latest avant not working at all - HELP!!

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

Post Reply
riserius1
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 10:24 pm
Avant Version:

latest avant not working at all - HELP!!

Post by riserius1 » Mon Oct 02, 2006 10:39 pm

I downloaded the latest version and build and when I try to open Avant browser, it shows http://127.0.0.1:19780err over and over again in the address bar. it looks like it's trying to find web pages but it is unable to. Is there some reconfiguring I need to do, and if so, can someone help me?

Thanx

Chris W

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Mon Oct 02, 2006 10:43 pm

Hello,
Please try to re-add Avant into your firewall's exceptions list.

riserius1
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 10:24 pm
Avant Version:

Post by riserius1 » Tue Oct 03, 2006 1:25 am

Okay, did that and avant still is not loading.
BTW the full error message is http://127.0.0.1:19780/err/DNS over and over. the browser keeps acting like it's trying to load a page but then it stops immediately, starts again, etc. all very rapidly over and over.

Thanx again

Chris W

eli
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 12:38 pm
Avant Version:

Post by eli » Tue Oct 03, 2006 12:41 pm

abfan123 wrote:Hello,
Please try to re-add Avant into your firewall's exceptions list.
nothing helped, I have the same problem like riserius1

please help

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Tue Oct 03, 2006 1:06 pm

Does the same thing happen if you dont' have Avant set to open any home pages when started? (Uncheck everything at Tools -> Avant Browser Options -> Home Page)

riserius1
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 10:24 pm
Avant Version:

Re: latest avant not working at all - HELP!!

Post by riserius1 » Wed Oct 04, 2006 8:07 pm

Okay, I don't know how but I inadvertently solved my own problem.
For anyone that experiences a similar problem, here's what I did:

I signed off my account on my pc and signed onto my wife's account, (which had never been used, I had it on there in case her laptop ever broke and she neede to use mine) and I downloaded the new version, installed it, and it worked great! Then I signed off hers and back onto mine, and Lo and behold, it works fine on mine now.

Again, I have no idea what I did or didn't do, but the problem has been resolved.

Thanx again for all the help!!!! :lol:


Chris W

Post Reply