun Apr 15, 2007 4:01 pm

This could be caused by a setting in TOOLS, INTERNET OPTIONS, SECURITY SETTINGS, CUSTOM LEVEL, MISCELLANEOUS,

either NAVIGATE SUB-FRAMES ACROSS DIFFERENT DOMAINS is Disabled

or ACCESS DATA SOURCES ACROSS DOMAINS is Disabled

as they should be to prevent unauthorized data theft.
KY Dave

Family Blog

User avatar
ausGeoff
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Melbourne Australia

Re: Ad-blocker? Or not?

Post by ausGeoff » Sun Apr 15, 2007 4:37 pm

This is the same page under IE7.

The message has changed slightly, but still appears in the same places.

Image

I've checked through all my program files and can't find any 3rd party ad-blockers (and I certainly wouldn't have knowingly downloaded any).

edit: KY Dave...
either NAVIGATE SUB-FRAMES ACROSS DIFFERENT DOMAINS is Disabled

or ACCESS DATA SOURCES ACROSS DOMAINS is Disabled
Yup - both disabled.

User avatar
daveshrop
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 1:12 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 23
IE Version: 8
Location: UK

Re: Ad-blocker? Or not?

Post by daveshrop » Sun Apr 15, 2007 6:11 pm

Try Right-clicking the cancelled message & select Properties & see the URL. Maybe from 3rd party ad server

User avatar
KY Dave
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 1:53 pm
Windows Version: XP Home, Pro, Vista, Win 7
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46SR
IE Version: 8.0.7600.3865
Location: Burkesville, KY
Contact:

Re: Ad-blocker? Or not?

Post by KY Dave » Sun Apr 15, 2007 8:46 pm

ausGeoff wrote:edit: KY Dave...
either NAVIGATE SUB-FRAMES ACROSS DIFFERENT DOMAINS is Disabled

or ACCESS DATA SOURCES ACROSS DOMAINS is Disabled
Yup - both disabled.
If you enable those, then your page will probably completely load...
but you'll be vulnerable to phishing by enabling a secondary web source to present popup windows on a web page.
KY Dave

Family Blog

User avatar
ausGeoff
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Melbourne Australia

Re: Ad-blocker? Or not?

Post by ausGeoff » Sun Apr 15, 2007 9:15 pm

Thanks KY Dave, but it doesn't make any difference whether they're enabled and/or disabled.

If it's of any help, the error message's URL is:

res: //ieframe.dll/navcancl.htm#http://view.atdmt.com/OMA/iview/nwsnvda ... E=HWT/AREA
=NEWS.HOME/AAMSZ=728x90/pageid=65270406

Which seems to be the URL of the blocked ad.
"NEWS" [Ltd] is the publisher of the paper in question, and "mercury" and [adver]"tiser" are a couple of their other publications.

Dunno... the plot thickens LOL!

The reason I'm making such a big deal over this BTW is that on some pages, there can be ten or 12 of these annoying messages.

—Geoff.

PS: These same error messages appear on a lot of other sites not connected with News Ltd in any way.

Post Reply