Unable To Upload Skin To New Skin Site

Post general questions related to skin development here. Skins in development may also be placed here to solicit comments.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Forum rules
When posting a topic about a new skin you have released, follow the sample posts here. If your post does not closely resember the sample post, you risk getting it deleted. This is not to try to make you life difficult, it is to keep a consistent look throughout the forum to assist the downloaders.
User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: Unable To Upload Skin To New Skin Site

Post by Sara » Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:31 pm

Balefire wrote:Normally I do not stay logged into the forum. I log in with each visit.
Are you being logged out when you switch to the Skin Site? Or are you going straight there without logging in?

Sara :)

User avatar
Balefire
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 3:01 am
Windows Version: XP Home
Avant Version: 2011 Alpha 1
IE Version: IE8
Location: Locust Grove GA
Contact:

Re: Unable To Upload Skin To New Skin Site

Post by Balefire » Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:40 pm

No, I log on first and then go to the skin site and as far as I can tell I am
still logged on when at the skin site. On another note I deleted all of the cookies and tried it again a few minuted ago and it still didn't work. Thanks guys

User avatar
Balefire
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 3:01 am
Windows Version: XP Home
Avant Version: 2011 Alpha 1
IE Version: IE8
Location: Locust Grove GA
Contact:

Re: Unable To Upload Skin To New Skin Site

Post by Balefire » Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:44 pm

As I mentioned earlier, recently I bought a skinning program for IE6 which uses bit map skins and it also will change all of the background colors and fonts. I have noticed that it slightly affects Avants drop down
backgrounds a little. Do you think I should delete it?

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:45 pm

If you get a chance, and if it's not too much trouble, can you try another browser? Something like Firefox or Orca would be great.

User avatar
Balefire
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 3:01 am
Windows Version: XP Home
Avant Version: 2011 Alpha 1
IE Version: IE8
Location: Locust Grove GA
Contact:

Re: Unable To Upload Skin To New Skin Site

Post by Balefire » Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:48 pm

I have tried IE6 and Mozilla with no luck. I don't have Firefox or Orca. I think Mozilla is very similar to Firefox.

User avatar
Balefire
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 3:01 am
Windows Version: XP Home
Avant Version: 2011 Alpha 1
IE Version: IE8
Location: Locust Grove GA
Contact:

Re: Unable To Upload Skin To New Skin Site

Post by Balefire » Sat Sep 23, 2006 12:08 am

I am going to try this on another computer. This will answer the question
Is it the new program I have installed or is it the new Skins site. I'll get back to you later

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Sat Sep 23, 2006 12:09 am

hornakapopolis wrote:Yes, I did receive it and could upload it with no problems. I had some other forum things to do today, but I am going to try one more thing.

Just wanted to let you know I did get it.
You uploaded it? I can't find it anywhere! Or did you do it just as a test.....I'm confused....give me a minute.....

Now I'm really confused--I uploaded another test file and it was immediately added--no approval stage. Is it possible it thinks only Mods can upload?

Sara :shock:

User avatar
Balefire
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 3:01 am
Windows Version: XP Home
Avant Version: 2011 Alpha 1
IE Version: IE8
Location: Locust Grove GA
Contact:

Re: Unable To Upload Skin To New Skin Site

Post by Balefire » Sat Sep 23, 2006 12:44 am

OK, I have gone to another computer and attempted to upload it from there with the same "white screen" result. This leads me to believe that the problem is with authetication at Avant. Let me know what you think
Thanks for all the help, Later

User avatar
Balefire
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 3:01 am
Windows Version: XP Home
Avant Version: 2011 Alpha 1
IE Version: IE8
Location: Locust Grove GA
Contact:

Re: Unable To Upload Skin To New Skin Site

Post by Balefire » Sat Sep 23, 2006 1:09 am

I know this is dumb but could there possibly be a spelling error in my nick
Balefire or something. Thanks :)

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Sat Sep 23, 2006 1:26 am

Sara, I uploaded it on a test account as a user and then deleted it.

I'll give it a try on a different computer, too. I've tried my office and my home, but they're more similar than different.

What do you mean about the spelling error?

User avatar
Balefire
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 3:01 am
Windows Version: XP Home
Avant Version: 2011 Alpha 1
IE Version: IE8
Location: Locust Grove GA
Contact:

Re: Unable To Upload Skin To New Skin Site

Post by Balefire » Sat Sep 23, 2006 1:30 am

If whomever entered the authentication codes reversed a couple of letters or mispelled a word then Avant wouldn't let me in. If that's the way it works.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Sat Sep 23, 2006 1:49 am

Well, again, I'm stumped.

I just tried it on Server 2003 and 98, and had no problems.

First, I'm sorry because I know this is probably getting a bit tedious, but second, have you been inputing all of the information each time? If you have, can you try it only using the word test?

User avatar
Balefire
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 3:01 am
Windows Version: XP Home
Avant Version: 2011 Alpha 1
IE Version: IE8
Location: Locust Grove GA
Contact:

Re: Unable To Upload Skin To New Skin Site

Post by Balefire » Sat Sep 23, 2006 1:54 am

Do you mean use the word test in every field?

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Sat Sep 23, 2006 1:55 am

Yep, and actually, I'm pretty sure you can ignore everything other than the two description fields, the title, and maybe the author.

User avatar
Balefire
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 3:01 am
Windows Version: XP Home
Avant Version: 2011 Alpha 1
IE Version: IE8
Location: Locust Grove GA
Contact:

Re: Unable To Upload Skin To New Skin Site

Post by Balefire » Sat Sep 23, 2006 2:07 am

Well that went straight thru with no problem. I guess this means that I am
inputting something wrong. Now we have to determine what it is. I am not using URLs I am browsing for files on my computer. I have been cheching the Avant icon and I have not been using zip files. The size of the skn files are appx 4.19 megs and the screenshot is appx 968x728 JPG I have not been writing the title with "evening_shadows" this style but Evening Shadows. Thats all I can think of to tell you so ask me some questions.haha

User avatar
Balefire
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 3:01 am
Windows Version: XP Home
Avant Version: 2011 Alpha 1
IE Version: IE8
Location: Locust Grove GA
Contact:

Re: Unable To Upload Skin To New Skin Site

Post by Balefire » Sat Sep 23, 2006 2:11 am

How did you fill in the blanks when it worked for you?

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Sat Sep 23, 2006 2:19 am

I had just been using "test." :)

It is there, but right now, I don't see a need to approve it.

It was probably a special character not inserting itself into the database. Did you use any $, #, ', ", !, &, etc.?

Maybe you could try to upload it again, but copy your field entries to a post so I can see what you're inputing.

Also, if you're uploading the skin zipped, please use the ZIP icon. (Not a big deal.)

User avatar
Balefire
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 3:01 am
Windows Version: XP Home
Avant Version: 2011 Alpha 1
IE Version: IE8
Location: Locust Grove GA
Contact:

Re: Unable To Upload Skin To New Skin Site

Post by Balefire » Sat Sep 23, 2006 2:24 am

I didn't upload the files I put test in those blanks too or is that why there is no need to approve it.hahah OK I will try it again and send a post on everything I put in except the files and screenshot OK. Here goes

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: Unable To Upload Skin To New Skin Site

Post by Sara » Sat Sep 23, 2006 2:28 am

OK, I've got it in the waiting for approval section. Try it again like Hornakapopolis said and send him a list of what you wrote--or a screen shot of the form if fits on the screen.

Sara :)

User avatar
Balefire
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 3:01 am
Windows Version: XP Home
Avant Version: 2011 Alpha 1
IE Version: IE8
Location: Locust Grove GA
Contact:

Re: Unable To Upload Skin To New Skin Site

Post by Balefire » Sat Sep 23, 2006 2:52 am

Sara, I sent Hornakapopolis a PM on what I imput in the form. A screenshot is a better idea. The only thing I didn't send him was the
discription of the uploaded files they are very long and I can't see the
whole thing. The thing waiting to be approved only has "test" in every
blank.So, there's really nothing to approve. It does show that I can upload from here and that something else is wrong like the file size or something. Has anyone other than Mods uploaded anything yet.

Post Reply