install of new version lost all settings of previous version

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

Post Reply
brjoon1021
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 6:00 pm
Avant Version:

install of new version lost all settings of previous version

Post by brjoon1021 » Thu Oct 05, 2006 3:23 pm

Why did this happen? In the past I only uninstalled the old version and installed the new, went through the process of renaming as "iexplore" and all was well. This time I was greeted with a new browser, all of my settings were gone, it was set up in the compact style, but my bookmarks were there.

Any ideas? Did I do something wrong? I used the uninstall program found in the Avant Program files folder.

Thanks

B.

pcs800
Fan
Fan
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 1:32 pm
Windows Version: XP, Vista, 7, 8, 2003
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: 9
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: install of new version lost all settings of previous ver

Post by pcs800 » Thu Oct 05, 2006 3:39 pm

This happened to me only on one computer, and I install each update on about 10 pc's.

Don't know why the one did that, but no big deal, i just tweaked it back to my prefs.

Why are you renaming it iexplore?

What are you renaming? just the icon, or the exe itself?
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 2003 via 10+ pc's & Servers
Avast + Sygate, Avast ISS where Sygate doesn't apply.
Long walks on the virtual beach and Micro-brewed beer.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Thu Oct 05, 2006 3:47 pm

What version/build were you updating from?

User avatar
scubamaster
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 590
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 1:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Florida, USA

Re: install of new version lost all settings of previous ver

Post by scubamaster » Thu Oct 05, 2006 4:36 pm

pcs800 wrote:Why are you renaming it iexplore?

What are you renaming? just the icon, or the exe itself?
If you rename avant.exe to iexplore.exe you will have all the Windows XP SP2 security features as part of Avant, otherwise you don't (unless you add the DrDrrae registry fix). It also provides other functionality like automatic image re-sizing etc.

This link provides more info:

http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... ight=tweak

Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E7400 @ 2.80GHz; 4GB RAM; Nvidia GeForce 8600GT w. 280.26 driver
Windows 7 Professional 32-Bit SP1 (all patches)
Avant: V2011 b30 - (IE Favorites - No On-Line Storage)
IE V9.0.8112.16421-Upd 9.0.2; Java: 1.7.0.147; Flash: V10.3.183.5
Windows Security Essentials V2.1.1116.0

pcs800
Fan
Fan
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 1:32 pm
Windows Version: XP, Vista, 7, 8, 2003
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: 9
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: install of new version lost all settings of previous ver

Post by pcs800 » Thu Oct 05, 2006 6:31 pm

really? hmm, i will have to try this.
will it mess up the online storage of bookmarks between pc's using avant?
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 2003 via 10+ pc's & Servers
Avast + Sygate, Avast ISS where Sygate doesn't apply.
Long walks on the virtual beach and Micro-brewed beer.

User avatar
scubamaster
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 590
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 1:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Florida, USA

Re: install of new version lost all settings of previous ver

Post by scubamaster » Thu Oct 05, 2006 6:47 pm

The XP-SP2 features have nothing to do with the on-line storage.

Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E7400 @ 2.80GHz; 4GB RAM; Nvidia GeForce 8600GT w. 280.26 driver
Windows 7 Professional 32-Bit SP1 (all patches)
Avant: V2011 b30 - (IE Favorites - No On-Line Storage)
IE V9.0.8112.16421-Upd 9.0.2; Java: 1.7.0.147; Flash: V10.3.183.5
Windows Security Essentials V2.1.1116.0

sugarprincess
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 1:29 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.5_21
IE Version: IE6
Contact:

Post by sugarprincess » Mon Oct 09, 2006 7:22 pm

I lost a lot of my settings with this upgrade as well - I think I had a v10 before this. I lost the way tabs are handled, which actions open new windows, etc., my pop up settings, my "open these pages to start" selections... in short, all of my picky things I've crafted over the months. :(

This is ESPECIALLY frustrating, as many of my programs I use for work need SPECIFIC customization to work with Avant. And now I'm having to figure it all out over again. :x

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Tue Oct 10, 2006 12:39 am

Personally, except for having to re-add any Search, URL Aliases, or Black/White list changes, I can go through all of my settings and reset things the way they were in under two minutes taking my time.

But, that's just me.

sugarprincess
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 1:29 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.5_21
IE Version: IE6
Contact:

Post by sugarprincess » Tue Oct 10, 2006 12:43 am

hornakapopolis wrote:Personally, except for having to re-add any Search, URL Aliases, or Black/White list changes, I can go through all of my settings and reset things the way they were in under two minutes taking my time.

But, that's just me.
Well, I tend to forget how I've set things up once I have them set up--I have a bad memory like that. :lol: That said, I've already uninstalled it because it was really messing with my CPU memory.

gregh
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 1:26 pm
Avant Version:

Post by gregh » Tue Oct 10, 2006 12:44 pm

i just upgraded to 11 and lost all my settings from 10.2 build 52 on two different PCs

:(

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Tue Oct 10, 2006 12:58 pm

Including your popup/ad lists, URL Aliases, and Quick Searches?

User avatar
diverjerry
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 9:39 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Kansas

Post by diverjerry » Tue Oct 10, 2006 3:16 pm

I know it's to late now, unless you jave a backup. Couldn't a person just back up the config file or just back up the whole directory (it's not big) under documents and settings/user name/application data/avant browser before upgrading. Then if problems just restore?
Thank You
Divejerry aka Divemaster, pigfarmer

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Post by bigC » Tue Oct 10, 2006 7:03 pm

diverjerry wrote:I know it's to late now, unless you jave a backup. Couldn't a person just back up the config file or just back up the whole directory (it's not big) under documents and settings/user name/application data/avant browser before upgrading. Then if problems just restore?
AB 11 stores its settings in a different folder & format then previous incarnations... so that wouldn't have helped in this case.

brjoon1021
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 6:00 pm
Avant Version:

Re: install of new version lost all settings of previous ver

Post by brjoon1021 » Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:09 pm

Sorry,

I did not get back to look at my thread for a few days. I always stay current, so whichever version was current before the version that just came out, that is what I upgraded from.

Jamy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 12:45 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Re: install of new version lost all settings of previous ver

Post by Jamy » Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:33 pm

brjoon1021 wrote:Why did this happen? In the past I only uninstalled the old version and installed the new, went through the process of renaming as "iexplore" and all was well. This time I was greeted with a new browser, all of my settings were gone, it was set up in the compact style, but my bookmarks were there.

Any ideas? Did I do something wrong? I used the uninstall program found in the Avant Program files folder.

Thanks

B.
Yeah, gotta say I'm very dissapointed! I would have at least expected a warning on the downloadpage about backing up your settings.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: install of new version lost all settings of previous ver

Post by hornakapopolis » Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:47 pm

Backing up wouldn't do anything, though, as they can't be imported manually. The only thing Avant isn't importing on the upgrade from 10 to 11 is basic configurations and the toolbar setup and locations... and considering that interface has changed to allow use of IE toolbar, that makes sense to me.

To me, the pain in losing all settings would be the Aliases, Quick Searches, Black Lists, and White Lists, but those are transferred.

Jamy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 12:45 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Re: install of new version lost all settings of previous ver

Post by Jamy » Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:47 pm

brjoon1021 wrote:Why did this happen? In the past I only uninstalled the old version and installed the new, went through the process of renaming as "iexplore" and all was well. This time I was greeted with a new browser, all of my settings were gone, it was set up in the compact style, but my bookmarks were there.

Any ideas? Did I do something wrong? I used the uninstall program found in the Avant Program files folder.

Thanks

B.
Yeah, gotta say I'm very dissapointed! I would have at least expected a warning on the downloadpage about backing up your settings.

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:47 pm

Your old settings are still intact in the old application data folder for Avant. AB v11 doesn't use those files anymore.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

Jamy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 12:45 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by Jamy » Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:23 am

DrDrrae wrote:Your old settings are still intact in the old application data folder for Avant. AB v11 doesn't use those files anymore.
Doesn't the old application data get deleted when you upgrade? I only have ONE Avant folder under application data (and one for Profiles). Where is the old folder located?

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:33 am

There's one called "Avant Browser" (old one) and one called "Avant Profiles" (new one).
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

Post Reply