Windows Traditional skin that works?

Post general questions related to skin development here. Skins in development may also be placed here to solicit comments.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Forum rules
When posting a topic about a new skin you have released, follow the sample posts here. If your post does not closely resember the sample post, you risk getting it deleted. This is not to try to make you life difficult, it is to keep a consistent look throughout the forum to assist the downloaders.
Post Reply
chrisjj
Fan
Fan
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:47 am
Avant Version:

Windows Traditional skin that works?

Post by chrisjj » Thu Nov 30, 2006 12:40 pm

Can anyone point me to a Windows Traditional skin that actually works?

The in-build one has tradtional buttons for some dialog boxes e.g. Export but non-traditional ones for many other dialog boxes, e.g. Import. (V11.0b25)

Thanks.

chrisjj
Fan
Fan
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:47 am
Avant Version:

Re: Windows Traditional skin that works?

Post by chrisjj » Fri Dec 08, 2006 4:50 pm

Please?

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri Dec 08, 2006 7:06 pm

Is it just standard Windows/IE icons you're looking for? You could try my Explorer XP skin.

chrisjj
Fan
Fan
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:47 am
Avant Version:

Post by chrisjj » Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:08 pm

Thanks, but following the instructions for using new skins on http://www.avantbrowser.com/help/index.html, they do not appear in the Skins menu!

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:11 pm

The file is unzipped? (I know you said "following the instructions...", but it's always best to ask.)

chrisjj
Fan
Fan
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:47 am
Avant Version:

Post by chrisjj » Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:21 pm

Sure is! All seven .skn files are in C:\Program Files\Avant Browser\Skins .

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:26 pm

..And you re-started?

(Separating the tiny, really not all that helpful, bits of advice like I'm doing makes it visually seem like I'm helping more than I am. ;))

chrisjj
Fan
Fan
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:47 am
Avant Version:

Post by chrisjj » Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:32 pm

No. The instructions say:

> Once you have downloaded a skin, all you need to do is
> go to Tools > Skins, and select the skin you wish to use.

Pip
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Avant Version: 2012Ultimate V171
IE Version: IE9
Location: Michigan U.S.A.

Post by Pip » Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:40 pm

chrisjj, you first have to save that skin to the skins folder, located usually in Program Files/Avant Browser/Skins


Pete
Image

Veni, Vidi, Velcro - I Came, I Saw, I Stuck Around

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:46 pm

chrisjj wrote:No. The instructions say:

> Once you have downloaded a skin, all you need to do is
> go to Tools > Skins, and select the skin you wish to use.
Umm... okay... Yeah, that's how it usually works. But, you're not getting them, right? So, have you tried re-starting?

chrisjj
Fan
Fan
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:47 am
Avant Version:

Post by chrisjj » Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:56 pm

Thanks, but restarting makes no difference.

(Except to lose a load of UI state - AB, couldn't you at least preserve child windows size and position? Opera does it, so how hard can it be?)

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:33 pm

Please try to get them from the following URLs:
abs://mihopahost.com/avant/skins/hornakapopolisExplorerXPv5(Classic).skn
abs://mihopahost.com/avant/skins/hornakapopolisExplorerXPv5(NoSys).skn
abs://mihopahost.com/avant/skins/hornakapopolisExplorerXPv5(Olive).skn
abs://mihopahost.com/avant/skins/hornakapopolisExplorerXPv5(OliveNoSys).skn
abs://mihopahost.com/avant/skins/hornakapopolisExplorerXPv5(Silver).skn
abs://mihopahost.com/avant/skins/hornakapopolisExplorerXPv5(SilverNoSys).skn
abs://mihopahost.com/avant/skins/hornakapopolisExplorerXPv5(Standard).skn
abs://mihopahost.com/avant/skins/hornakapopolisExplorerXPv5.skn

(Had to remove gaps because skins auto-installer doesn't seem to support them.)

chrisjj
Fan
Fan
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:47 am
Avant Version:

Post by chrisjj » Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:47 pm

> Please try to get them from the following URLs:

That worked (without restart). Strange.

Except that it doesn't fix the problem. E.g. dialogs such as File Import still have the original Avant graduated animated buttons.

And it adds a problem - opening Avant Browser Oprions caused the app to crash out.

Thanks anyway for trying.

A question to all readers: has ANYONE seen a skin that actually restores all dialog box buttons to regular XP? Or for that matter, changes the at all?

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:51 pm

Hmm
Can't confirm the crash. Do you have that problem with certain skin?
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

chrisjj
Fan
Fan
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:47 am
Avant Version:

Post by chrisjj » Fri Dec 08, 2006 10:07 pm

With Explorer XP. After relaunch, the dialog opened with no crash.

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Post by bigC » Fri Dec 08, 2006 11:01 pm

chrisjj wrote:A question to all readers: has ANYONE seen a skin that actually restores all dialog box buttons to regular XP? Or for that matter, changes the at all?
I don't think that part of the ui is skinnable.

chrisjj
Fan
Fan
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:47 am
Avant Version:

Post by chrisjj » Sat Dec 09, 2006 2:41 pm

> I don't think that part of the ui is skinnable.

Sigh. What's the point of that?

Post Reply