Orca 1.1 Extension Discussion

Discuss Orca Browser here, but do not post support requests, bug reports, etc. in this forum. Note that Orca is no longer in development, and no new builds or versions of Orca are planned.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
Pnin
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:09 am
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: 99999
IE Version: 99999

Re: Orca 1.1 Extension Discussion

Post by Pnin » Thu Jul 23, 2009 9:27 pm

Adblock Plus (AP) has been working flawlessly with either Firefox 3.0 and 3.5 -- I have tested both.

When I upgraded Orca to version 1.2 build 2, and then re-installed AP (I had un-installed it while checking the bug), the problem went away immediately, and AP even picked my previous subscriptions and personal filters right away, without any intervention from me.

My explanation resides with the change of engine between Orca version 1.1 and 1.2 (similar to Firefox's 3.0.x and 3.5.x) coincided with a necessary addon update, which then failed to work -- I saw the same update get triggered when I upgraded Firefox, but then I didn't get any problems with it. In this light, I don't think it's fair to blame AP...

schlendrian2111
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:44 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Münster, Germany
Contact:

Re: Orca 1.1 Extension Discussion

Post by schlendrian2111 » Thu Jul 23, 2009 9:59 pm

Adblock indeet works find in Build 2, thanks for the quick response. Btw I don't think there is anyone to blame.

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Orca 1.1 Extension Discussion

Post by statm1 » Fri Jul 24, 2009 1:35 am

There was a change in how extensions work in 3.5 and that change wasnt carried over to Orca.. That was remedied in build 2.
Image
-- Matt --

User avatar
yaspaju
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 9:35 pm
Windows Version: windows xp sp3
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: IE 8
Location: España (Spain)

Re: Orca 1.1 Extension Discussion

Post by yaspaju » Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:11 pm

All-in-One-Gestures works fine :thumbup:,
for options put in address bar: chrome://allinonegest/content/pref/aioOptions.xul

First, disable mouse gestures orca

http://pagesperso-orange.fr/marc.boulle ... ns-en.html

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: Orca 1.1 Extension Discussion

Post by AXEMAN » Sat Aug 01, 2009 5:59 pm

Just so you know firefox is now at 3.5.1 and another will be released soon :)

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 7 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Orca 1.1 Extension Discussion

Post by Dreamer » Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:16 pm

Two extensions didn't work with Orca 1.2.2, there was a message "Not compatible with Orca 3.5.1". The same extensions work good with FF 3.5.x and with previous version of Orca (1.1.x). Now I tried to reinstall those extensions in Orca (same versions) and they are working again, it's really strange. Perhaps it would be useful for other users, just try to reinstall extension if there is a message "not compatible". ;)
Dreamer

defUS3R
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:34 pm
Windows Version: W2k + SP4 / W2k3 + SP2
Avant Version: n/a
IE Version: i don't use it

Re: Orca 1.1 Extension Discussion

Post by defUS3R » Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:49 am

Ok, so I would like to move some problems.

First:
  • Some information in Wiki Avant Force about Orca extension should be corrected i.e.:
    # CS Lite - No way to access extension through GUI. Can control options through Tools - Mozilla Addons
    This addon options can be accessed as well from RMB clicked on any page but only if you do not "check" in addons menu - option called: Remove CS Lite from context menu
    Many addons can be accessed in this way i.e. popular NoScript
Second:
  • Please correct it and move TrackMeNot from section 'Extensions that do not work' :arrow: 'Extensions that work' :)
Third:
  • Addon Redirect Remover is no longer available. So remove it from the list ;)
Fourth:
  • Please add three more extensions which are compatible with Orca 1.2 build 5:
  • Ghostery
  • Ad Hacker
  • Green - please install it and use if you want to help in fight for our planet :wink:
And thats all for now folks :D
Image

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Orca 1.1 Extension Discussion

Post by André » Fri Sep 11, 2009 9:31 pm

The whole point of moving things to the Wiki is to allow the community to help in keeping everything updated. So, you may register and do this yourself.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

Post Reply