I'm stuck in Japanese.

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

Post Reply
User avatar
SotiCoto
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 11:26 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: London

I'm stuck in Japanese.

Post by SotiCoto » Sat Oct 14, 2006 11:31 am

v_v;

I used to have version 10. I preferred that to version 11... but I was the one who was fool enough to eventually click the check-for-updates button and agree. I earnestly believe that the new design is kinda ugly... but thats NOT the point.

The point is that when I installed it, I rather forgot that I had my computer set to use Japanese for non-unicode programs... so that I could play certain Japanese games on it. The problem was that it installed Avant Browser to run in Japanese... and despite my having uninstalled it and reinstalled it in English (UK) non-unicode since then, among other things... I cannot change the language back. I am stuck with a bunch of kana and kanji for a menu and its only through familiarity with the browser itself that I'm able to get by at all.

Sorry that I'm a rude ****, but is there any chance anyone could tell me how to fix this? I promise if its fixed that I'll leave immediately and not be rude to folks here any more...

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2018 build 7 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: I'm stuck in Japanese.

Post by Nederpietos » Sat Oct 14, 2006 11:44 am


abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:32 pm

Hello,
Please go to the "Tools" menu (6th menu)>Interface Language & select either English (US) or English (UK).
About the design,The design in V11 is same as in 10.x. :?
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
SotiCoto
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 11:26 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: London

Post by SotiCoto » Sat Oct 14, 2006 8:55 pm

That worked.... Thanks. I was worried I'd be trapped that way forever.

Oh... and it seems I'm not stuck with a weird-looking avant either. Since it was in Japanese before I wasn't aware that it was stuck in "compact mode" ... ^_^;; ...

Post Reply